Listen to the new album by Elias Dummer!
Listen to the new album from Elias Dummer!

JFH Staff Review

The Very Best Of Jump5

Artist Info: Discography
Album length: 12 tracks: 40 minutes, 20 seconds
Street Date: March 15, 2005

Ok, let me be honest with you - I asked for this review. When I found out that The Very Best of Jump5 was up for grabs, I jumped (pun thoughtfully inserted) at the chance to review it. Why? Because when it comes to danceable, kid-targeted pop, nobody does it like this spunky (now-) foursome. In a relatively short five years, Jump5 have put out four studio albums, one Christmas album, a series of karaoke compilations, as well as other singles and Disney soundtrack contributions. Despite losing one member in the process, this prolific pop group has put together a greatest hits package that compiles some of their catchiest songs (as well as three brand-new ones) onto one fan-friendly disc.

As far as greatest hits collections go, The Very Best of Jump5 is fairly short. With twelve tracks condensed into a tidy forty minutes, Jump5 keep things short and sweet. Although it would be nice to see a couple more songs on there ("Why Do I Do" would have been a nice addition) the disc's brevity actually works to its favor, since eighty minutes of Jump5 would have stretched the hits too thinly. As it stands, the hits that did make the CD showcase Jump5 at their very best. These teens specialize in catchy, upbeat music that you can move to and, more importantly, these songs are filled with simple, uplifting messages that anybody, young and old, can latch onto.

The disc appropriately opens with "Spinnin' Around," Jump5's first hit from 2001. Still as catchy as it was four years ago, this song has also aged remarkably well, considering that the group has matured musically since their debut. Thankfully, Jump5 haven't yet abandoned their dance-pop roots and the group extends the head-bopping party vibe with songs like "Throw Your Hands Up," "Do Ya," and "Dance With Me." The new songs (the pop-rock sounding "Don't Run Away" and the chorus-driven "Beautiful To Me") fit right in with the established hits. These new offerings are the undeniable highlights of the album, featuring a more mature, guitar-driven sound that doesn't sacrifice the catchiness of their earlier hits.

The only drawback to The Very Best of Jump5 is the perplexing amount of cover material on the album. Including five covers on a greatest hits package is not a very good move, since it deprives the listener of more deserving Jump5 originals. Though the new recording of the Michael W. Smith classic "Friends" sounds pretty good (and is thankfully restrained), the rest of the covers just don't have that Jump5 flavor that makes the originals so exciting. "Beauty and the Beast" is a disappointingly light take on the Disney classic, while "God Bless America" and "We Are Family" are pretty tame and pale in comparison to the other tracks.

Despite this, The Very Best of Jump5 is still a worthwhile collection for any Jump5 fan. It's a great introduction to the group and the three brand-new songs make it a must-have even for long-time fans. This teenage hit machine just keeps on rolling and I for one am excited to see where they go next.

- Review date: 5/26/05, written by Sherwin Frias

Get the new book by Tanner Olson!



Buy This CD Online

. Record Label: Sparrow Records
. Album length: 12 tracks, 40 minutes and 20 seconds
. Street Date: March 15, 2005
. Buy It:

  1. Spinnin' Around
  2. Throw Your Hands Up
  3. Don't Run Away
  4. Beauty And The Beast
  5. Beautiful To Me
  6. All I Can Do
  7. God Bless The USA
  8. Do Ya
  9. We Are Family
  10. Dance With Me
  11. It's A Beautiful World
  12. Friends
spacer Click For Audio Sample   Click For Song Lyrics
Click For Audio Sample   Click For Song Lyrics
Click For Audio Sample   Click For Song Lyrics
Click For Audio Sample   Click For Song Lyrics
Click For Audio Sample   Click For Song Lyrics
Click For Audio Sample   Click For Song Lyrics
Click For Audio Sample   Click For Song Lyrics
Click For Audio Sample   Click For Song Lyrics
Click For Audio Sample   Click For Song Lyrics
Click For Audio Sample   Click For Song Lyrics
Click For Audio Sample   Click For Song Lyrics
Click For Audio Sample   Click For Song Lyrics



go to main Album review page
go to Album review archive


(JFH Sponsor Spot)



Get the new book by Tanner Olson!

Search JFH

This Friday, September 18, 2020
7eventh Time Down Questions - Single [BEC]
A Jesus Church Take Your Throne [BEC Worship]
Austin & Lindsey Adamec Can't Deny It - Single [Integrity]
Apollo LTD Better - Single [Centricity]
Cross Point Music Never Stop Singing - Single [Centricity]
Disciple Love Letter Kill Shot (Deluxe) [Tooth & Nail]
Fit for a King The Path [Solid State]
Austin French Wake Up Sleeper EP [Fair Trade]
Jordan Feliz Wounds - Single [Centricity]
Jason Gray Right On Time - Single [Centricity]
Koryn Hawthorne I AM [Provident]
Hulvey Otherside - Single [Reach]
Kari Jobe First Love (Live) EP [Capitol CMG]
Tasha Layton Into the Sea EP [BEC]
Ashlyn Levoy Something Better - Single [Centricity]
Local Sound Won't Let Go - Single [Running Club/Integrity]
Dr. James Mable Jr. The Journey 2.0 [eOne]
Evvie McKinney Look No Further - Single [Motown Gospel]
Chris Renzema Mercy - Single [Centricity]
REVERE REVERE (Live) [Integrity]
Seventh Day Slumber Unseen: The Lamb - EP [RockFest]
SongLab My Favorite (Live From South Eden) - Single [DREAM]

Next Friday, September 25, 2020
Landry Cantrell Glasshouse [DREAM]
Natalie Grant No Stranger [Curb/Word]
Coby James Infinite - Single [Centricity]
Bryon Juane Promise I'm Not Crazy EP [RMG]
KB His Glory Alone [HGA/Essential Sound]
Tasha Cobbs Leonard Royalty: Live At The Ryman [Motown Gospel]
Jessy Elsa Palma Jehovah - Single [Integrity]
Mr. Talkbox Playlist (independent)
PEABOD Wonderful & Scary - Single [Centricity]
Sarah Reeves Motions - Single [Curb/Word]
Slick Shoes Rotation & Frequency [Tooth & Nail]
WHATUPRG New Hollywood [Reach]

For all release dates, click here!

Listen to the new children's album from The Block Worship!

Listen to the new album from Radio Friendly!