Listen to the album Birth of a King by Tommee Profitt!
Listen to the album Birth of a King by Tommee Profitt!

JFH Staff Review

First Watch

Artist Info: Discography
Album length: 12 tracks
Street Date: 1989

    Reader Review #1

First Watch was Guardian's debut produced by Stryper guitarist Oz Fox on the late great Enigma Records. The line up was comprised of David Bach on bass guitar, Tony Palacios on guitar, Rikk Hart on drums, and Paul Crowley on guitar and lead vocals. The band by this time, had long abandoned the 'armor' that had made them a favorite on the Sunset Strip back in the early to mid 1980s. The production is tight and the songwriting/playing is superb. Hot tracks include the opener "I'll Never Leave You," "Mystery Man," "Good Life," and the heartfelt "The Miracle." Not long after its release, the band experienced the loss of drummer Hart and co-founder Crowley which led Bach and Palacios to recruit drummer Karl Ney and former Indiana based Tempest vocalist Jamie Rowe.

JFH Reader Review: Review date: 10/28/05, written by Will Gragido for

Listen to the new project from Elohin!

    Reader Review #2

There have been so many changes and sounds as well as even singers as this group has progressed. In all fairness though, this had to have been one of, if not their best release. Neoclassical rock combined with metal made air guitar so heavenly. This is my favorite album that this group has ever made. From the start to the finish, First Watch intrigues the listener. In my opinion, this group should have been up there with Stryper. If you like air guitar with great hooks, melodies, and a tight sound, I highly recommend this album.

JFH Reader Review: Review date: 11/18/05, written by Larry Mitchell for

Listen to the new project from Elohin!


. Artist Info: Discography
. Record Label: Enigma Records
. Album length: 12 tracks
. Street Date: 1989
. Buy It:

  1. I'll Never Leave You
  2. Mystery Man
  3. Livin' For The Promise
  4. Miracle
  5. Saints Battalion
  6. Kingdom of Rock
  7. The Good Life
  8. One of a Kind
  9. World Without Love
  10. Rock in Victory
  11. Hyperdrive*
  12. Marching On*



go to main Album review page
go to Album review archive


(JFH Sponsor Spot)



Listen to the new project from Elohin!

Search JFH

This Tuesday, December 1, 2020
Jon Foreman Love - EP [Lowercase People]

This Wednesday, December 2, 2020
Andy Mineo Happy Thoughts EP [Reach]

This Friday, December 4, 2020
The Neon Ambience A Neon Christmas [7Core Music]

Next Thursday, December 10, 2020
Neal Morse Jesus Christ The Exorcist (Live At Morsefest 2018) [Frontiers]

Next Friday, December 11, 2020
Lauren Daigle Look Up Child (Limited Edition Vinyl) [Centricity]
Patrick Mayberry Breakthrough Miracle Power - Single [Centricity]
Vashawn Mitchell Home For Christmas (Digital EP) [Tyscot/Fair Trade]

For all release dates, click here!

Pre-order the new album from Dre Trinity!

Listen to the new album from Robby John!