Watch The New Video From Rusty Shipp!
Watch The New Video From Rusty Shipp!

JFH Staff Review

Pocket Full Of Rocks, More Than Noise

Pocket Full Of Rocks
More Than Noise

Artist Info: Discography
Album length: 11 tracks: 45 minutes, 35 seconds
Street Date: March 2, 2010

Pocket Full Of Rocks has been in the worship circuit for over 16 years, and with two albums to their name, they have indeed gained a sizeable fanbase. However, while their first two records, Song To The King and Manifesto, were not particularly influential in their genre, their third record, More Than Noise, attempts to make a bigger worship statement than their first two. Ultimately, it succeeds, but sadly, this doesn't say very much.

Honestly, there's not much to say about this album that can't be said about other praise and worship albums of this caliber. More Than Noise is in reality another worship album in the sea, and there's not very much that sets itself apart from the others. This is a real problem that has plagued the quintet's music since their debut; More Than Noise's "harmlessness" is its main downfall, and there's nothing here to attract anyone other than the average worship fan. All the messages these tracks carry are inarguable, but their compositions don't bring anything new to the table. Producer Ed Cash, most famous for his work with the likes of Chris Tomlin, Matt Maher and Leeland, was at the helm for the recording of this record, and it shows; the unoriginality of Tomlin and Maher and the blandness of Leeland's third record are all echoed here, leaving More Than Noise lacking on pretty much every level.

More Than Noise isn't without some variety, however. A banjo-infused country sound is incorporated on "Jesus Died My Soul To Save," while a Starfield-esque vibe is found on "Let Our God Be Praised." The piano-driven "A Worshipper's Prayer" is a poignant offering, and it's probably one of the more accomplished recordings present here. "Alive" in all fairness is a pretty successful opening track, too, given the resulting record that follows it. But despite all these potential standouts, however, it fails to save the record from really striking a chord. There are too many other artists comparable to PFOR's style, and this prevents this record from really getting off the ground.

With two and a half years in the making, one would have hoped that Pocket Full Of Rocks would have found a better musical philosophy on which to build upon for their third outing, but indeed, this is a world different than Song To The King. Undoubtedly, PFOR followers will like this record just as much their first two (if not more), and it is indeed a better product altogether than their previous work; however, their personal best still fails to make a noticeable or groundbreaking mark on the praise and worship music scene. More Than Noise is certainly no misnomer for the album, but I still do wish it was more than it was.

- Review date: 2/28/10, written by Roger Gelwicks of


. Record Label: Myrrh Records
. Album length: 11 tracks: 45 minutes, 35 seconds
. Street Date: March 2, 2010
. Buy It: iTunes
. Buy It:

  1. Alive (3:16)
  2. Strong (3:42)
  3. Come As You Are (3:24)
  4. Ever Close To You (3:44)
  5. Jesus Died My Soul To Save (4:15)
  6. Let Our God Be Praised (4:19)
  7. Wonderful (4:02)
  8. Let It Rain (5:29)
  9. Your Love For Me (4:30)
  10. When Love Whispers Your Name (4:26)
  11. A Worshipper's Prayer (4:33)



go to main Album review page
go to Album review archive


(JFH Sponsor Spot)



Music News Headlines

Listen to the new album from Trevor Kleinmeyer!

Search JFH

Music Out This Week

This Friday, July 19
Josh Baldwin Let the Redeemed - Single [Bethel]
Disciple Cuff the Criminal - Single [Tooth & Nail]
Jordan Feliz "Faith" Radio Version - Single [Centricity Music]
Foldinglights Subterranean Hum [7Core Music]
Gaither Vocal Band Good Things Take Time [Capitol/Gaither]
Caitie Hurst "How Could I Be Silent" Rogue Sailes Remix [Centricity Music]
Local Sound Sunday School EP [Integrity Music]
Manafest This Is Not The End - Single (independent)
Reflect Love Back (ft. Lacey Sturm) Soundtrack, Vol. 1 Digital Release (independent)
John Van Deusen (I Am) Origami Pt. 3 - A Catacomb Hymn [Tooth & Nail]

Next Friday, July 26
For All Seasons Questions - Single [Centricity]
Mac Powell & The Family Reunion Back Again [Thirty Tigers]
NF The Search [Capitol]
PEABOD Backpack - Single [Centricity Music]
Wolves at the Gate Eclipse [Solid State]

For all release dates, click here!

New Music Reviews

Listen to the new album from Matthew Ryan!

New Indie Reviews

New Movie Reviews

Free MP3 Downloads