Listen to the new album from Elias Dummer!
Listen to the new album from Elias Dummer!

JFH Staff Review

The Mint
The Mint EP

Album length: 4 tracks: 17 Minutes, 29 Seconds
Street Date: June, 2004

The Mint is an independent band to emerge from Lancaster, PA. Released in June 2004, their self-titled EP offers up a seamless mix of piano melodies and assertive guitar-work, all set within an alternative rock context. Coming across as an edgier version of mainstream bands such as Doves or Coldplay, the four songs on this EP display a sound rich with highly textured soundscapes.

The album opens with the track "Stars." Giving off a distinctly Coldplay vibe, its prominent piano flourishes compliment singer/guitarist Jonathan Decker's vocals beautifully. As if to make sure that the rock feel isn't lost, a jagged guitar riff finishes off the track nicely. "Flashlights" also starts off nice and mellow, but halfway through the song guitar chords start crashing in, giving the song a heavier edge that it maintains until the end (again, much like Coldplay's "The Scientist"). After the upbeat pop/rock of "Backs of our Friends," the album closes with the six-minute epic "King of Glass." Another slow-burner, the track doesn't pick up until close to the 5-minute mark and finishes off with yet another beautiful extended instrumental.

Overall, this is a good album since I was surprised with the level of songwriting maturity for such a young band. Although not for fans of the heavier element of rock music, this quintet might just be worth checking out for fans of rock bands that are not afraid to put a little beauty in their compositions.

- Review date: 1/23/05, written by Sherwin Frias



. Record Label: Independent
. Album length: 4 tracks, 17 Minutes and 29 Seconds
. Street Date: June, 2004

  1. Stars
  2. Flashlights
  3. Backs of our Friends
  4. King of Glass
spacer Click For Audio Sample   Click For Song Lyrics
Click For Audio Sample   Click For Song Lyrics
Click For Audio Sample   Click For Song Lyrics
Click For Audio Sample   Click For Song Lyrics



go to main Album review page
go to Album review archive


JFH Sponsor Spot:



Listen to the new album from Every Nation Music!

Search JFH

Music Out This Week

This Thursday, February 14
Slow Coming Day 1,000 Years (Like A Day) [Indie Vision]

This Friday, February 15
1K Phew What's Understood - EP [Reach]
Bethel Music Bethel Music En Español [Bethel]
Highlands Worship Jesus You Alone - Single [The Fuel]
Neon Feather Come To Life (feat. Matty Mullins) - Single [Centricity]
Jars of Clay If I Left The Zoo (Vinyl Debut) [SMLXL]
LEDGER Completely - Single [Atlantic]
Brady Novotny Passions Collide [MTS Records]
Passion “Step Into The Light” Featuring Sean Curran - Single [SixSteps]
29:11 Worship Marble & Mortar Vol. 1 [DREAM Worship]
Kevin Ward He Loves - Single [DREAM]
Ian Yates Deconstruction - Single [7Core]

Next Friday, February 22
For All Seasons Light and Momentary - Single [Centricity]
London Gatch New Stories [BEC Worship]
Plumb Somebody Loves You - 2-Track Single [Centricity]
Michael W. Smith Awaken: The Surrounded Experience [The Fuel]
The Tommies Reunion The Tommies Reunion [Tyscot]
UPPERROOM To The One [The Fuel]

For all release dates, click here!

New Music Reviews

Check out the new album from Portraits Music!

New Indie Reviews

New Movie Reviews

  • Image Glass
    PG-13 (Theatrical)

Free MP3 Downloads