Listen to the new album from Elias Dummer!
Listen to the new album from Elias Dummer!

JFH Staff Review

Chris Mason
Songs One Through Six EP

Album length: 6 tracks
Street Date: 2006

Certain independent artists remain "independent" because they're not any good. Others just haven't met the right people yet. But there are some artists that, after listening to them, leave you wondering, "Why aren't they signed?" Chris Mason is one of those artists. His new EP, Songs One Through Six, is an addictive mix of songs that spans the different genre landscapes of rock, acoustic, and folk. All of the songs somehow seem to mesh together, which allows the listener to appreciate the full project, because there is something unique in every song.

"Waiting," like the rest of the songs on this album, benefits greatly from the musical influence of producers Andrew Osenga and Cason Cooley (The Normals). A love song of epic proportions, Mason sings, "My heart needs rescuing. It's covered in loss. My dear you came to me, humming a song. It was your love - it lifted me." The sweet sound of harmonica in "Waiting" blends well with Mason's mellow voice and Cason's piano accompaniment, giving the song a great southern vibe.

"Precious Lord, Thy Mercy Come," is the best song on the disc. It reminds me of Jeff Buckley's version of "Hallelujah" in the way both tracks let music take a backseat to the words and message of the song. Mason sings, "O' joyful day when this life ends. We'll turn our gaze from earth to heaven's. And in glory we will sing as one. Precious Lord, Thy mercy come." This song alone makes the album worth buying.

While I can't spend all of my time finding independent music to review, I'm glad I discovered Chris Mason and Songs One Through Six. This is a very good release form an artist who I'll be paying close attention to in the coming years.

- Review date: 3/2/06, written by Andrew Shaw


. Record Label: Independent
. Album length: 6 tracks
. Street Date: 2006

  1. Waiting
  2. Slow Me Down
  3. Second Chance
  4. Down Here
  5. Reaching Out
  6. Precious Lord, Thy Mercy Come




go to main Album review page
go to Album review archive


JFH Sponsor Spot:



Listen to the new album from Every Nation Music!

Search JFH

Music Out This Week

This Thursday, February 14
Slow Coming Day 1,000 Years (Like A Day) [Indie Vision]

This Friday, February 15
1K Phew What's Understood - EP [Reach]
Bethel Music Bethel Music En Español [Bethel]
Highlands Worship Jesus You Alone - Single [The Fuel]
Neon Feather Come To Life (feat. Matty Mullins) - Single [Centricity]
Jars of Clay If I Left The Zoo (Vinyl Debut) [SMLXL]
LEDGER Completely - Single [Atlantic]
Brady Novotny Passions Collide [MTS Records]
Passion “Step Into The Light” Featuring Sean Curran - Single [SixSteps]
29:11 Worship Marble & Mortar Vol. 1 [DREAM Worship]
Kevin Ward He Loves - Single [DREAM]
Ian Yates Deconstruction - Single [7Core]

Next Friday, February 22
For All Seasons Light and Momentary - Single [Centricity]
London Gatch New Stories [BEC Worship]
Plumb Somebody Loves You - 2-Track Single [Centricity]
Michael W. Smith Awaken: The Surrounded Experience [The Fuel]
The Tommies Reunion The Tommies Reunion [Tyscot]
UPPERROOM To The One [The Fuel]

For all release dates, click here!

New Music Reviews

Check out the new album from Portraits Music!

New Indie Reviews

New Movie Reviews

  • Image Glass
    PG-13 (Theatrical)

Free MP3 Downloads