Listen to the new album from Elias Dummer!
Listen to the new album from Elias Dummer!

JFH Staff Review

Demo EP (2009)

Artist Info: Discography
Album length: 7 tracks: 28 minutes, 43 seconds
Street Date: 2009

Elle and Shealeen Puckett of New Mexico make up the band Poema, an up-and-coming acoustic pop band signed to Tooth and Nail Records. The sisters recently recorded their debut T&N EP with Aaron Sprinkle as the producer. Prior to signing onto a record label, the girls recorded a series of demos out of their home studio, releasing the songs exclusively through their myspace page. These tracks simultaneously showed the girls' young age as well as maturity.

The EP starts out with "Blue Sweater," a slower tempo love song about a lover that lives far away. It is immediately clear that these girls are talented musicians. They work together on their respective instruments (Elle on guitar, Shealeen on piano) to create a sound that is both familiar and original. Continuing on, the listener is given two more sweet and innocent love songs.

The strongest track on the album follows, entitled "Echo Off the Sky." In this encouraging, upbeat track, Elle sings, "Don't be sorry if you don't play the melody just right/ I just want you to show me one more song tonight." This song, coupled with the next track, "The World," both push listeners towards living a meaningful life, to pursue as much as they can in the time they are given. The album finishes off with another couple of lighthearted romance songs, "All It Takes" and "Boys & Bugs." The latter will be a favorite for many girls as the Puckett sisters describe their dream guy.

Overall, The Poema Demo EP is a great introduction to the band. The talented girls approach music with innocence and lightheartedness while still maintaining sincerity to their songs and their message. With their newest EP, entitled Sing It Now, set to release March 23rd, Poema is going to be a band to watch this year.

JFH Reader Review: Review date: 1/29/03, written by Katie McNeil for


. Record Label: None
. Album length: 7 tracks: 28 minutes, 43 seconds
. Street Date: 2009
. Buy It: MySpace

  1. Feel The Same Way
  2. Echo Off The Sky
  3. Safe To Say
  4. The World
  5. Boys & Bugs
  6. Blue Sweater
  7. All It Takes (BONUS TRACK)



go to main Album review page
go to Album review archive


JFH Sponsor Spot:



Listen to the new album from Elias Dummer!

Search JFH

Music Out This Week

This Friday, March 22
Mack Brock Covered EP [Sparrow/Capitol]
Jonathan Cain More Like Jesus - Single [The Fuel]
Steven Curtis Chapman Deeper Roots: Where The Bluegrass Grows [SCSEE Music]
Luke + Anna Hellebronth Motions of Mercy [Integrity]
PEABOD Side Hustle - Single [Centricity]
planetboom Jesus Over Everything [Venture3Media]
Ian Yates Deconstruction Vol. 1 [7Core]

Next Friday, March 29
Amanda Lindsey Cook House On A Hill [Bethel Music]
Jon Egan Unveil (Live) [Integrity]
For All Seasons Friends - Single [Centricity]
Neon Feather Universe Inside Your Eyes - Single [Centricity]
Natasha Owens Warrior [Radiate]
Unspoken Reason - Single [Centricity]
We Are Messengers Honest EP [Word/Curb]

For all release dates, click here!

New Music Reviews

Listen to the new album from Destination Worship!

New Indie Reviews

New Movie Reviews

Free MP3 Downloads