Listen to the new album from Elias Dummer!
Listen to the new album from Elias Dummer!

JFH Staff Review

Hope for a Brighter Future

Album length: 10 tracks: 33 minutes, 41 seconds
Street Date: September 25, 2001

With lineup changes that would make Destiny's Child bite at their heals, comes Veronica, a band created in 1999 as only a side project, slowly progressed into an everyday event. With their third release, first on California's own Militia Group, and a lineup nearly set in stone, comes Hope For A Brighter Future.

Leading the way is "Alone Again in Spring," a nice pop tune but with a somewhat delayed chorus that led me a little off track. "Here Today Gone Tomorrow" reminded me of a song I couldn't put my finger on, but nevertheless, is extremely catchy and first highlights the keyboarding skills of Jesse Keenan formerly of the Pink Daffodils. "A Different Story," a highlight for me, is a great tune that should be up there with Jimmy Eat World and Saves The Day on MTV2 rotation. "No More Lonely Valentines" throws a curve ball with another set of vocals, feminine by the way, working for that "lovers singing together" feel. At first listen, I could have sworn it was a more melodic Scott Windsor of The Lyndsay Diaries but it's the up and coming Lois Volta. "Hometown Landscape" begins with some homely piano but only 30 seconds pass when the Synthesizer/ Keyboard comes back into play.

The keyboards on this album proved to be a double-edged sword. In one case, this is a bit of a trendsetter, however sort of jams it down the throat. New things are needed in small doses, but in this case, I "O.D."ed. Veronica is a little too melodic to call punk and a little too punk to call emo as they remind me of Fountains of Wayne or Jameson. This is, no doubt, going to be a part of the new crop of post-punk bands. Punk may soon be dead, but Veronica will surely live on.

- Review date: 1/13/02, written by Blake Garris


. Record Label: The Militia Group
. Album length: 10 Tracks, 33 Minutes, 41 Seconds
. Street Date: September 25, 2001
. Buy It:

  1. Alone Again In Spring
  2. Here Today, Gone Tomorrow
  3. Rock City Falls
  4. This Only Constant Thing
  5. A Different Story
  6. No More Lonely Valentines
  7. A Victim Of Wishful Thinking
  8. Take It Or Leave It
  9. Hometown Landscape
  10. Love Is No Guarantee



go to main Album review page
go to Album review archive


JFH Sponsor Spot:



Listen to the new album from Every Nation Music!

Search JFH

Music Out This Week

This Thursday, February 14
Slow Coming Day 1,000 Years (Like A Day) [Indie Vision]

This Friday, February 15
1K Phew What's Understood - EP [Reach]
Bethel Music Bethel Music En Español [Bethel]
Highlands Worship Jesus You Alone - Single [The Fuel]
Neon Feather Come To Life (feat. Matty Mullins) - Single [Centricity]
Jars of Clay If I Left The Zoo (Vinyl Debut) [SMLXL]
LEDGER Completely - Single [Atlantic]
Brady Novotny Passions Collide [MTS Records]
Passion “Step Into The Light” Featuring Sean Curran - Single [SixSteps]
29:11 Worship Marble & Mortar Vol. 1 [DREAM Worship]
Kevin Ward He Loves - Single [DREAM]
Ian Yates Deconstruction - Single [7Core]

Next Friday, February 22
For All Seasons Light and Momentary - Single [Centricity]
London Gatch New Stories [BEC Worship]
Plumb Somebody Loves You - 2-Track Single [Centricity]
Michael W. Smith Awaken: The Surrounded Experience [The Fuel]
The Tommies Reunion The Tommies Reunion [Tyscot]
UPPERROOM To The One [The Fuel]

For all release dates, click here!

New Music Reviews

Check out the new album from Portraits Music!

New Indie Reviews

New Movie Reviews

  • Image Glass
    PG-13 (Theatrical)

Free MP3 Downloads