Listen to the new album by Life UNLTD!
Listen to the new album by Life UNLTD!

JFH Staff Review

Jonathan Thulin, Science Fiction

Jonathan Thulin
Science Fiction

Artist Info: Discography
Genre(s): Pop
Album length: 12 tracks: 41 minutes, 9 seconds
Street Date: March 17, 2015


Rather than further exploring the theatrical stylings of The White Room, Jonathan Thulin opted for a more energetic and accessible approach with Science Fiction. Loaded with creative synthesizers, catchy beats, and impressive vocal prowess, Science Fiction is brimming with modern pop goodness. Lyrically, each song is based on a single prominent metaphor (often deriving from folklore and fantasy) creating a subtle thematic cohesion. To make things even more interesting, Thulin brings on seven guest vocalists--most of which enhance the character of the album.

"Time Traveler" sets the lively tone for the album with its dance-oriented beat and addictive chorus. This lighthearted tune presents a gospel message cloaked in a sci-fi metaphor: "You wipe the past just like I'm a time traveler." Cranking up the bass, "Jekyll and Hyde" boasts a reverb heavy kick drum and a dynamic mixture of strings and synthesizers. Though it covers the serious topic of hypocrisy, it comes across more entertaining than convicting. Skipping ahead, "Hat Trick" stands out in the middle of the pack with its sharp Egyptian-styled synthesizers and slick rap from Derek Minor. Thulin dazzles and deceives us as a magician in this satirical piece about pretending to be someone you are not. One thing to note here is the phrase "hat trick" is used way too many times (36 to be exact). The vulnerable "Six Feet Under" offers hope for those who are trapped beneath the weight of addiction. The electronic background and steady drums are eloquently accented with strings for this lightly theatrical tune.

Two of the strongest tracks, "Mockingbird" and "The Ruins," are found towards the end of the album. Fans of The White Room will find "Mockingbird" particularly outstanding with its theatrical musical environment and stellar vocal performances by Thulin, Kevin Max and Shine Bright Baby's Emily Fertig. The album's sole balled, "The Ruins," is a beautiful duet between Thulin and Moriah Peters over a slow piano. Gracefully penned by Thulin and Charmaine, this song is based on Matthew 7:24-27 where Jesus tells the parable of the man who built his house on the rock. Closing track "The Theory" is a black sheep with its random AC sound and lack of a distinct metaphor. It's a decent song on its own, but in the context of this project, it ends a superb album on an uneven note.

Jonathan Thulin has been emerging as one of Christian pop's most promising artists, and it's easy to see why. His music bleeds innovation, his vocal range is amazing, and his songwriting is solid. Not everyone will love the shift away from Thulin's "epic pop" sound, but nonetheless, Science Fiction is a worthy follow up to The White Room. With no skippable songs and a handful of standouts, Science Fiction is a fun and well-rounded album.

- Preview Review date: 2/20/15, Review date: 3/6/15, written by Christopher Smith of

Listen to the new album from Jack Izaak!


JFH Staff's Second Opinion

After a steady build-up to his first major release with 2012's The White Room, Jonathan Thulin offers up his fifth full-length album. While his previous venture was more focused on a soulful form of worship, Thulin deviates from this on Science Fiction. A much larger palette of guest artists enter the fold this time around, including Kevin Max, Derek Minor, and Rapture Ruckus.

The general vibe of Science Fiction is somewhat disjointed, with no particular genre coming forth. For example, the album's lead single, "Compass," (probably the best track on the album) feels heavily influenced by Maroon 5, whilst the title track seems to take its cues from Jason Mraz. "Hat Trick" is also a fun song to crank up the volume on. "Mockingbird" is a beautiful and alluring piece, and one of Science Fiction's few tracks worthy of defining Thulin's career. "The Ruins" is the one song on the album reminiscent of his previous works, and it is very much needed by the time the album proceeds to wrap up.

Unfortunately, the lyrical prowess Thulin previously wielded on The White Room has considerably abated. Musically, Science Fiction is a strong project, but the sincerity that once permeated Thulin's music seems to be missing. Nothing here is particularly exceptional or original. Overall, Science Fiction is a good album, but I had hoped for a more cohesive and thought-out project. - Review date: 2/25/15, David Craft


. Record Label: DREAM Records
. Album length: 12 tracks: 41 minutes, 9 seconds
. Street Date: March 17, 2015
. Buy It:

  1. Prelude (1:04)
  2. Time Traveler (3:22)
  3. Jekyll And Hyde feat. Rapture Ruckus (3:06)
  4. Compass feat. Manwell Reyes (3:44)
  5. Science Fiction (3:16)
  6. Hat Trick feat. Derek Minor (3:23)
  7. Cry Wolf (3:40)
  8. Fountain feat. Tauren Wells (3:43)
  9. 6 Feet Under (4:00)
  10. Mockingbird feat. Kevin Max & Shine Bright Baby (3:56)
  11. The Ruins feat. Moriah Peters (4:03)
  12. The Theory (3:58)
spacer Click For Audio Sample   Click For Song Lyrics
Click For Audio Sample   Click For Song Lyrics
Click For Audio Sample   Click For Song Lyrics
Click For Audio Sample   Click For Song Lyrics
Click For Audio Sample   Click For Song Lyrics
Click For Audio Sample   Click For Song Lyrics
Click For Audio Sample   Click For Song Lyrics
Click For Audio Sample   Click For Song Lyrics
Click For Audio Sample   Click For Song Lyrics
Click For Audio Sample   Click For Song Lyrics
Click For Audio Sample   Click For Song Lyrics
Click For Audio Sample   Click For Song Lyrics


Leave a Comment

comments powered by Disqus



go to main Album review page
go to Album review archive


(JFH Sponsor Spot)



Listen to the new album from Jack Izaak!

Search JFH

This Thursday, August 13, 2020
Various Artists Songs We've Been Trying to Tell You About (And Others We Haven't), Volume 9 [JFH Music]

This Friday, August 14, 2020
Dave Barnes Dreaming in Electric Blue Reimagined (independent)
Bride Drop (25th Anniversary Edition) [Girder Records]
Tori Kelly Solitude EP [Capitol]
Life.Church Worship Jesus Is Near EP [DREAM Worship]
Tyson Mostenbocker Someday I'll Make It All Up To You: Summer Songs (Acoustic) EP [Tooth & Nail]
PEABOD Heavenly Father - Single [Centricity]
Kim Walker-Smith Wild Heart (Live) [Sparrow/Jesus Culture]

Next Friday, August 21, 2020
Hope Darst Peace Be Still [Fair Trade Services]
idle threat Nothing Is Broken For Good EP [Tooth & Nail]
Lecrae Restoration [Reach]

For all release dates, click here!

Listen to the new album from I.AM!

Listen to the new album from The Grace Collective!