Get the new FREE JFH METAL MP3 compilation -- Vol. 3!
Get the new FREE JFH METAL MP3 compilation -- Vol. 3!

JFH Music Review

Skillet, Dominion: Day of Destiny (Deluxe Edition)

Dominion: Day of Destiny (Deluxe Edition)

Artist Info: Discography
Genre(s): Rock
Album length: 17 tracks: 62 minutes
Street Date: February 17, 2023


Over its long and storied history, Christian hard rock act Skillet has consistently pumped out "deluxe" version of their albums going all the way back through Alien Youth (at least if the bonus track reissue of Collide counts). In recent years, the "Deluxe Edition" tag hasn't been enough; fans have been graced with increasingly grandiose subtitles, such as Beyond, The Aftermath, and now, Day of Destiny.

Set to release on February 17, 2023, Dominion: Day of Destiny adds four original songs and a new re-recording to the lineup. The first new track, "Crossfire," is polished, punchy, and primed for a video game commercial. This contrasts markedly with the more electronic "Psycho in My Head," a single which already made its debut back in December.

Interestingly enough, the band decided to remake "Finish Line," one of the best tracks from their previous album, Victorious. While features on Skillet's albums are indeed rare, the band has added the talent of Adam Gontier (formerly of Three Days Grace) in what amounts to a stripped-down, more guitar-centric rendition. While a solid offering in and of itself, it doesn't stand up to the original and slightly undercuts it.

"Unbreakable Soul" sees a potent placement of Jen Ledger's vocals and carries an ever-so-slight glam rock vibe, while the hard-hitting and aggressive track "The Defiant" closes out Day of Destiny. This last track is reminiscent of the band's work from the early 2000s, and longtime fans are bound to feel right at home.

While these tracks likely won't be incentive enough for all but the most serious Panheads to double dip, listeners who have yet to grab ahold of 2022's Dominion would do well to pick up this new, highly alliterated version.

- Review date: 2/16/23, written by David Craft of

(JFH Sponsor Spot)

Listen to the debut EP from the band Hopeful.!


. Record Label: Atlantic Records
. Album length: 17 tracks: 62 minutes
. Street Date: February 17, 2023
. Buy It: Apple Music
. Buy It: (CD)
. Buy It: Amazon Music (MP3)

  1. Surviving The Game (3:59)
  2. Standing In The Storm (4:18)
  3. Dominion (3:46)
  4. Valley Of Death (4:27)
  5. Beyond Incredible (3:31)
  6. Destiny (4:02)
  7. Refuge (3:28)
  8. Shout Your Freedom (3:26)
  9. Destroyer (3:43)
  10. Forever Or The End (3:32)
  11. Ignite (3:42)
  12. White Horse (3:36)
  13. Crossfire (3:12)
  14. Psycho In My Head (3:17)
  15. Finish Line (feat. Adam Gontier) (3:27)
  16. Unbreakable Soul (3:21)
  17. The Defiant (3:14)



Leave a Comment



go to main Album review page
go to Album review archive


(JFH Sponsor Spot)



Listen to the debut EP from the band Hopeful.!

Search JFH

This Tuesday, April 16, 2024
iNTELLECT Roots [Polished Arrow]

This Thursday, April 18, 2024
Eric Owyoung (Future of Forestry) Gold Ribbons - Single (independent)

This Friday, April 19, 2024
Apollo LTD Hello Human [Centricity]
Consumed by Fire First Things First Commentary Album [Red Street]
Darin and Brooke Aldridge Talk of The Town [Billy Blue]
Godspeed Religious Death (Remastered) [Charon Collective]
Joseph Habedank autobiography [Daywind]
Koryn Hawthorne ON GOD (Deluxe) [Provident]
Pastor Mike Jr. I Got Away - EP [Rock City]
Sanctus Real All Along [Framework / The Fuel]
Treasure Seeker A Tribute to the Past (Reissue) [Ulterium]
Vineyard Worship Christ In All Things - EP [Integrity]
Phil Wickham I Believe (Hometown Version) [Fair Trade]
Anne Wilson REBEL [Capitol CMG]

The Lore Family God Said You're Gonna Make It - Single [Horizon]
Mark Tedder Wake Us Up (church falls asleep) - Single [7Core]

Next Friday, April 26, 2024
Mack Brock Time and Time Again - EP [Centricity]
Aaron Cole Sorry, I Changed [RCA Inspiration]
Alex Henry Foster Kimoyo [Hopeful Tragedy]
Gileah Taylor Slow Parade [Velvet Blue]
Various Artists Unsung Hero: The Inspired By Soundtrack (Digital/CD) [Girder]

Nate Parrish I'm Alright - Single [Fair Vaux]
Unspoken What He Says About You - Single [Centricity]

Various Artists Unsung Hero: The Inspired By Soundtrack [Girder]

For all release dates, click here!

Listen to the new album from Hope Beyond Suffering!

Listen to the new Album From Tim Juillet!

Check out depositphotos for royalty free images