Listen to the new album from Elias Dummer!
Listen to the new album from Elias Dummer!

JFH Staff Review

Antifany EP

Album length: 7 Tracks: 33 Minutes, 52 Seconds
Street Date: 2002

From the state of Oklahoma come the Nashville coffee shop stylings of Antifany. Beginning in February of 2001 with only lead vocalist Amy Newsom and the renowned Dave Walker III at drums, they later added bassist Matt Sawyer and keyboardist Josh Tipton to strengthen an already impressive lineup. Previously releasing the all our fans are japanese except two EP and now with the Antifany EP the group has now started a brawl between record companies to add them to their rosters.

Beginning things is the eclectic "Ran Home" which sets the mood of a dark lit coffee hole in the wall where good jazz prevails over the bleak crowd." "Forever" kicks things into gear with a moody rising anthem about the love of Jesus, forever, while "July" beautifully adds piano for a worship song that actually has feeling and heart to it. "Antiphony," by its name, seems like it could be a delightful tease on the group's moniker but is a total opposition bringing a moody pulsation. "Yellow Fields" adds another rising ballad while "You" strips everything away. "There Is More" ends things is the most stylish of epic fashion.

To put things bluntly, music needs Antifany. An amazing vocalist with beautiful heart felt lyrics and a band that can easily switch from remarkable soaring melodies to feelings of bleak sadness; this is a group that has all the talent for the next step. Any fan, which most are, of Mazzy Star and Sixpence None The Richer, will fall in love with Antifany and follow them somewhere that music hasn't been in a long time.

- Review date: 1/19/03, written by Blake Garris


. Record Label: Independent
. Album length: 7 Tracks, 33 Minutes and 52 Seconds
. Street Date: 2002

  1. Ran Home
  2. Forever
  3. July
  4. Antiphony
  5. Yellow Fields
  6. You
  7. There Is More



go to main Album review page
go to Album review archive


JFH Sponsor Spot:



Listen to the new album from Every Nation Music!

Search JFH

Music Out This Week

This Friday, February 22
For All Seasons Light and Momentary - Single [Centricity]
James Gardin Sweet Jesus EP [illetct]
London Gatch New Stories [BEC Worship]
Plumb Somebody Loves You - 2-Track Single [Centricity]
Michael W. Smith AWAKEN: The Surrounded Experience [The Fuel]
The Tommies Reunion The Tommies Reunion [Tyscot]
UPPERROOM To The One [The Fuel]

Next Friday, March 1
Abandon Kansas alligator: live at Smoakstack (independent)
7eventh Time Down Brand New Day [BEC]
Demon Hunter War [Solid State]
Demon Hunter Peace [Solid State]

For all release dates, click here!

New Music Reviews

Check out the new album from Portraits Music!

New Indie Reviews

New Movie Reviews

  • Image Glass
    PG-13 (Theatrical)

Free MP3 Downloads