Listen to the Album Angel In A Haunted House by Will Keizer!
Listen to the Album Angel In A Haunted House by Will Keizer!

JFH Music Review

August Burns Red, Leveler (Deluxe Edition)

August Burns Red
Leveler (Deluxe Edition)

Artist Info: Discography
Album length: 16 tracks: 67 minutes, 24 seconds
Street Date: June 21, 2011

August Burns Red is a five-piece metalcore group from Lancaster, PA. Consisting of Brent Rambler on rhythm guitar, JB Brubaker on lead guitar, Matt Greiner on Drums, Dustin Davidson on bass, and Jake Lhurs on vocals, this band has been a huge presence in the metalcore scene since 2005, when they released their first official album, Thrill Seeker. With Leveler as their third studio release, they are a very, very successful and influential band. Seeing as there is already a review for the non-deluxe edition of the album, I will only be reviewing the bonus tracks here.

My favorite bonus track is "Empire (Midi)." Harkening back to the days of 8-bit games, this is a fun listen, and sounds a lot like something you would perhaps hear on a game like Super Mario Bros. It's cool to hear one of the heavier tracks on the album at stage one and in this more stripped-down version. It's a great and interesting listen for sure, though repeated listens can leave it sounding a little childish. "Internal Cannon" may be one of the most experimental songs the band has ever done, in that there is a full-on flamenco styled breakdown. The acoustic version is also very cool, turning the whole song into flamenco. It flows very well and does line up with the original, though the original is probably better. It's a good listen for those who like the more technical moments of ABR broken down into acoustic format and without screamed vocals. Now, for the next track, we have to review a bit of ABR history. You may not know this, but ABR has actually had three vocalists. In 2004, the band released an EP titled Looks Fragile After All. Jon Hershey did vocals for that EP, and it was the only released work he did with the group. However, he formed the experimental rock group Bells, and they did a cover of "Pangea." They took one of ABR's faster songs, and converted it to a cool, calm, instrumental alternative piece. It may even be better than the original. Finally, "Boys of Fall (Performed by Zachary Veilluex" is a piano take on the original song from the album. I'm not really a piano person, but it's still fast and impressive.

There aren't really many pros and cons, but I'll go on anyway. Pros are the experimentation in the bonus tracks. A lot of metalcore groups just release acoustic versions or live versions of songs as bonus tracks, but don't really go much further. I like how ABR didn't just do acoustic versions. Also, the 8-bit take on "Empire" is something I hadn't heard before, and it's original. Cons would be that it would've been cool if the screamed vocals could have been converted to Midi, and if you were hoping for vocals on Bells' cover of "Pangea," you may be a little let down. Now, the question is, would I repurchase the entire album for the deluxe tracks? I would say yes, because without the deluxe songs, this is my second favorite August Burns Red record; I would highly recommend it.

JFH Reader Review: Review date: 6/27/14, written by Benjamin Harold Blanks for

Listen to the new single by Jeremy Lopez!


. Record Label: Solid State Records
. Album length: 16 tracks: 67 minutes, 24 seconds
. Street Date: June 21, 2011
. Buy It: AmazonMP3
. Buy It:

  1. Empire (3:49)
  2. Internal Cannon (3:45)
  3. Divisions (3:21)
  4. Cutting the Ties (5:03)
  5. Pangaea (4:20)
  6. Carpe Diem (5:36)
  7. 40 Nights (3:54)
  8. Salt and Light (3:39)
  9. Poor Millionaire (4:29)
  10. 1-16-2011 (0:52)
  11. Boys of Fall (4:28)
  12. Leveler (4:44)
  13. Internal Cannon (Acoustic) (5:05)
  14. Pangea (Performed by Bells) (6:22)
  15. Boys of Fall (Performed by Zachery Veilleux) (4:01)
  16. Empire (Midi) (3:50)

Leave a Comment



go to main Album review page
go to Album review archive


(JFH Sponsor Spot)



Listen to the new single by Jeremy Lopez!

Search JFH

This Friday, September 24, 2021
Bethel Music Homecoming (Live) [Bethel]
Mark Bishop Some Distant Mountain [Crossroads]
Blest Testimonio - EP [Integrity]
Marica Chisholm Higher - Single [DS2 Music Group]
Stephen Christian King of Impossible - Single [BEC]
Citizens The Joy Of Being Together [Integrity]
Riley Clemmons For The Good - Single [Capitol CMG]
for KING & COUNTRY For God Is With Us - Single [Curb/Word]
Kirk Franklin Lean on Me (Worldwide Mix) [feat. The Compassion Youth Choir] - Single [RCA]
Jonathan McReynolds & Mali Music Jonny x Mali: Live in LA (Stereo) - EP [Life Room Label]
Leigh Nash The Tide, Vol. 1 - EP [Visionary]
Kevin Quinn Fuego En Mi Interior - Single [Capitol CMG]
Brian Reith Now Is Not Forever "Reimagined" EP (independent)
River Valley AGES Honest - Single [BEC]
Selah One Name - Single [Integrity]
Jordan Smith Be Still & Know EP [Reunion/Provident]
Switch Better View, Part I - EP [Essential Worship]
Thrive Worship Let's Have Church EP [Integrity]
Chris Tomlin Emmanuel: Christmas Songs Of Worship [Capitol CMG]
Village Lights Promised Land - Single [Integrity]

Next Wednesday, September 29, 2021
Smalltown Poets NWxSE [Friendly City]

Next Friday, October 1, 2021
Caroline Cobb A King & His Kindness [Integrity]
Jon Foreman Roll Tape: Live From Melody League Studios (independent)
Gaither Vocal Band All Heaven & Nature Sing [Gaither]
Brandon Heath Human Nature (Acoustic Version) - Single [Centricity]
Mat Kearney January Flower (Deluxe Edition) [Tomorrow]
MŌRIAH Trust - Single [Cathedral]
Newsboys Stand [Capitol CMG]
Relent Heavy [Rockfest]
Anne Wilson My Jesus (Live from Nashville) EP (CD) [Capitol CMG]

For all release dates, click here!

Listen to the new single by Katie Lighty!

Listen to the new album from KAINA!