Watch The New Video From Rusty Shipp!
Watch The New Video From Rusty Shipp!

JFH Indie Review

JFH Indie Music Spotlight Review

The King's Offspring

The King's Offspring
God, Girls and Glazed Donuts

Album length: 14 tracks: 53 minutes, 39 seconds
Street Date: December 1, 2011

In 2010, a Florida-based hip hop group called The King's Offspring (Heir Jordan, Skuba, Espio, and Isaac Knox the producer) began releasing a track per week on Bandcamp in an ongoing mixtape called The Vocal Network. After the final track was released, the foursome saw more potential in their tunes. After picking the best, cleaning them up, and adding a few more tracks, The King's Offspring turned The Vocal Network into a legitimate album called God, Girls and Glazed Donuts.

While God, Girls and Glazed Donuts isn't technically a mixtape, it is based off of one, and it's easy to tell. It's not really because of quality (the only noticeable production problem was that parts of "Runaround Girl" and "Devil's Greatest Trick" both sound louder than the rest of the tracks, which also causes a little bit of distortion in the speakers), but because of the fact that almost every track uses other songs as either a sample or as the beat of the song. While it's not a new concept, The King's Offspring has taken it and done a terrific job with it. For instance, one of the album highlights is "Rumor Has It," which uses the music and beat of Adele's "Rumour Has It." Using some creative mixing, the group dissected different sections of Adele's vocals and used them as almost background vocals throughout. It finishes with the original song's bridge, Adele included. They do the same thing with "The Golden Age," which uses the music and chorus from the soulful Brit pop song of the same name by The Asteroids Galaxy Tour. The King's Offspring also sample a lot of outside sources, including - but not limited to - OneRepublic, Dion and the Belmonts, Inception, and the video game Chrono Trigger. It's all hip hop, but they uniquely draw from a wide range of inspirations.

Each of the emcees of The King's Offspring are talented vocalists. While, at times, you may be able to tell that they're relatively new on the mic, the potential is even more noticeable than the flaws. Based solely on the rapping, I can hear traces of Deepspace 5 and Tunnel Rats, plus a little Pigeon John. The beats also contain Tunnel Rats elements, like "FRESHman KOmposition" and "In, Not Of." These guys like to have fun, as you can tell with the sampling of fun songs (as well as the beatboxing of "Chemical Symbol For Sodium," which is provided by a friend of the group known as Rubox), but they can get down and serious when they need to (like they say in "FRESHman KOmposition": "We're not always really serious, but we're seriously real in all ways"). A lot of the songs' themes center around the song that's sampled, like a promiscuous girl in "Runaround Girl" ("Runaround Sue" by Dion and the Belmonts), creating your own golden age in "The Golden Age" ("The Golden Age" by The Asteroids Galaxy Tour), etc.

God, Girls and Glazed Donuts features an impressive group of guest vocalists, most of whom are rather unknown by the majority of music fans. Of course, there's an appearance from Heath McNease in "Chronotriggatalk," where he nearly steals the track (using the same lyrics he used in the first verse of his track "Gravel Spit" from the Wed, White & Wu mixtape). "Chronotriggatalk" features one of my favorite beats from this album, by the way. In addition to McNease, the track features an emcee who goes by Bezz Believe, and sounds somewhat like Deepspace 5's Freddie Bruno. "Everybody Loves Me" features a solid verse from SoyIsReal, "Devil's Greatest Trick" showcases some serious skill from Madd Illz, while the aforementioned Rubox provides raps in a couple of tracks, as well as some beatboxing. The remaining guest vocalists actually do some singing; Ashley Dudukovich from a group called Chasing Jonah provides some eerie (and honestly, pretty unappealing) vocals in "Devil's Greatest Trick," and the fun, motown-ish "Get You" gets vocals from Rebekkah Joy of a group called ONE31. Like I said, lots of unknown talent, but it's pretty solid stuff.

One of my favorite things about God, Girls and Glazed Donuts is that it's a mixture of a bunch of different styles that the group smashes together to make it work very well. Obviously, we have some modern rap and hip hop, then there's the motown, the pop, the rock (the subsequent pop rock), the doo-wop, and more samples than you can handle. There are many highlight tracks: "The Golden Age," "Rumor Has It," "Get You," "Chronotriggatalk," and more. The only track I could've done without is "Devil's Greatest Trick." It's not horrible, it just didn't seem to click as well as the rest. I highly recommend that modern hip hop fans head over to The King's Offspring's Bandcamp page and download this album. It's available for free, but you can donate or buy a physical copy as well. However you do it, just do it. I can't get it off of repeat.

- Review date: 5/11/12, written by Scott Fryberger of


. Record Label: None
. Album length: 14 tracks: 53 minutes, 39 seconds
. Street Date: December 1, 2011
. Buy It:

  1. It Means Everything (2:52)
  2. Everybody Loves Me (feat. SoyIsReal) (3:54)
  3. The Golden Age (4:51)
  4. Rumor Has It (3:38)
  5. Runaround Girl (feat. Rubox) (4:37)
  6. FRESHman KOmposition (3:17)
  7. In, Not Of (2:23)
  8. Inception (3:28)
  9. Get You (feat. Rebekkah Joy of ONE31) (3:54)
  10. Chemical Symbol For Sodium (repeated) (feat. Rubox) (4:14)
  11. Chronotriggatalk (feat. Heath McNease & Bezz Believe) (3:49)
  12. The Vocal Network (3:44)
  13. Devil's Greatest Trick (feat. Madd Illz & Ashley Dudukovich of Chasing Jonah) (4:38)
  14. Crunch Time (4:29)




go to main Indie review page
go to Indie Review Index


Music News Headlines

Listen to the new album from Trevor Kleinmeyer!

Search JFH

Music Out This Week

This Friday, July 19
Josh Baldwin Let the Redeemed - Single [Bethel]
Disciple Cuff the Criminal - Single [Tooth & Nail]
Jordan Feliz "Faith" Radio Version - Single [Centricity Music]
Foldinglights Subterranean Hum [7Core Music]
Gaither Vocal Band Good Things Take Time [Capitol/Gaither]
Caitie Hurst "How Could I Be Silent" Rogue Sailes Remix [Centricity Music]
Local Sound Sunday School EP [Integrity Music]
Manafest This Is Not The End - Single (independent)
Reflect Love Back (ft. Lacey Sturm) Soundtrack, Vol. 1 Digital Release (independent)
John Van Deusen (I Am) Origami Pt. 3 - A Catacomb Hymn [Tooth & Nail]

Next Friday, July 26
For All Seasons Questions - Single [Centricity]
Mac Powell & The Family Reunion Back Again [Thirty Tigers]
NF The Search [Capitol]
PEABOD Backpack - Single [Centricity Music]
Wolves at the Gate Eclipse [Solid State]

For all release dates, click here!

New Music Reviews

Listen to the new album from Matthew Ryan!

New Indie Reviews

New Movie Reviews

Free MP3 Downloads