Listen to the new album from Elias Dummer!
Listen to the new album from Elias Dummer!

JFH Staff Review

When Hippos Laugh
Mute Shell

Album length: 5 tracks: 24 minutes, 19 seconds
Street Date: 2001

When Hippos Laugh is an up and coming post-alternative band from Denmark. Headed by Morten Aske Rasmussen on vocals, the band can mold into a grunge power act or high energy acoustic at the turn of a hat. Labeled as dark and melancholy, WHL is no doubt, real. Mute Shell is their latest 5 song EP.

The album opens on "Indifferent Need," a heavy rock anthem where Live or Collective Soul comes to mind. Sour guitar riffs and moody vocals make this a nice gloomy tune. "Mute Shell," the title track shows just how they can turn from grunge to acoustic with a respectable ballad. The song that would stand out the most is "The Great Whore." With the title alone, this one lets you know you're in for something, but becomes no issue by means of lyrics, stating how we can sometimes fall to those pesky carnal desires but "God is love." "Superherotendencies," another that stands out, begins like Enrique Iglesias but ends with a strange dirty appealing chorus.

This is a nice album for fans of Pearl Jam, Collective Soul, Live, and perhaps Fono. The songs seem repetitive at times and gloomy but, nevertheless, the production is top notch. Before you say alternative is dead, check out When Hippos Laugh, you'll probably change your mind. I can't wait to see the progression this band will surely take in the near future.

- Review date: 1/12/02, written by Blake Garris


. Record Label: Independent
. Album length: 5 Tracks 24 minutes and 19 seconds
. Street Date: 2001

  1. Indifferent Need
  2. Mute Shell
  3. The Great Whore
  4. Nothing's Wrong
  5. Superherotendencies



go to main Album review page
go to Album review archive


JFH Sponsor Spot:



Listen to the new album from Every Nation Music!

Search JFH

Music Out This Week

This Thursday, February 14
Slow Coming Day 1,000 Years (Like A Day) [Indie Vision]

This Friday, February 15
1K Phew What's Understood - EP [Reach]
Bethel Music Bethel Music En Español [Bethel]
Highlands Worship Jesus You Alone - Single [The Fuel]
Neon Feather Come To Life (feat. Matty Mullins) - Single [Centricity]
Jars of Clay If I Left The Zoo (Vinyl Debut) [SMLXL]
LEDGER Completely - Single [Atlantic]
Brady Novotny Passions Collide [MTS Records]
Passion “Step Into The Light” Featuring Sean Curran - Single [SixSteps]
29:11 Worship Marble & Mortar Vol. 1 [DREAM Worship]
Kevin Ward He Loves - Single [DREAM]
Ian Yates Deconstruction - Single [7Core]

Next Friday, February 22
For All Seasons Light and Momentary - Single [Centricity]
London Gatch New Stories [BEC Worship]
Plumb Somebody Loves You - 2-Track Single [Centricity]
Michael W. Smith Awaken: The Surrounded Experience [The Fuel]
The Tommies Reunion The Tommies Reunion [Tyscot]
UPPERROOM To The One [The Fuel]

For all release dates, click here!

New Music Reviews

Check out the new album from Portraits Music!

New Indie Reviews

New Movie Reviews

  • Image Glass
    PG-13 (Theatrical)

Free MP3 Downloads