Listen to the new album by Elias Dummer!
Listen to the new album from Elias Dummer! 5-Star Review

  JFH 5-Star Review

Children 18:3
Children 18:3

Artist Info: Discography
Album length: 14 tracks: 37 minutes, 15 seconds
Street Date: February 26, 2008

It's always the unexpected treats that end up meaning the most, like a new song from a forgotten favorite, or sometimes it's rediscovering that album which defined a past summer. Other times, it's three home-schooled siblings from rural Minnesota and their punk band that reignites your love for music itself. You never see it coming - until the opening crunch of "All My Balloons" kicks you square in the face. Hope seeps in, although with a degree of trepidation, because let's face it - the genre was done to death years ago. Children 18:3's self-titled debut may seem like a retread of an oversaturated style - even with its energetic cuff at the outset. But give them a chance… you're in for a treat.

At first it all sounds very familiar… punk foundation and generous influences from The Clash, Saves the Day, and maybe a little Foo Fighters. Often bouncy fun or driving, pseudo-melancholic intensity- always having a certain unfinished charm coupled with just enough polish to make it captivating. The Hostetters (Dave on guitar and vocals, Seth on drums, and sister Lee Marie on vocals and bass) are all equally skilled in their respective stations. In almost a decade playing together it's obvious they've learned how each piece should compliment the others- simply because they do it so well. Seth's drums are orchestrated around the tone of each song's moments- driving the energy onward, only to be injected with ska-pops and even some cowbell for effect. Dave and Lee Marie's dual-vocals are perfect, often bouncing back and forth between them chaotically before punching into a sustained harmony, and then right back into the hectic trade-offs. Bands like The Forecast may try similar vocal arrangements, but there's no comparison- I doubt I've heard it done better than Children.

Their name is an allusion to Matthew 18:3, wherein Jesus said "Assuredly, I say to you, unless you are converted and become as little children, you will by no means enter the kingdom of heaven…"- a notion which carries over into the songwriting, even more than it serves as their unofficial manifesto. The emphasis for these three isn't to push their songs into a genre, or convey a specific message with sterile words or notes. There's an exploration of moments, of emotions and creativity at work here… much like a child with simple faith and expression- devoid of agenda. As sublimely aggressive and structurally raw as the music is- the lyrical content is just as organic to its environment... At once poetic, often defiant and rowdy, and then full of pensive desperation. It's a call to confront complacency in "All My Balloons," the emotions of loss in "Even Sleeping," being salt and light in "The City," or a poignant question of our willingness to actually give our lives for Christ, as the record ends with "Final."

Children 18:3 is just simply GREAT music… raw and refined, introspective and fun, emotional and spiritual - all at the same time. Say hello to the best surprise you've gotten in years.

- Review date: 2/22/08, written by David Goodman of

Get the new book by Tanner Olson!


JFH Staff's Second Opinion

There's something about sibling trio Children 18:3's punk-flavored rock debut that carries with it an almost abnormal replayability (can I say "replayability?") factor. With honest but seldom straightforward lyrics, the Children sculpt a fast n' furious fourteen-track smorgasbord of alt rock goodies, covering a wide array of sounds from pop punk to rock to even quasi-ska. Even when they slow it down to just a guitar and vocal interlude for the sinfully short "Samantha," it works. Standout tracks include the pro-life anthem, "You Know We're All So Fond Of Dying," "All My Balloons," and... well, pretty much the rest of this thing! - John DiBiase of



Buy This CD Online

. Record Label: Tooth & Nail Records
. Album length: 14 tracks: 37 minutes, 15 seconds
. Street Date: February 26, 2008
. Buy It:

  1. All My Balloons
  2. LCM
  3. You Know We're All So Fond Of Dying
  4. Search Warrant
  5. Even Sleeping
  6. Ditches
  7. The City
  8. Homemade Valentine
  9. Samantha
  10. Mock The Music
  11. A Chance To Say Goodbye
  12. Time and Wasted Bullets
  13. Balloons Reprise
  14. Final
spacer Click For Audio Sample   Click For Song Lyrics
Click For Audio Sample   Click For Song Lyrics
Click For Audio Sample   Click For Song Lyrics
Click For Audio Sample   Click For Song Lyrics
Click For Audio Sample   Click For Song Lyrics
Click For Audio Sample   Click For Song Lyrics
Click For Audio Sample   Click For Song Lyrics
Click For Audio Sample   Click For Song Lyrics
Click For Audio Sample   Click For Song Lyrics
Click For Audio Sample   Click For Song Lyrics
Click For Audio Sample   Click For Song Lyrics
Click For Audio Sample   Click For Song Lyrics
Click For Audio Sample   Click For Song Lyrics
Click For Audio Sample   Click For Song Lyrics



go to main Album review page
go to Album review archive


(JFH Sponsor Spot)



Get the new book by Tanner Olson!

Search JFH

This Friday, September 18, 2020
7eventh Time Down Questions - Single [BEC]
A Jesus Church Take Your Throne [BEC Worship]
Austin & Lindsey Adamec Can't Deny It - Single [Integrity]
Apollo LTD Better - Single [Centricity]
Cross Point Music Never Stop Singing - Single [Centricity]
Disciple Love Letter Kill Shot (Deluxe) [Tooth & Nail]
Fit for a King The Path [Solid State]
Austin French Wake Up Sleeper EP [Fair Trade]
Jordan Feliz Wounds - Single [Centricity]
Jason Gray Right On Time - Single [Centricity]
Koryn Hawthorne I AM [Provident]
Hulvey Otherside - Single [Reach]
Kari Jobe First Love (Live) EP [Capitol CMG]
Tasha Layton Into the Sea EP [BEC]
Ashlyn Levoy Something Better - Single [Centricity]
Local Sound Won't Let Go - Single [Running Club/Integrity]
Dr. James Mable Jr. The Journey 2.0 [eOne]
Evvie McKinney Look No Further - Single [Motown Gospel]
Chris Renzema Mercy - Single [Centricity]
REVERE REVERE (Live) [Integrity]
Seventh Day Slumber Unseen: The Lamb - EP [RockFest]
SongLab My Favorite (Live From South Eden) - Single [DREAM]

Next Friday, September 25, 2020
Landry Cantrell Glasshouse [DREAM]
Natalie Grant No Stranger [Curb/Word]
Coby James Infinite - Single [Centricity]
Bryon Juane Promise I'm Not Crazy EP [RMG]
KB His Glory Alone [HGA/Essential Sound]
Tasha Cobbs Leonard Royalty: Live At The Ryman [Motown Gospel]
Jessy Elsa Palma Jehovah - Single [Integrity]
Mr. Talkbox Playlist (independent)
PEABOD Wonderful & Scary - Single [Centricity]
Sarah Reeves Motions - Single [Curb/Word]
Slick Shoes Rotation & Frequency [Tooth & Nail]
WHATUPRG New Hollywood [Reach]

For all release dates, click here!

Listen to the new children's album from The Block Worship!

Listen to the new album from Radio Friendly!