Get the new FREE JFH METAL MP3 compilation -- Vol. 3!
Get the new FREE JFH METAL MP3 compilation -- Vol. 3!

JFH Indie Review

JFH Indie Music Spotlight Review

Amanda Danziger & Filipe Michael

Amanda Danziger & Filipe Michael
Seasons EP

Artist Info: Discography
Album length: 5 tracks: 16 minutes, 20 seconds
Style: Devotional Worship / Cinematic / Rock
Street Date: November 4, 2022
Official Site:

Amanda Danziger has been such a delight for me since I first discovered her music in 2021 with “Don’t Look Back” ending up on my Top 10 songs list for the year. Naturally, I was excited to hear that she was releasing another EP in 2022. Seasons -- a collaborative effort with Filipe Michael who assisted in writing and producing/mixing the project -- is a 5-track set with an instrumental opener for the four songs on display. Each song represents one of the seasons starting with winter and working to fall. The soundscape for each song is incredible, but Danziger just seems to have knack for creating this type of sound. However, what’s interesting, and almost easy to miss if you aren’t paying attention, are the subtleties in introducing each season. “Vindicate” (winter) opens with a windy winter storm, “Prison Walls” (spring) starts with rain and thunder, “Refining Fire” (summer) begins with a crackling fire, and the sound of someone walking on freshly fallen leaves ushers in “Be Still” (fall).

“Seasons” is an instrumental track that sets the mood for the remainder of the album. It’s mostly a piano driven song, but also features the sounds of each season. The ticking clock is also utilized as a percussive instrument, which does a great job of symbolizing the moving of time throughout the seasons. Right off the bat, “Vindicate” highlights Danziger’s incredible voice. It’s so entrancing and seems to draw me into her music immediately. The music is driven largely by an acoustic guitar, but as the song progresses, a lot of atmosphere is added with other instrumentation and electronics. “Prison Walls” is arguably the best and most diverse song present. Danziger uses the term “cinematic” to describe her sound and this may capture that aspect better than anything else. The soft piano opening gives way to pounding toms and an overdriven electric guitar hook with a melody that’s super catchy. The simple yet powerful lyrics also standout as Danziger sings, “These prison walls come down when I sing. Hallelujah, my chains are gone. You break the walls down when I sing.” “Refining Fire” is another softer song that relies on atmospheric music to set the scene, and does a great job of incorporating the fire sounds that can be heard into the heart and message of the song. The EP ends with “Be Still” which proclaims, “Be still and know that He is God and know that He is good.” The lyrics talk of how God can calm the storms of our lives and also focuses on His power and glory. It’s a beautiful closer that once again matches the season up to the underlying message impressively.

Amanda Danziger is really pushing the boundaries of what worship music is and can be. Nothing on this EP “sounds” like what we know as “worship music,” but the lyrics seem to lift up Christ in a more real way. The music is captivating, and the vocals and melodies do so much to get the best out of each song. The EP is put together with a lot of forethought and you can easily see the effort put in from both Danziger and Michael. Seasons would be a great listen to get away from the coming holiday madness for some quiet reflection and time of worship. The world may not know it yet, but Amanda Danziger is a star. Her heart for the music and for worshipping our Creator just make the experience that much better. Hopefully her new deal with Integrity Music's indie distribution can get her music to a wider audience.

- Review date: 11/4/22, written by Michael Weaver of

(JFH Sponsor Spot)

Listen to the debut EP from the band Hopeful.!


. Record Label: Integrity Music
. Album length: 5 tracks: 16 minutes, 20 seconds
. Street Date: November 4, 2022
. Buy It: iTunes
. Buy It: Retailer Links

  1. Seasons (1:20)
  2. Vindicate (3:59)
  3. Prison Walls (4:15)
  4. Refining Fire (2:55)
  5. Be Still (3:52)





go to main Indie review page
go to Indie Review Index


Listen to the debut EP from the band Hopeful.!

Search JFH

This Tuesday, April 16, 2024
iNTELLECT Roots [Polished Arrow]

This Thursday, April 18, 2024
Eric Owyoung (Future of Forestry) Gold Ribbons - Single (independent)

This Friday, April 19, 2024
Apollo LTD Hello Human [Centricity]
Consumed by Fire First Things First Commentary Album [Red Street]
Darin and Brooke Aldridge Talk of The Town [Billy Blue]
Godspeed Religious Death (Remastered) [Charon Collective]
Joseph Habedank autobiography [Daywind]
Koryn Hawthorne ON GOD (Deluxe) [Provident]
Pastor Mike Jr. I Got Away - EP [Rock City]
Sanctus Real All Along [Framework / The Fuel]
Treasure Seeker A Tribute to the Past (Reissue) [Ulterium]
Vineyard Worship Christ In All Things - EP [Integrity]
Phil Wickham I Believe (Hometown Version) [Fair Trade]
Anne Wilson REBEL [Capitol CMG]

The Lore Family God Said You're Gonna Make It - Single [Horizon]
Mark Tedder Wake Us Up (church falls asleep) - Single [7Core]

Next Friday, April 26, 2024
Mack Brock Time and Time Again - EP [Centricity]
Aaron Cole Sorry, I Changed [RCA Inspiration]
Alex Henry Foster Kimoyo [Hopeful Tragedy]
Gileah Taylor Slow Parade [Velvet Blue]
Various Artists Unsung Hero: The Inspired By Soundtrack (Digital/CD) [Girder]

Nate Parrish I'm Alright - Single [Fair Vaux]
Unspoken What He Says About You - Single [Centricity]

Various Artists Unsung Hero: The Inspired By Soundtrack [Girder]

For all release dates, click here!

Listen to the new album from Hope Beyond Suffering!

Listen to the new Album From Tim Juillet!

Check out depositphotos for royalty free images