Get the new album from Free Chapel!

Get the new album from Free Chapel!

JFH Staff Review

The Crimson Armada, Guardians

The Crimson Armada

Artist Info: Discography
Album length: 10 tracks: 41 minutes, 33 seconds
Street Date: July 7, 2009

After an independently released EP and a year-long hiatus, the metalcore band from Columbus, The Crimson Armada, have released their first full-length album under Metal Blade records, well known for other metalcore act As I Lay Dying.

The album starts of with "Guardians," a five-minute-long song that can feel longer than it needs to be, but delivers lots of energy from start to finish. Then there's "The Sound, The Flood, The Hour," which kicks off with the line "God give me strength, You know I need it. Say 'Submit to me!' And I'll concede." It's a very powerful statement which lets the listener know where their faith as a band lies. "The Serpent's Tongue" is one of the less gritty sounding songs on the album with a really deep growled vocal towards the end of the song.

"Revelations," the sixth track, features a guest appearance from For Today's lead vocalist, Mattie Montgomery to create an epic collaboration. My personal favorite, "Desecrated," features very fast vocal delivery, almost rivaling speeds you'd typically hear in rap or hip hop music. "The Architect," though not the last track on the album, is the last song that kicks of with a symphonic intro and introduces the same level of energy featured in the rest of the album.

All tracks feature lots of double bass pummeling, gritty vocals, and a number of breakdowns. Be warned though, there are no clean vocals on this record, so if you're not up for forty-plus minutes of screams and growls with fast-paced drumming and distorted guitars, this record isn't for you. If you want a straight-up, easy-to-understand, unashamed declaration of God's glory screamed, then The Crimson Armada's Guardians is worth it.

JFH Reader Review: Review date: 7/11/11, written by Samson Aken'Ova for


. Record Label: Metal Blade Records
. Album length: 10 tracks: 41 minutes, 33 seconds
. Street Date: July 7, 2009
. Buy It: iTunes
. Buy It: AmazonMP3
. Buy It:

  1. Guardian (5:36)
  2. A Filthy Addiction (4:59)
  3. The Sound, The Flood, The Hour (4:30)
  4. In The Eyes Of God (4:15)
  5. The Serpents Tongue (4:20)
  6. Revelations (2:44)
  7. Desecrated (4:03)
  8. The Final Words (5:07)
  9. The Architect (5:24)
  10. Outro (0:35)


Leave A Comment! (Don't forget to be nice)" data-colorscheme="light" data-numposts="5" data-width="690">



go to main Album review page
go to Album review archive


JFH Sponsor Spot:



Listen to the new album from Connor Flanagan!

Search JFH

Music Out This Week

This Friday, October 19
Gawvi Panorama [Reach]
Hollyn Everything and More / Isaac - Single [Gotee]
Iron Bell Music Glory to Glory [Essential]
Matt Maher The Advent of Christmas [Essential]
Planetshakers Heaven on Earth Part III EP [Integrity]
Planetshakers Heaven on Earth CD/DVD [Integrity]
Switchfoot Native Tongue - Single [Lowercase People]
Tenth Avenue North The Things We've Been Afraid To Say EP [Reunion]
CeCe Winans Something's Happening: It's Christmas with CeCe Winans [Thirty Tigers]

NEXT Friday, October 26
Francesca Battistelli Own It [Word]
Lauren Daigle Behold: Deluxe Edition [Centricity]
Ben & Noelle Kilgore A Resting Place EP [Integrity/The Creak Music]
Lovelite Apocalypse Hymnal (independent)
Marc Martel My Way, Vol. II: The Queen EP (independent)
Matthew Parker Daydreamer [DREAM]
Fight The Fury Still Breathing EP [Atlantic]
Chris Tomlin Holy Roar [Sparrow]

For all release dates, click here!

New Music Reviews

Listen to the new album from Three Bridges!

New Indie Reviews

New Movie Reviews

Free MP3 Downloads