Watch The New Video From Rusty Shipp!
Watch The New Video From Rusty Shipp!

JFH Staff Review

Zao, Awake?

Artist Info: Discography
Album length: 10 tracks: 42 minutes, 40 seconds
Street Date: May 5, 2009

Once again, the legendary ZAO has returned with their tenth studio album Awake? Three years have passed since the release of their 2006 breakthrough release, The Fear Is What Keeps Us Here, which marked the end of the band's two-album contract with Ferret Music. In 2008, the band re-signed to Ferret and much anticipation was expected for their next studio album, as well as the return of former guitarist Russ Cogdell. (Needless to say, die-hard fans at the Greensburg, Pennsylvania stop of the 2008 Stronger Than Hell tour, where ZAO performed alongside Demon Hunter; Russ was not present on stage.) So with the direction the band took with The Fear... and with As I Lay Dying vocalist Tim Lambesis involved with the production of the album, anticipation for Awake? was very high.

Basically, the lineup is the same as it was three years ago: Dan Weyandt on vocals, Scott Mellinger on guitar, Marty Lunn on bass, and drummer Jeff Gretz have all returned for this release. Scott's guitar tracks are just as heavy and brutal as they were from the days of Liberate te ex Inferis. Dan's screaming voice is still a landmark in the hardcore genre, but there are a couple of tracks, "1,000,000 Outstretched Arms" and "The World Caved In," where he offers some spoken word lyrics as well. It's not so bad, but it sounds like Dan was only speaking into the microphone plainly and there is no passion behind the words he says.

For the most part, ZAO has attempted to completely separate from Christian music and have chosen to tackle hard topics such as suicide, hypocrisy, and apathy in our culture. Perhaps the most spiritual track on the album is "What Will You Find," which speaks about a closed-minded individual who only accepts what he or she believes is truth, "You conform your faith, Making your opinion truth, Lash out every time something disagrees with you, You're obsessed with protecting some type of pride." The album finishes with the second part of "Quiet Passenger Pt. 2," called "The World Caved In," a farewell song to a high school friend who was very close to guitarist Scott Mellinger: "The world caved in on my friend today, With his shaking hands, He closed his eyes and he walked away without a reason or goodbye."

There is usually one question that pops into my head upon listening to Awake? over and over again: Is this their best material to date? The answer is definitely "No," but this album is an evident improvement over The Fear Is What Keeps Us Here. The songs are professionally recorded and have more of a raw and unpolished feel when compared to their previous material. Christian fans of the group will need to keep an open mind and not expect an evangelical message while listening to ZAO. Fanatics of hardcore metal will enjoy being Awake? and need to add this album to their music collection.

- Review date: 6/4/09, written by Fred Keel of


. Record Label: Ferret Music
. Album length: 10 tracks: 42 minutes, 40 seconds
. Street Date: May 5, 2009
. Buy It:

  1. 1,000,000 Outstretched Arms Of Nothing (3:38)
  2. Entropica (3:36)
  3. The Eyes Behind The Throne (3:35)
  4. Human Cattle Masses Marching Forward (3:38)
  5. Romance Of The Southern Spirit (4:50)
  6. What Will You Find? (3:44)
  7. Awake? (3:40)
  8. Quiet Passenger Pt. 1 (3:59)
  9. Reveal (4:53)
  10. Quiet Passenger Pt. 2/The World Caved In (6:52)



go to main Album review page
go to Album review archive


(JFH Sponsor Spot)



Music News Headlines

Listen to the new album from Trevor Kleinmeyer!

Search JFH

Music Out This Week

This Friday, July 19
Josh Baldwin Let the Redeemed - Single [Bethel]
Disciple Cuff the Criminal - Single [Tooth & Nail]
Jordan Feliz "Faith" Radio Version - Single [Centricity Music]
Foldinglights Subterranean Hum [7Core Music]
Gaither Vocal Band Good Things Take Time [Capitol/Gaither]
Caitie Hurst "How Could I Be Silent" Rogue Sailes Remix [Centricity Music]
Local Sound Sunday School EP [Integrity Music]
Manafest This Is Not The End - Single (independent)
Reflect Love Back (ft. Lacey Sturm) Soundtrack, Vol. 1 Digital Release (independent)
John Van Deusen (I Am) Origami Pt. 3 - A Catacomb Hymn [Tooth & Nail]

Next Friday, July 26
For All Seasons Questions - Single [Centricity]
Mac Powell & The Family Reunion Back Again [Thirty Tigers]
NF The Search [Capitol]
PEABOD Backpack - Single [Centricity Music]
Wolves at the Gate Eclipse [Solid State]

For all release dates, click here!

New Music Reviews

Listen to the new album from Matthew Ryan!

New Indie Reviews

New Movie Reviews

Free MP3 Downloads