Listen to the new album from Sara Groves!
Listen to the new album from Sara Groves!

JFH Staff Review

Stavesacre, Friction


Artist Info: Discography
Album length: 10 tracks: 48 minutes, 41 seconds
Street Date: 1996

Stavesacre's debut album, Friction, is an admirable first kick at the cat for fans of melodic hard rock. Although there is not much to be said for the harmonizing of backing vocals, Mark Salomon can certainly carry things. And although his voice is high - not in the melodic hair-spray 80's vein - most people will be fine with it. You can tell the boys have a hardcore background but there is not as much to scream about here. Mark is surely passionate and the lyrics drip of heartfelt difficulty. They explore the frustrations of life and other spiritual themes. Dirk Lemmes plunks the bass like no other and Jeremy Moffett is amazing behind the kit. The guitar, provided by by former Crucified bassist Jeff Belew, is good here but their initial guitarist didn't stick around long enough.

"Threshold" continues to be a classic and fan-fave. There are also a couple of mellow offerings, "At the Moment" and "Anna Thema," that are sure to be a blessing as well. This is a thinking-man's band that dives into mature themes with vigor. "At the Moment" got me through many a discouraging day when monotony seemed overwhelming and meaning irrelevant.

JFH Reader Review: Review date: 1/28/10, written by Derek Lehman for


. Record Label: Tooth and Nail Records
. Album length: 10 tracks: 48 minutes, 41 seconds
. Street Date: 1996
. Buy It:

  1. Threshold (5:03)
  2. Loader (3:44)
  3. At The Moment (5:52)
  4. Suffocate Me (4:33)
  5. Minus (4:34)
  6. Devil (3:25)
  7. Tranewreck (1:35)
  8. Burning Clean (6:29)
  9. Anna Thema (3:46)
  10. Stars And Clouds (9:40)



go to main Album review page
go to Album review archive


(JFH Sponsor Spot)



Listen to the new album from Mark Bishop!

Search JFH

This Friday, December 6
Balsam Range The Gospel Collection [Crossroads]
Jordan Feliz Faith (feat. Evan Craft) - Single [Centricity]
Hillsong Worship Awake (Vinyl) [Hillsong/Capitol]
Coby James Coby James - EP [Centricity]
Nashville Life Music Gloria (Single) [Integrity Music]
Northlander Forces of Light [Facedown Records]
Passion There's Nothing That Our God Can't Do - Single [Capitol]
Sovereign Grace Music The Glorious Christ (Live) [Integrity Music]
Stillman Whisper EP [Integrity Music]

Next Friday, December 13
Bloodgood Trenches of Rock - The Documentary Film Soundtrack [Meis Music Group]
Nothing Left Disconnected [Facedown]
Reba Rambo Lady (1976 - Remastered Digital Debut) [Sony/Provident]

For all release dates, click here!

Listen to the new album from Audra Oakley!

Listen to the new Christmas album from Phil Wickham!