Listen to the new album by Life UNLTD!
Listen to the new album by Life UNLTD!

  Jesusfreakhideout.com 5-Star Review

  JFH 5-Star Review


Charmaine, Love Reality
CLICK COVER TO ENLARGE

Charmaine
Love Reality



Artist Info: Discography
Album length: 10 tracks
Street Date: March 30, 2010


Artists come and go, but every now and then, a short-lived run of an artist can be resurrected into something exciting. Initially making a splash in the scene with 2002's All About Jesus, pop singer Charmaine returns to music after eight years. With a new sound and a new aim, her comeback album, Love Reality, marks a huge milestone in this year's list of releases, as well as demands extra attention and inspection.

Described as "orchestral symphonic pop", the sound Charmaine brings to the table is fresh and accomplished. Gone are the Rebecca St. James-esque flavorings from years past. From the opening strings of "Tell Me," the album has an epic feel from start to finish; pianos and synths layered upon vast soundscapes complete the mix, giving Love Reality an overall dream-like vibe. It's hard to really compare Charmaine's sound to anyone else in the Christian market, immediately making the album stand out among others in the pop field. Without completely banking on the distinctiveness-factor, enough variety is infused throughout the album to keep things interesting. "Love Reality" and "Tokyo" are by far the more quirky tracks displayed, while the slower paces of "Not Fair" and "Revolutionary Thought" provide effective contrast. It's a winning and captivating sound from beginning to end, and it's nothing short of groundbreaking.

Love Reality is lyrically Christ-centered and full of optimism. While the fun "Tokyo" recounts Charmaine's experiences and aspirations from world travels, tracks range from solid and mature looks at God and His grace ("At My Door," "Epiphany") while keeping an honest look at walking the path of Jesus ("Run," "Fighting Furies"). The most convicting track of all, however, is "Not Fair," recounting how undeserved one is of Christ's unfailing love ("Why do You love me, why are You here?/You know my intentions, are never sincere.../ It don't seem right, that Your love has never been fair"). Nothing sounds canned, and while ultimately it's a relatively simple set of lyrical musings, it is a breath of fresh air being paired with the album's musical approach. The vocals are always spot on, as well, and given the wide range of styles presented, their versatility is a marked attribute of Charmaine's.

It's difficult to describe what makes Love Reality such a pleasure to hear. Forsaking the norm, the project never follows in comfortable footsteps and instead ventures out into a whole new path of its own. It's worlds beyond the now-dated All About Jesus, and without even attempting to continue her old sound, Charmaine's is undoubted a musical journey one will want to revisit again and again. Love Reality will not only be this year's best pop album, but also one of the best albums of the year overall. Don't miss out on one of 2010's biggest surprises yet.

- PReview date: 3/1/10, Review date: 3/28/10; written by Roger Gelwicks of Jesusfreakhideout.com


Listen to the new album from Jack Izaak!

 

JFH Staff's Second Opinion



In 2002, touring background vocalist for Rebecca St. James (and fellow Aussie), Charmaine, made her solo debut on the quaint Elevate Records. Now, eight years later, the vocalist is making a triumphant return on in:ciite (formerly Indelible) with Love Reality, a bold pop record with a big sound and impressive production. Charmaine's vocals have matured dramatically in recent years and she matches how huge the songs can feel with her soaring vocals perfectly. Each track is catchy without a single one of the ten sounding like filler. The themes range from sharing your burdens with Christ to leaning on a friend to reflecting on God's endless love for us and His grace. It's a beautiful record, a sleeper favorite to be sure, and most likely one of the best pop albums to come along in years. I'm confident this will be on my year-end top 10 list for 2010. - John DiBiase

 

. Record Label: in:ciite / Word Distribution
. Album length: 10 tracks
. Street Date: March 30, 2010
. Buy It: iTunes
. Buy It: ChristianBook.com

  1. Tell Me (3:59)
  2. At My Door (3:31)
  3. Love Reality (3:41)
  4. Run (3:43)
  5. Tokyo (4:27)
  6. Tied To The Ground (3:44)
  7. Fighting Furies (4:11)
  8. Not Fair (4:16)
  9. Epiphany (4:36)
  10. Revolutionary Thought (3:31)
spacer Click For Audio Sample   Click For Song Lyrics
Click For Audio Sample   Click For Song Lyrics
Click For Audio Sample   Click For Song Lyrics
Click For Audio Sample   Click For Song Lyrics
Click For Audio Sample   Click For Song Lyrics
Click For Audio Sample   Click For Song Lyrics
Click For Audio Sample   Click For Song Lyrics
Click For Audio Sample   Click For Song Lyrics
Click For Audio Sample   Click For Song Lyrics
Click For Audio Sample   Click For Song Lyrics

 

Leave a Comment

 

 

go to main Album review page
go to Album review archive

 


(JFH Sponsor Spot)

 

 

           
Listen to the new album from Jack Izaak!

Search JFH



This Monday, August 3, 2020
Jonah Fear (feat. Anomaly) - Single (independent)


This Friday, August 7, 2020
Apollo LTD Patience - Single [Centricity]
Mack Brock Savior Of The World - Single [Capitol CMG]
Disciple Darkness Dies - Single [Tooth & Nail]
Danny Gokey, Evan Craft & Redimi2 Ama a Dios y a Tu Vecino - Single [Capitol CMG]
Grandpa Loves Rhinos Searching in the Sarchasm [Indie Vision Music]
Jason Gray Glory Days - Single [Centricity]
Koryn Hawthorne Speak to Me - Single [Provident]
Coby James Whatever - Single [Centricity]
Lydia Laird Lydia Laird - EP [Provident]
Lecrae Zombie - Single [Reach]
Chris McClarney Café Sessions EP [Capitol CMG]
North Point Worship Praise Your Name [Centricity]
Passion & Tide Electric There’s Nothing That Our God Can’t Do (Reimagined/Tide Electric Remix) [feat. Kristian Stanfill] - Single [Capitol CMG]
Rend Collective Socially Distant Worship Club (Part 1) EP [Capitol CMG]
Jamie Rowe This is Home Vinyl [Girder]
John Schlitt Go Vinyl [4K]
Seventh Day Slumber Unseen: The Lion - EP [Rockfest]
Social Club Misfits Up (GSM Remix) - Single [Capitol CMG]
We The Kingdom Holy Water [Capitol CMG]


Next Thursday, August 13, 2020
Various Artists Songs We've Been Trying to Tell You About (And Others We Haven't), Volume 9 [JFH Music]


Next Friday, August 14, 2020
Bride Drop (25th Anniversary Edition) [Girder Records]
Tori Kelly Solitude EP [Capitol]
Life.Church Worship Jesus Is Near EP [DREAM Worship]
PEABOD Heavenly Father - Single [Centricity]
Kim Walker-Smith Wild Heart (Live) [Sparrow/Jesus Culture]


For all release dates, click here!
 



Listen to the new album from I.AM!




Listen to the new album from The Grace Collective!