Listen to the new album from Citizen Way!
Listen to the new album from Citizen Way!

JFH Staff Review


Artist Info: Discography
Album length: 10 tracks: 37 minutes, 1 second
Street Date: March 27, 2001

It's every once in a great while when a band's sophomore effort contains such more-polished, more emotional, deeper material that make your jaw drop. This is the case for the majority of Australian rockers Beanbag's second release, welladjusted. Half of the album serves up a fresh new feel and approach for the group, while the other half caters more to the fans of the 1999 debut effort, free signal.

When I first tossed welladjusted into my player, I was greeted immediately with the strums of an acoustic guitar. But it wasn't long before "Limit of Shunt" picked up with heavier, more delicate electics. Hunz' vocals are deeper, more emotional. It sounds like a completely different band. In a way, it is. Although the members are the same, the band's goal has shifted with this release. Attempting (and often succeeding) to create different music not as easily comparable to other artists as that on free signal, Beanbag ups the emotional level and directs its lyrics more towards the non-Christian listener. "Our intention for this album is to be very personal," the band states, "with an emphasis on communicating to people who are outside of a relationship with Christ, on the so-called 'fringe.'"

Beanbag reminds fans who they are with "Chubb," a groove-laced intro sets the mood for a showcase for Hunz' rap vocals. Although effective, his raps aren't as intriguing as his more melodic, passionate vocals. The song immediately switches gears to a hyper guitar riff that displaces the groove momentarily before returning to it. "Ill Minded" kicks off with a crunchy guitar riff reminiscent that of a Project 86 tune, before blending Hunz' raps and more melodic vocals throughout the song. "Slipstream" and "These Stains" are melodic, passionate tracks that dig deeper than many previous Beanbag songs. Hunz' melodies are at their best, and the guitar lines often venture into a more thoughtful, almost dream-like glide. "Army of Me" is a Bjork cover which is a simple, yet intriguing track which features an unusual and irresistable drum beat with a metallic clang supported by a thumping bass. Beanbag's version greatly surpasses that of Bjork's approach for a much more intense and appealing result.

The remainder of the album contains more traditional-sounding Beanbag tunes, with a slight twist in some spots. "Dynamie Lifter" is a little more complex as it changes directions several times before fading out to close the album. Welladjusted will be the sleeper hit of the spring and if you didn't care for free signal or if you're an avid fan of the Aussies, this album should no be missed. Emotional, personal, and sometimes delicate, Beanbag may just surprise you.

- Review date: 2/11/01, written by John DiBiase



Buy This CD Online

. Record Label: Inpop Records
. Album length: 10 tracks, 37 minutes and 1 second
. Street Date: March 27, 2001
. Buy It:

  1. Limit of Shunt
  2. Chubb
  3. Ill Minded
  4. Slipstream
  5. These Stains
  6. Army of Me
  7. Angst By Numbers
  8. There is More
  9. Resistor
  10. Dynamie Lifter
spacer Click For Audio Sample   Click For Song Lyrics
Click For Audio Sample   Click For Song Lyrics
Click For Audio Sample   Click For Song Lyrics
Click For Audio Sample   Click For Song Lyrics
Click For Audio Sample   Click For Song Lyrics
Click For Audio Sample   Click For Song Lyrics
Click For Audio Sample   Click For Song Lyrics
Click For Audio Sample   Click For Song Lyrics
Click For Audio Sample   Click For Song Lyrics
Click For Audio Sample   Click For Song Lyrics



go to main Album review page
go to Album review archive


(JFH Sponsor Spot)



Pre-Order the new CD from Chase Tremaine!

Search JFH

This Friday, October 18
Anthony Brown and Group TherAPy 2econd Wind [Fair Trade]
The Blamed The Church is Hurting People [IVM]
Citizen Way Love is a Lion [Fair Trade]
Elizabeth Grace Like Myself - Single [DREAM]
Kalley Oasis - Single [Bethel]
Donna King All The Lights [Journey/Vertical Sky]
Tasha Layton Safe Here - Single [BEC]
Nashville Life Music Sing A Song (Part 2) [Feat. Aaron Cole] - Single [Integrity]
Bryan & Katie Torwalt Anticipation EP [Jesus Culture]
We Are Leo Eyes On U (feat. Ryan Ellis) - Single [DREAM]

Next Friday, October 25
Lauren Daigle Rescue (Chill Mix) - Single [Centricity]
Norma Jean All Hail [Solid State]
Kalley Faultlines Vol. 1 - EP [Bethel]
Kalley Faultlines Vol. 2 - EP [Bethel]
MercyMe Almost Home - Single [Fair Trade]
Northwood Worship Who You Are [DREAM Worship]
Chuckie P. Faith, Hope and Love (independent)
Andrew Peterson Behold the Lamb of God: The True Tall Tale of the Coming of Christ (Re-recorded album) [Centricity]
The Porter's Gate Neighbor Songs [Integrity]

For all release dates, click here!

Listen to the new album from J. Douglas Wright!

Listen to the new album from Union Creative!