Listen to the new album from Ian Yates!
Listen to the new album from Elevation Worship!

JFH Staff Review

The Mike Metzger Transit
World's Best Warranty

Album length: 5 Tracks: 15 Minutes, 19 Seconds
Street Date: January, 2002

The Mike Metzger Transit began in 1996 as a side project of the band Heerios. Out of nowhere, the drummer joined the Navy and the bassist quit, leaving Mike and his guitar. Soon after, he joined the group Hubcap Annie headed up by Todd Gilliland of The Gold. Hubcap is no more but The Gold is stronger than ever with Mike being a driving force in the band's success. With The Mike Metzger Transit, World's Best Warranty is their sophomore EP produced by Barry Blair (formerly of Audio Adrenaline) with some help from Mr. Metzger himself.

"Force" gets things going in gritty bass filled fashion while "Flowers Need The Son" has an REM or Presidents of The USA appeal with a monotone vocality leading into some falsetto. "Lately" is a happy, bouncy tune while "Sheep And Goats" adds an interesting spin lyrically ending on "I'm Sorry" in ordinary ballad structure.

The Mike Metzger Transit brings 90's post grunge to the table where I would suggest this EP for fans of the mellow sounds of Live, Collective Soul, and Soul Asylum. With simplistic lyrics that could turn from God to sheep, The MMT shows depth in their songwriting topics, though musically, you won't find much of anything special. With hopefully less musical inhibitions but the same lyrical flair, I look forward to the next Mike Metzger Transit release.

- Review date: 4/7/02, written by Blake Garris


. Record Label: Independent
. Album length: 5 Tracks, 15 Minutes And 19 Seconds
. Street Date: January 2002

  1. Force
  2. Flowers Need The Son
  3. Lately
  4. Sheep And Goats
  5. I'm Sorry



go to main Album review page
go to Album review archive


World Premiere Video
(JFH Sponsor Spot)



Listen to the new album from Elevation Worship!

Search JFH

Music Out This Week

This Friday, April 19
Leigh Nash Kiss Me (20th Anniversary Edition) / God Gave Me Horses - Single (independent)
Trinity Anthem of Love - Single [The Fuel]
JJ Weeks Choices - Single [Radiate]

Next Friday, April 26
Jared Anderson Keep Your Eyes on Jesus - Single (independent)
For All Seasons Just For Today - Single [Centricity]
Hillsong UNITED People [Hillsong]
Mallary Hope Out of My Hands [Word/Curb]
Sarah Kroger Bloom [Integrity]
Starflyer 59 Young In My Head [Tooth & Nail]

For all release dates, click here!

New Music Reviews

Listen to the new album from Holy Hope!

New Indie Reviews

New Movie Reviews

Free MP3 Downloads