Listen to the new album from Ian Yates!
Listen to the new album from Elevation Worship!

JFH Staff Review

In This Mortal Sleep EP

Album length: 8 tracks: 25 minutes, 30 seconds
Street Date: 2005

In the 90's, the music that was known as ska underwent an extreme makeover. The rock hooks became more aggressive, but the signature brass horns remained in the mix to complete the package. This new style had been officially classified as "skacore," in other words, the regeneration of ska. Bands like Five Iron Frenzy, Reel Big Fish, and The O.C. Supertones all ridden the waves of this new craze. Sadly, the so-called "third wave ska" movement only lasted a few short years, even though some bands of the genre continued to be major staples in the music industry for another 4 to 5 years. Though we may not see a revival of it anytime soon, fans of the once popular 'skacore' can expect to hear it portrayed in a new light with a band by the name of Skuf.

Despite it's bizarre namesake, this band marries together the elements of traditional 80's ska, modern rock, and even traces of metal. For starters, In This Mortal Sleep may be one of the best ska albums of the 21st Century regardless of the fact that only a few thousand may be able to get their hands on it due to the marketing process for most unsigned bands. Skuf wastes no time as the rock 'n roll opener "Countdown" is a call for a revolution in the church that's been pleading for revival for several ages. The song's lyrics will strike a major chord in the heart of the listener when he hears "This is our resolution inked in Jesus' blood. It's penned upon His wrists and feet, beneath the crimson flood." The tone of the message takes a drastic turn two tracks later as "There Is More" explains the downfalls of hypocritical churches that use the Bible as a crutch for their own personal benefit. Though its preceding darker, metal-influenced track "Death on 6-2-4" appears a little too apparent as being the appropriate lead-in to "There Is More," the album turns more positive as it progesses.

The message of seeking grace and peace in the arms of God beautifully accentuate the punk-flavored tracks "Run To You" and "This Day," making this project very enjoyable. After another ska/metal track, titled "Fall," the album makes an unsual but unique transition with the proceeding track as "Take Us In" provides more of an Arabian-esque vibe layered in with the typical rock guitars and horns. If there is one factor that causes In This Mortal Sleep to suffer, it would be that some of the tracks don't measure up in production quality as well as some of the other tracks in question.

With a new album in the works, Skuf forgoes the naysayers' claim that "ska is dead" and bring forth an effort that pulls no punches and unashamedly declares their love and passion for Christ. Skuf is a band that will keep your feet moving for days at a time, so invite your friends to join along and don't wait "just moments before the final countdown."

- Review date: 12/9/05, written by Paul Portell


. Record Label: None
. Album length: 8 tracks, 25 minutes and 30 seconds
. Street Date: 2005
  1. Countdown
  2. Death on 6-2-4
  3. There Is More
  4. This Day
  5. Run To You
  6. Fall
  7. Take Us In
  8. The End



go to main Album review page
go to Album review archive


World Premiere Video
(JFH Sponsor Spot)



Listen to the new album from Elevation Worship!

Search JFH

Music Out This Week

This Thursday, April 18
Local Sound The Free World, Vol. 1 - EP [Integrity]

This Friday, April 19
29:11 Worship Roses - Single [DREAM]
Apollo LTD On The Way Up 2.0 - Single [Centricity]
Amanda Lindsey Cook Still - Single [Bethel]
Tori Harper Revival - Single [The Fuel]
Influencers Father's Love - Single (independent)
Leigh Nash Kiss Me (20th Anniversary Edition) / God Gave Me Horses - Single (independent)
Dave Pettigrew Faith & Gasoline (independent)
Bryan Popin All Back - Single [United Alliance]
Trinity Anthem of Love - Single [The Fuel]
JJ Weeks Choices - Single [Radiate]
Phil Wickham & Chris Quilala You Cannot Be Stopped - Single [Sparrow]

Next Friday, April 26
Jared Anderson Keep Your Eyes on Jesus - Single (independent)
For All Seasons Just For Today - Single [Centricity]
Jason Gray I'm Gonna Let It Go - Single [Centricity]
Hillsong UNITED People [Hillsong]
Mallary Hope Out of My Hands [Word/Curb]
Sarah Kroger Bloom [Integrity]
Starflyer 59 Young In My Head [Tooth & Nail]

For all release dates, click here!

New Music Reviews

Listen to the new album from Illijam!

New Indie Reviews

New Movie Reviews

Free MP3 Downloads