Listen to the new album from Ian Yates!
Listen to the new album from Elevation Worship!

JFH Staff Review

Nothing Brings Indemnity
If I Die Sleeping

Album length: 9 tracks: 30 minutes, 35 seconds
Street Date: 2002

Joe Folmar is Nothing Brings Indemnity, which is an acoustic emo act. I know what you're thinking, "Dashboard Confessional," right? Well, close, but no cigar. If I Die Sleeping is his debut LP which is also the first for the amazingly up and coming Refining The Dynamic Records.

Who really wants to feel sad all the time while listening to music? Nothing Brings Indemnity (NBI) doesn't seem to want to. Where Dashboard Confessional lacks a sense of earnest lighting at the end of a tunnel, NBI puts the fire back into the dark passageway. Folmar's voice resembles lead singer of Saves The Day, Chris Conley while the music seems of their acoustic EP I'm Sorry I'm Leaving. Lyrically though, you will find something more depth filled invocating a thinking capability.

With acoustic rock being the new fad, Nothing Brings Indemnity adds a pinch of innovation. "When The Fish Forgive Us" speaks of Folmar yearning to be a fish while "The Everlasting G Chord" is just that, an everlasting G chord where the rhythm takes a step ahead of the riff.

In a time of Jon Mayer, Josh Groban, Ben Harper, and Jack Johnson; Nothing Brings Indemnity will be a delightful addition to the four-man roster. If you like acoustic rock, you will like this album, believe it.

- Review date: 6/19/02, written by Blake Garris


. Record Label: Refining The Dynamic Records
. Album length: 9 Tracks, 30 Minutes and 35 Seconds
. Street Date: 2002

  1. Kentucky Lightning
  2. At Night In Niagara
  3. Awful Cold Today
  4. I Thee Wed
  5. Success Stories
  6. Something About Berlin
  7. '00 Blemish
  8. When The Fish Forgive Us
  9. The Everlasting G Chord



go to main Album review page
go to Album review archive


World Premiere Video
(JFH Sponsor Spot)



Listen to the new album from Elevation Worship!

Search JFH

Music Out This Week

This Thursday, April 18
Local Sound The Free World, Vol. 1 - EP [Integrity]

This Friday, April 19
29:11 Worship Roses - Single [DREAM]
Apollo LTD On The Way Up 2.0 - Single [Centricity]
Amanda Lindsey Cook Still - Single [Bethel]
Tori Harper Revival - Single [The Fuel]
Influencers Father's Love - Single (independent)
Leigh Nash Kiss Me (20th Anniversary Edition) / God Gave Me Horses - Single (independent)
Dave Pettigrew Faith & Gasoline (independent)
Bryan Popin All Back - Single [United Alliance]
Trinity Anthem of Love - Single [The Fuel]
JJ Weeks Choices - Single [Radiate]
Phil Wickham & Chris Quilala You Cannot Be Stopped - Single [Sparrow]

Next Friday, April 26
Jared Anderson Keep Your Eyes on Jesus - Single (independent)
For All Seasons Just For Today - Single [Centricity]
Jason Gray I'm Gonna Let It Go - Single [Centricity]
Hillsong UNITED People [Hillsong]
Mallary Hope Out of My Hands [Word/Curb]
Sarah Kroger Bloom [Integrity]
Starflyer 59 Young In My Head [Tooth & Nail]

For all release dates, click here!

New Music Reviews

Listen to the new album from Illijam!

New Indie Reviews

New Movie Reviews

Free MP3 Downloads