Listen to the new album from Elevation Worship!
Listen to the new album from Elevation Worship!

JFH Staff Review

New Surrender USB EP

Artist Info: Discography
Album length: 4 tracks: 14 minutes
Street Date: Summer, 2008

As anticipation builds for Anberlin's upcoming release, the guys came up with an interesting way to slake listener's thirst. They offered an EP of sorts, which includes three remixes and an acoustic version of a new track. It comes not in the form of a CD, but a USB card. It is being offered at their site store for $15, which includes a digital version of New Surrender when it is released. Format originality aside, Anberlin has produced an interesting project deserving a few listens.

The EP opens with the beautiful acoustic "Breaking," which raises hopes for their new album. Well-crafted lyrics compliment Stephen Christian's ever-improving voice. "Hello Alone" gets a more relaxed sound, which fares about as good as the original. "The Unwinding Cable Car" gets the most appealing remake, with the chorus now sporting a dance beat. Some might think this ruins a beautiful song, but I think it's an interesting rendition. The EP closes with a remix of "Feel Good Drag," which will also be on New Surrender. This remix drastically changes the song from a ferocious, tearing rock song to a muted, slow techno-sprinkled track. It's interesting, but not nearly as good as the original.

The EP is neither a flop or triumph, but comes closer to the latter. Fans of Anberlin's harder side might want to steer clear of this, but those with a taste for some slower techno (and a preview of a new song) might enjoy this EP.

JFH Reader Review: Review date: 8/25/08, written by Taylor McBurney for


. Record Label: Universal Republic
. Album length: 4 tracks: 14 minutes
. Street Date: Summer, 2008
. Buy It: Store

  1. Breaking (Acoustic)
  2. Hello Alone (Remix)
  3. The Unwinding Cable Car (Remix)
  4. Feel Good Drag (Remix)



go to main Album review page
go to Album review archive


(JFH Sponsor Spot)



Listen to the new album from Disciple!

Search JFH

Music Out This Week

This Tuesday, September 17
Northlander Oculus - Single [Rat Family]

This Friday, September 20
Jeremy Camp The Story's Not Over [Sparrow/Capitol]
Life.Church Worship God So Good [DREAM]
William McDowell The Cry: A Live Worship Experience [Integrity]
North Point Inside Out Wide Open EP [Centricity]
Social Club Misfits DOOM - EP [Capitol]

Next Wednesday, September 25
Smalltown Poets Try - Single [Friendly City]

Next Friday, September 27
Apollo LTD DNA (Acoustic) - Single [Centricity]
Dillon Chase Paradise - Single [DREAM/One Moment]
TobyMac The St. Nemele Collab Sessions (CD Debut) [Forefront/Capitol]
TobyMac Light of Christmas (2017) (CD Debut) [Forefront/Capitol]

For all release dates, click here!

New Music Reviews

Listen to the new album from Nathan Drake!

New Indie Reviews

New Movie Reviews

Free MP3 Downloads

Listen to the new album from Wilder Adkins!