Download the new free compilation from JFH!
Download the new free compilation from JFH!

JFH Staff Review

Shonlock, Where Never Begins EP

Where Never Begins EP

Artist Info: Discography
Album length: 9 tracks: 22 minutes, 16 seconds
Street Date: November 9, 2010

If you follow Christian pop/hip-hop music at all, chances are you've already heard of Shonlock, although you may not know it. Deshon "Shonlock" Bullock has for many years been a singer and dancer with tobyMac's famous Diverse City Band, and has been a guest on several tobyMac songs, including a version of the hit "Boomin." Last November, Shonlock had the chance to step out on his own as an artist with the release of his debut EP, Where Never Begins.

Where Never Begins is six solid tracks (along with intro/outro tracks and an interlude) ranging stylistically from pure radio pop to high-energy club music to raw rap. The EP's single, "Something In Your Eyes," has already garnered significant airtime on Christian radio, although it gives a somewhat misleading impression of the rest of the album. "Something In Your Eyes" is a relaxed, melodic, pop song driven by a steady electronic beat that would sound right at home on contemporary hit radio. It turns out to be by far the most radio-friendly track on the record, as the rest of Where Never Begins is significantly heavier and geared more towards the club and party scene.

Fortunately, it's excellent music. Shonlock shows himself to be a capable and versatile songwriter and lyricist, and he has top-notch chops when he starts rapping, especially in "Simple Man." Meanwhile, "Bet Yah House" is a frantic track that goes from straight-up hip-hop into a chanting female chorus into some soulful electric guitar. "Set It Off" is begging to be played at a club, while "Monsta" borrows a page from rock music with a chugging hard rock beat and a heavy guitar layer. The latter track even features some screaming. Considering this EP only has six full tracks, Shonlock manages to show some remarkable stylistic diversity, with very few missteps.

Word has it that we may get a full-length release from Shonlock sometime this year. If so, this EP is a very encouraging preview of what he can bring to the table musically. It's also an excellent release by itself, sure to make you tap your feet and get down perhaps just a little bit. If you missed this EP when it released last November, you would do well to pick it up now.

- Review date: 3/19/11, written by Timothy Estabrooks of

Listen to the New EP from Life UNLTD!


. Record Label: Arrow Records
. Album length: 9 tracks: 22 minutes, 16 seconds
. Street Date: November 9, 2010
. Buy It: iTunes

  1. Intro (0:56)
  2. Something In Your Eyes (3:21)
  3. Simple Man (3:05)
  4. Bet Yah House (3:24)
  5. Interlude (0:30)
  6. Q2go (3:25)
  7. Set It Off (3:26)
  8. Monsta (3:38)
  9. Outro (0:36)



go to main Album review page
go to Album review archive


(JFH Sponsor Spot)



Listen to the New EP from Life UNLTD!

Search JFH

This Friday, September 25, 2020
Pat Barrett Heavenly - Single [Bowyer & Bow / Capitol Christian]
Landry Cantrell Close to Me - Single [DREAM]
Canyon Hills Worship You Alone - Single [DREAM]
Casting Crowns Only Jesus (Deluxe) [Provident]
Everything In Slow Motion Choke - Single [Facedown]
Natalie Grant No Stranger [Curb/Word]
The Gray Havens Rest EP [Artist Garden]
Coby James Infinite - Single [Centricity]
Bryon Juane Promise I'm Not Crazy EP [RMG]
KB His Glory Alone [HGA/Essential Sound]
Tasha Cobbs Leonard Royalty: Live At The Ryman [Motown Gospel]
Jessy Elsa Palma Jehovah - Single [Integrity]
Mr. Talkbox Playlist (independent)
PEABOD Wonderful & Scary - Single [Centricity]
Sarah Reeves Motions - Single [Curb/Word]
Keyla Richardson So Good EP [Uncle G/eOne]
Slick Shoes Rotation & Frequency [Tooth & Nail]
WHATUPRG New Hollywood [Reach]
Ayiesha Woods Full Circle EP (independent)

Next Friday, October 2, 2020
Josh Baldwin Evidence [Bethel Music]
Fireflight Who We Are - Single [Rockfest]
Jason Gray Reorder - EP [Centricity]
Kirk Franklin and the Family Christmas Vinyl Re-release [RCAI]
Jaime Jamgochian All Things [New Day]
The Nelons Peace At Last [Daywind]

For all release dates, click here!

Listen to the new album from Jeremy James Whitaker!

Listen to the new album from Radio Friendly!