Listen to the new album from Elias Dummer!
Listen to the new album from Elias Dummer!

JFH Staff Review

Next In Line
In Due Time

Album length: 11 Tracks: 41 minutes, 35 seconds
Street Date: 1999

When a band plays with the likes of Too Bad Eugene, Craig's Brother, Slick Shoes, and oh yea, Smashmouth, they always deserve at least one listen. Well, Next In Line, deserves that listen especially with a debut release entitled In Due Time.

"Letting Go" begins the record in catchy punk melodious fashion leading to "Empty Promises," another of the same genre. "Poisoned" adds a new mix to punk with an acoustic guitar but brings the old flavor back in little time while "Sweet 16" pulls the production and harmony to full force with a nice melody. Don't let the title "Dilbert" fool you, it may be about the cartoon character but the lyrics are far from comical whereas "Silent Cry" adds a church choir feel in its intro. I thought I was about to hear Stevie Nicks when "Tonight" began with acoustic guitar and female vocals, but turns out to be a great change of pace as well as a worship-filled awe-striking song. "Heart's Song" ends this CD nicely with a very catchy pop punk highlight.

With a release slated for Summer of 2002, I am definitely looking towards the horizon. This is amazing for a debut release and I can't wait to see the progression these guys have taken. With a tad more melody-filled hooks and another "Heart's Song," in due time, these guys will be at the front of the line.

- Review date: 1/21/02, written by Blake Garris


. Record Label: Independent
. Album length: 11 Tracks, 41 Minutes and 35 Seconds
. Street Date: 1999

  1. Letting Go
  2. Empty Promises
  3. Poisoned
  4. The Wager
  5. Sweet 16
  6. Dilbert
  7. Silent Cry
  8. Shackled
  9. Tonight
  10. True Believer
  11. Heart's Song



go to main Album review page
go to Album review archive


JFH Sponsor Spot:



Listen to the new album from Every Nation Music!

Search JFH

Music Out This Week

This Thursday, February 14
Slow Coming Day 1,000 Years (Like A Day) [Indie Vision]

This Friday, February 15
1K Phew What's Understood - EP [Reach]
Bethel Music Bethel Music En Español [Bethel]
Highlands Worship Jesus You Alone - Single [The Fuel]
Neon Feather Come To Life (feat. Matty Mullins) - Single [Centricity]
Jars of Clay If I Left The Zoo (Vinyl Debut) [SMLXL]
LEDGER Completely - Single [Atlantic]
Brady Novotny Passions Collide [MTS Records]
Passion “Step Into The Light” Featuring Sean Curran - Single [SixSteps]
29:11 Worship Marble & Mortar Vol. 1 [DREAM Worship]
Kevin Ward He Loves - Single [DREAM]
Ian Yates Deconstruction - Single [7Core]

Next Friday, February 22
For All Seasons Light and Momentary - Single [Centricity]
London Gatch New Stories [BEC Worship]
Plumb Somebody Loves You - 2-Track Single [Centricity]
Michael W. Smith Awaken: The Surrounded Experience [The Fuel]
The Tommies Reunion The Tommies Reunion [Tyscot]
UPPERROOM To The One [The Fuel]

For all release dates, click here!

New Music Reviews

Check out the new album from Portraits Music!

New Indie Reviews

New Movie Reviews

  • Image Glass
    PG-13 (Theatrical)

Free MP3 Downloads