Listen to the new album from Elias Dummer!
Listen to the new album from Elias Dummer!

JFH Staff Review

Turn to the Bright

Artist Info: Discography
Album length: 6 tracks: 20 minutes, 50 seconds
Street Date: November 16, 2004

The latest addition to the joint Tooth & Nail/Solid State roster are Virginia-natives Far-Less. It is hard to describe their sound, but aggressive urgency surrounds this band on their short but sweet national debut EP Turn to the Bright.

Though their sound is hard to describe, it feels like already-tread territory. It is somewhat of an emo/hardcore blend. Ambient and paced in places, but mostly set in high gear.

Perhaps not so unique, but Far-Less incorporates and fuses their music into their urgent lyrics. "Scorched Earth Policy" is a desperate plea for the destruction of all that is sinful in one's life. "I've witnessed the trend is losing innocence/ You should fall to your knees/ I feel the absence of a Holy Presence/ Pray for love, pray for mercy."

With six tracks in all, two of those being instrumental, and clocking in at just over twenty minutes, Turn to the Bright is fairly short even in an EP sense. But what you get is good, to say the least. Perhaps not everyone's cup of tea, but Far-Less is definitely fresh enough to gain a considerable following.

- Review date: 12/5/04, written by Josh Taylor



Buy This CD Online

. Artist Info: Far-Less's Discography
. Record Label: Tooth & Nail Records
. Album length: 6 tracks, 20 minutes and 50 seconds
. Street Date: November 16, 2004
. Buy It:

  1. Untitled Intro
  2. Scorched Earth Policy
  3. Georgia
  4. The Mountain Song
  5. Out of Balance (Koyaanisqatsi)
  6. Untitled Outro
spacer Click For Audio Sample   Click For Song Lyrics
Click For Audio Sample   Click For Song Lyrics
Click For Audio Sample   Click For Song Lyrics
Click For Audio Sample   Click For Song Lyrics
Click For Audio Sample   Click For Song Lyrics
Click For Audio Sample   Click For Song Lyrics



go to main Album review page
go to Album review archive


JFH Sponsor Spot:



Listen to the new album from Every Nation Music!

Search JFH

Music Out This Week

This Thursday, February 14
Slow Coming Day 1,000 Years (Like A Day) [Indie Vision]

This Friday, February 15
1K Phew What's Understood - EP [Reach]
Highlands Worship Jesus You Alone - Single [The Fuel]
Neon Feather Come To Life (feat. Matty Mullins) - Single [Centricity]
Jars of Clay If I Left The Zoo (Vinyl Debut) [SMLXL]
LEDGER Completely - Single [Atlantic]
Brady Novotny Passions Collide [MTS Records]
Passion “Step Into The Light” Featuring Sean Curran - Single [SixSteps]
29:11 Worship Marble & Mortar Vol. 1 [DREAM Worship]
Kevin Ward He Loves - Single [DREAM]
Ian Yates Deconstruction - Single [7Core]

Next Friday, February 22
For All Seasons Light and Momentary - Single [Centricity]
London Gatch New Stories [BEC Worship]
Plumb Somebody Loves You - 2-Track Single [Centricity]
Michael W. Smith Awaken: The Surrounded Experience [The Fuel]
The Tommies Reunion The Tommies Reunion [Tyscot]
UPPERROOM To The One [The Fuel]

For all release dates, click here!

New Music Reviews

Check out the new album from Portraits Music!

New Indie Reviews

New Movie Reviews

  • Image Glass
    PG-13 (Theatrical)

Free MP3 Downloads