Listen to the Album from Free As A Bird!
Listen to the New Album From Free As A Bird!

JFH Music Review

Everything In Slow Motion, Phoenix

Everything In Slow Motion

Artist Info: Discography
Genre(s): Hardcore / Metal
Album length: 10 tracks: 50 minutes, 21 seconds
Street Date: December 10, 2013

The heavy Christian music scene lost a real gem when progressive post-metal juggernauts Hands decided to call it a day. Even though the band never made an official announcement, Hands frontman, guitarist and primary creative force Shane Ochsner alluded to the fact at hand in several interviews shortly after their 2011 masterpiece Give Me Rest was released, which was a real bummer, considering just how good of a record Give Me Rest is.

Whereas their 2009 Facedown Records debut Creator was more of a straightforward metalcore album, Give Me Rest greatly expanded upon the template set by Creator and introduced more ambient and atmospheric elements which profoundly impacted the emotional and intellectual weight of their music. It was certainly a high note to go out on, but at the same time, it was a disappointing prospect to accept that Hands' newfound musical brilliance would never be fully realized. Thank the good Lord above, then, that Ochsner shared in his fans' sentiments and decided to launch a new project in the form of Everything In Slow Motion.

Since the release of their first single Red last year, the debut full-length from Everything In Slow Motion has been eagerly anticipated, and rightly so. Red appeared to be a natural progression from Hands' Give Me Rest, and yet there was still something more presiding underneath it; the music seemed darker, yet more hopeful somehow, and lyrics more challenging, yet still worshipful. The sludge metal aspects hinted at on Give Me Rest became much more prominent, and the atmospheric elements, more refined. After a long year's wait, Everything In Slow Motion have finally unleashed their debut album, Phoenix, and let it be known with confidence that it was well worth the wait.

Phoenix is an album full of passion and conviction. It can be heard in every vocal sung by Ochsner, every guitar note strummed, and every drum hit. Album opener "Get Out" hooks the listener from the get-go and begins a musical journey that doesn't bore once, even through the very final notes of album closer "Proxima," which is one of the most beautiful songs this writer has heard in years. In fact, "beautiful" is a perfect moniker to describe Phoenix. Even in its more intense moments, there is an underlying current of beauty running deep within the album, an oft-uncommon characteristic for a metal album.

Each song stands firmly on its own warrants, and although there is a common thread which binds them all together, not once does the album feel repetitive. Ochsner's lyrics are just as personal and thought-provoking as they've ever been in the past, exemplified by the hard-hitting "Most Days," a mournful and extremely moving plight about the struggles of addiction, as well as the more worshipful "You Are." Christian Lindskog of Blindside fame gives a memorable guest performance on "Speak," and the aforementioned "Proxima" features a powerful vocal cameo from singer-songwriter Holly Ann that simply must be heard to believe. From a musical standpoint, Phoenix manages to stand out from the pack as well. Everything sounds very natural and organic thanks to a superb production job from Joshua Barber, and there are deep grooves and powerful movements to be found throughout the duration of Phoenix.

Make no mistake; Everything In Slow Motion has fully realized what was hinted at on Hands' Give Me Rest with Phoenix. It feels like a natural successor to what was Hands' opus, and manages to be even more ambitious and powerful. It's a shame that Phoenix was released so late in the year, because it opens up the possibility to this masterpiece of an album flying under people's radars. If you read this review, spread the word; Phoenix is essential listening, and one of the best albums of the year.

- Review date: 12/8/13, written by Aaron Lambert of

Listen to the Album Angel In A Haunted House by Will Keizer!


. Record Label: Facedown Records
. Album length: 10 tracks: 50 minutes, 21 seconds
. Street Date: December 10, 2013
. Buy It: iTunes
. Buy It: AmazonMP3
. Buy It:

  1. Get Out (4:18)
  2. Speak (feat. Christian Lindskog) (4:43)
  3. Poison (4:38)
  4. Most Days (4:27)
  5. You Are (4:01)
  6. Numbers (6:45)
  7. The Fool (4:33)
  8. Come Down (4:43)
  9. Remember No More (5:05)
  10. Proxima (feat. Holly Ann) (7:08)


Leave a Comment



go to main Album review page
go to Album review archive


(JFH Sponsor Spot)



Listen to the Album Angel In A Haunted House by Will Keizer!

Search JFH

This Friday, October 22, 2021
Jim & Melissa Brady Ever Faithful [Daywind]
Teddy Campbell Band/font> Marry Me - Single [Gee Tree]
Casting Crowns The Power of the Cross - Single [Provident]
Stephen Christian Awaken - Single [BEC]
The Color No Greater Love [DREAM]
Jason Crabb Home for Christmas - EP [Red Street]
Sean Curran 1,000 Names - EP [Capitol CMG]
Hillsong Worship Thatís The Power (feat. Benjamin Hastings) - Single [Capitol CMG/Hillsong]
Idle Threat Driftwood - Single [Tooth & Nail]
Lion of Judah Closer [BEC/Gospel Song]
Lindsay McCaul Come, O Lord (Maranatha) - Single (independent)
The Old Paths Every Story Whispers His Name - Single [Sonlite]
Aaron Shust Every Morning - Single (independent)
Rebecca St. James Kingdom Come (feat. for KING & COUNTRY) - Single [Bethel]
Stephanie Summers Mighty Strong God [Provident]
Cade Thompson Cade Thompson Christmas - EP [Red Street]
Tim Timmons HERE (Live With Friends) [Integrity]
We The Kingdom A Family Christmas EP [Sparrow]
Zach Williams I Donít Want Christmas To End [Provident]
Anne Wilson My Jesus (feat. Crowder) - Single [Capitol CMG]

Next Friday, October 29, 2021
11th Hour Anthem of the Ages [Crossroads]
Gas Street Music This is Jesus - EP [Integrity]
Love & The Outcome Christmas Lights - Single [Curb/Word]
Marc Martel & Leigh Nash Welcome to Our World - Single
MŌRIAH Live from the Quarry - EP [Cathedral]
MŌRIAH Worth (feat. Joel Smallbone) - Single [Cathedral]
NEEDTOBREATHE Into the Mystery (Vinyl) [Centricity/Elektra]
Point of Grace Sing Noel [Curb/Word]
Sarah Reeves Winter Wonderland (feat. Clark Beckham) - Single [Curb/Word]
SongLab In The Greenhouse - EP [DREAM]
Stars Go Dim Home (feat. Hannah Ellis) - Single [Curb/Word]
Various Artists Dream Christmas Vol. 6 [DREAM]
War Of Ages Rhema - EP [Facedown]

For all release dates, click here!

Listen to the new single by Katie Lighty!

Listen to the new album from KAINA!