Listen to the self-titled album by Out of the Dust

Border leftarrow upMore Newsarrow downBorder right

Listen to the self-titled album by Out of the Dust Space Space
Space Space Space Listen to the New Single


Landry Cantrell, Projections
Click Here To Enlarge Album Cover
Landry Cantrell

Genre(s): Pop
Album length: 12 tracks: 45 minutes, 9 seconds
Street Date: June 16, 2017
Bookmark and Share

A Second Opinion

    June 2017 might be remembered as one of the best months of Landry Cantrell's life. Following two very solid albums that were self-released in 2011 and 2014, Cantrell's label debut, Projections, comes six days on the heels of Cantrell proposing to his now-fiance Kelsey Hicks. Hicks even makes a feature on the duet "Indian Summer," one of many highlights on this stacked album, which (by my count) currently stands as the best pop album of the year. The twelve gems on Projections, all written or co-written by Cantrell, strike balances between many different tensions: both fun and interesting, impressive and catchy, lightweight and thoughtful. How often is an album perfect for focused headphone listening and windows down summer cruising? The make-or-break for a good pop song is often its bridge; it's the point when we ask, "Is this just a rehash of what came before?" or "Should I press skip already?" Cantrell proves time and again that he crafts stellar bridges, elevating tracks like "Separate," "Dreamin'," and the B. Reith-lite "Feedback." In the bridge of "Indian Summer," the engaged couple sings a profound response to fears of the permanence of marriage. It's not all summery here, though. On "Deeper Love," and especially on its thematic antithesis "Underneath," Cantrell does what this genre so desperately needs; he sings like he actually knows the Christian faith. He isn't afraid to address the earnest elements of following Christ, while his constantly fabulous vocal performances and gorgeous harmonies make it all go down easy.
- 6/15/17, Chase Tremaine of




. Record Label: Dream Records
. Album length: 12 tracks: 45 minutes, 9 seconds
. Street Date: June 16, 2017
. Buy It: iTunes
. Buy It: AmazonMP3

  1. Before You
  2. Gravity
  3. Fly
  4. Louder
  5. Feedback
  6. Indian Summer (feat Kelsey Hicks)
  7. Separate
  8. Dreamin'
  9. Deeper Love
  10. Fade Out
  11. Underneath
  12. Move Me (feat Lawrence Trump)


Leave A Comment! (Don't forget to be nice)
comments powered by Disqus



go to main Album review page or go to Album review archive


Music News RSS
About Us | Contact JFH | Site Map | RSS | JFH Staff | Advertise With JFH
JFH Store | Donate to JFH | Prayer | Link To Us | Privacy | Home

All materials copyright of   1996-2017 Jesus freak Hideout. All Rights Reserved.