Listen to the JFH Podcast!
Our little spacer buddy

Border leftarrow upMore Newsarrow downBorder right

Check out this new music from Mark Bishop! Space Space
Space Space Space Check out this new music video from Rusty Shipp!

Jesus freak Hideout

Delirious?, My Soul Sings: Live From Bogota Colombia Delirious?
My Soul Sings: Live From Bogota Colombia


Artist Info: Discography
Album length: 14 tracks: 72 minutes, 29 seconds
Street Date: March 16, 2009

In the early 90's, Delirious? revolutionized corporate worship when they broke onto the modern worship scene with Cutting Edge. Over the last decade and a half, they have inspired countless musicians and worship leaders to attempt to follow in their footsteps. Yet they have succeeded here many have failed by keeping their art original and creative. Their storied career has brought us eight studio albums as well as an array of live worship records all of which have led us, for now, to My Soul Sings.

Recorded in Bogota last year in front of 12,000 Columbians, My Soul Sings gives us an audio and visual taste of how far Delirious' appeal stretches. While in their last year of musical ministry, this may be the last project they release (no known future releases are planned at this time). My Soul Sings is by far not a referendum on their entire repertoire but more of an extension of their Kingdom of Comfort tour.

The DVD is engrossing to see Delirious? connect with their audience. The lighting is spectacular, however, the video editing is somewhat choppy and slightly cheesy on “Rain Down,” the first song on the record; and “Stare the Monster Down” which was edited to look almost like a comic book. Most of the shots are more distant, giving the viewer a sense of being part of the show's audience itself, but reels you in for some more intimate tracks like “Majesty (Here I Am)” (which is also sung in Spanish at times).

Altogether, the DVD flows fairly well, with some small backstage footage of the children's choir that sings on “All God's Children” and an encore break between “Paint the Town Red” and “Kingdom of Comfort.” Martin connects well with his audience, especially on “History Maker,” by draping himself in the Columbian flag and giving a spine tingling message. In “Kingdom of Comfort,” Martin reappears wearing a crown girded with iPod's and cell phones reminiscent of a Bono performance off of older live footage. "Paint the Town Red," an odd track on the DVD, is shot to look like a static CCTV shot of the band, from what appears to be a different show entirely.

The camera angles are pretty standard with close-up shots of instruments and audience shots. The extra feature to turn on the lyrics is neat, while there's a bonus separate video clip of “Te Canta Mi Alma (My Soul Sings).” The audio features are extensive as well to add more depth to the experience.

The CD itself isn't identical to the DVD tracks, having added "God's Romance" and "Hallelujah" towards the beginning of the record, and taking out “How Sweet the Name,” - to my dismay - and “Paint the Town Red.” It's still a hefty 14 tracks long, however. The audio is well balanced and is interesting to listen to first and then watch the DVD to set your expectations of what you hear and compare it to what you see.

Overall, My Soul Sings is an intriguing, engrossing experience. My biggest complaint is with Delirious? calling it quits this year, I wanted to see and hear more from their extensive catalog of music. “Bliss” was a nice surprise, but I would have liked to see them dig deeper than the eight songs they played off of Kingdom of Comfort. If this is their last release and their last remembrance of a live show spanning the entire career of Delirious?, I would be somewhat disappointed. Hopefully the guys will not end their career with this enjoyable, yet incomplete, project.

- Review date: 3/14/09, written by Kevin Chamberlin


. Record Label: Sparrow Records
. Album length: 14 tracks: 72 minutes, 29 seconds (CD) + DVD
. Street Date: March 16, 2009 (Worldwide) / March 24, 2009 (Sparrow)
. Buy It:

Live CD:

  1. Rain Down
  2. God Is Smiling
  3. God's Romance
  4. Hallelujah
  5. Bliss
  6. Love Will Find A Way
  7. All God's Children
  8. History Maker
  9. Break The Silence
  10. Deeper
  11. Majesty
  12. Kingdom Of Comfort
  13. Stare The Monster Down
  14. My Soul Sings

Live DVD:

  1. Rain Down
  2. God is Smiling
  3. Bliss
  4. Love Will Find A Way
  5. All God's Children
  6. How Sweet the Name
  7. History Maker
  8. Break the Silence
  9. Deeper
  10. Majesty
  11. Paint the Town Red
  12. Kingdom of Comfort
  13. Stare the Monster Down
  14. My Soul Sings



go to main Album review page or go to Album review archive

Order original art and support!


Music News RSS
About JFH | Contact JFH | Site Map | JFH Staff | Advertise With JFH
JFH Store | Donate to JFH | Prayer | Privacy | Home

All materials copyright of   ©1996-2018 Jesus freak Hideout. All Rights Reserved.