Watch The New Video From Rusty Shipp!
Watch The New Video From Rusty Shipp!

JFH Staff Review

I The Breather, These Are My Sins

I The Breather
These Are My Sins

Artist Info: Discography
Album length: 11 tracks: 42 minutes, 54 seconds
Street Date: December 7, 2010

I The Breather is a straight-up metalcore band hailing from Baltimore, Maryland. The band is signed to Sumerian Records and released their debut, These Are My Sins, through them. Clearly this band holds a great amount of potential with this release.

The band wastes no time storming out of the gate with "Forgiven," which is a nice start to the album. Guitarists Jered Youngbar and Justin Huffman duel with tight riffs similar to August Burns Red or Oh, Sleeper, as well as plenty of crunchy breakdowns. "The Common Good" showcases the energetic drumming abilities of Morgan Wright, who seems to have no trouble keeping up with the guitars. A minor setback is the lack of variety from vocalist Shawn Spann. He could be a force to be reckoned with if he learns to use high screams and low growls, instead of overusing his midrange scream.

The band should be praised for their bold Christ-centered lyrics. "Forgiven" speaks of our spiritual war and victory in God ("This is a battle fought by the Lord, resurrected from the dead"). The song "Conquer" features vocals from August Burns Red bassist Dustin Davidson, and he screams, "When will we conquer the hate that comes from our teeth?" In "Illuminate," the six-minute closer, Spann directly cries out to Jesus ("Be my Way, my Truth, and my Light").

Despite the minor problem of similar-sounding songs that drag down many metalcore bands today, I The Breather is comprised of five very talented men. While this album is not a breakthrough in the genre, it does its job to make you bang your head. Watch out for this band; they are one of the better young metalcore bands out there.

JFH Reader Review: Review date: 12/4/011, written by Dylan O'Connor for


. Record Label: Sumerian Records
. Album length: 11 tracks: 42 minutes, 54 seconds
. Street Date: December 7, 2010
. Buy It: iTunes
. Buy It: AmazonMP3
. Buy It:

  1. Forgiven (4:12)
  2. The Common Good (3:58)
  3. Destroyer (3:42)
  4. High Rise (3:59)
  5. Longevity (3:23)
  6. Doomsday (3:42)
  7. Conquer (4:23)
  8. Empathy (2:51)
  9. Crown Me King (3:39)
  10. Allspark (2:55)
  11. Illuminate (6:10)


Leave a Comment



go to main Album review page
go to Album review archive


(JFH Sponsor Spot)



Music News Headlines

Listen to the new album from Trevor Kleinmeyer!

Search JFH

Music Out This Week

This Friday, July 19
Josh Baldwin Let the Redeemed - Single [Bethel]
Disciple Cuff the Criminal - Single [Tooth & Nail]
Jordan Feliz "Faith" Radio Version - Single [Centricity Music]
Foldinglights Subterranean Hum [7Core Music]
Gaither Vocal Band Good Things Take Time [Capitol/Gaither]
Caitie Hurst "How Could I Be Silent" Rogue Sailes Remix [Centricity Music]
Local Sound Sunday School EP [Integrity Music]
Manafest This Is Not The End - Single (independent)
Reflect Love Back (ft. Lacey Sturm) Soundtrack, Vol. 1 Digital Release (independent)
John Van Deusen (I Am) Origami Pt. 3 - A Catacomb Hymn [Tooth & Nail]

Next Friday, July 26
For All Seasons Questions - Single [Centricity]
Mac Powell & The Family Reunion Back Again [Thirty Tigers]
NF The Search [Capitol]
PEABOD Backpack - Single [Centricity Music]
Wolves at the Gate Eclipse [Solid State]

For all release dates, click here!

New Music Reviews

Listen to the new album from Matthew Ryan!

New Indie Reviews

New Movie Reviews

Free MP3 Downloads