Get Your Music on Amazon!
Get Your Music on Amazon!

JFH Indie Review

JFH Indie Inspection Review

Kevin Henderson
CLICK COVER TO ENLARGE


Kevin Henderson
I Identify With Christ - Single

Street Date: March 22, 2024
Style: Contemporary Christian Gospel / CCM
Official Site: Facebook.com/annodominimusic3
Buy It: Amazon Music




Kevin Henderson is a singer, musician, and songwriter on the cusp of releasing his debut solo LP in June 2024. His newest single from the album entitled Open the Door, is called "I Identify With Christ." Kevin has released previously music with his group Kevin Henderson & Redefined, and has shared the stage with artists like Commissioned, Jackson Browne, Johnny Mathis and others. Henderson's new single has a classic gospel sound that will likely resonate with many listeners. In a culture currently obsessed with how one identifies, Kevin Henderson sings, "I identify with Christ, and I die to self. I have dedicated my life to Jesus and no one else." While people are putting personal identity first and foremost, Henderson goes against that thought and holds his identity in Christ above anything else. It's a poignant message given the landscape we see today. The lyrics focus on the love of God, His forgiveness, and a desire to follow Him closer each day. It's a simple and declarative message, but one in which we could all use a reminder from time to time. On top of the uplifting lyrics, Henderson also delivers a solid vocal performance. Those looking for a pleasing gospel number to add to their playlist should certainly find some enjoyment here. Be on the lookout for Kevin's upcoming full-length album!

- Review date: 5/3/24, written by Michael Weaver of Jesusfreakhideout.com



(JFH Sponsor Spot)

Purchase Original Art Prints, Drawings, Buttons, Stickers, Bookmarks and more from JFH's own John DiBiase!

 

JFH Staff's Second Opinion

    Kevin Henderson is an accomplished vocalist and music composer striking out into a solo career. With an LP due out in June, he's building some buzz with his most recent single, "I Identify with Christ". The musical (and vocal) style is very much in line with the Gospel music genre. There's the presence of strings, a backing choir, and Henderson's soaring vocals making this feel like a track worthy of the Gaither Vocal Group. For some, that might bring about some moments that come off as "cheesy", but once the song gets rolling, the music isn't as noticeable as the vocal performance, which is top notch. Lyrically, this is a theologically strong focus on the union and relationship we have with God through Christ. The cover art for the single adds a bit of a political connotation, which cleverly gives the song some layers. It's not a track that breaks much ground on its own, but fans of Gospel music will want to check out Kevin Henderson's latest single and likely the LP when it comes out, too. - Review date: 5/16/24, written by John Underdown of Jesusfreakhideout.com

 

 

. Record Label: None
. Album length: 1 track: 4 minutes, 19 seconds
. Street Date: March 22, 2024
. Buy It: Amazon Music

  1. I Identify With Christ (4:19)
spacer     Click For Song Lyrics

 


 



  • Jesus Freak Hideout (Michael Weaver): How long have you been writing music at this point in your career?

    Kevin Henderson: I've officially been writing music for 29 years now. Daniel Davis, my executive producer, has been officially writing music for 34 years. I bring him up because he wrote half of the songs on this album, including "I Identify With Christ."

  • JFH (Michael): "I Identify With Christ" is from your upcoming album, Open the Door. How exciting is it that you're one step closer to the full LP releasing?

    Kevin: "I Identify with Christ" is my second single overall, ministering as a single artist and the first single release from the upcoming LP. A second single release from the LP is planned for this current month of May 2024. I am very, very excited! As the 80s gospel music legends, the Winans would sing, "It's been a long time coming!"

  • JFH (Michael): In a society where personal identity and self-importance is the focus, how important do you feel a song like "I Identify With Christ" is today?

    Kevin: It's a timely message. To be in Christ is to deny "self." That is explicitly expressed by Jesus Himself. You can see the enemy's focus on targeting the very foundation of one's relationship with Jesus, by putting such an emphasis on "self", as if that's the end all, be all. What it ends up being is self-worship and idolatry. Daniel, the writer of the song, put it like this... "In this time of great confusion, a relationship with Jesus transcends self-identification and, in reality, helps one to find out who and what they really are."

  • JFH (Michael): What did you feel God was revealing to you as you wrote the lyrics for this song?

    Kevin: I'll again refer to Daniel, since he wrote this song. He said, "I felt like God was revealing that to be a part of God and his family, to appreciate the depth of what he has done for all of us, and really experience the overcoming life God promises, you have to surrender to him. Finally, when you discover something so incredibly good to you, it makes you want to share it (the good news) with everyone who will listen.
    Daniel Davis: I felt like God was revealing that to be a part of God and his family, to appreciate the depth of what he has done for all of us, and really experience the overcoming life God promises, you have to surrender to him. Finally, when you discover something so incredibly good to you, it makes you want to share it (the good news) with everyone who will listen.

  • JFH (Michael): Do you have any upcoming tour dates or live performances scheduled?

    Kevin: No, not at the moment. We're focused in on releasing this project first. There are a lot of moving parts at the moment. But we'll be ready when the time comes.

  • JFH (Michael): I'd love to hear your favorite scripture and why it has a deeper meaning for you.

    Kevin: That's a very hard request to grant. I don't know if I have ONE scripture that stands out above the rest as my favorite. I love many for many different reasons. It's the living, breathing Word of God, and they're all intertwined and integrated. The Old Testament being the New Testament concealed... With the New Testament being the Old Testament revealed. Ironically, here's an example... Jesus says, "The volume of the book was written of me." You see this first in Psalm 40:7. It's concealed here because we know the "volume of the book" wasn't written by David. Yet he wrote that Psalm. This wouldn't be revealed until the writer of Hebrews quotes this Psalm yet uses it in reference to Jesus. Intertwined... Integrated... Concealed... Revealed... I'll say this... The comfort from Jesus and His subsequent prayer to the Father in John Chapters 14-17, (to me) encapsulates His love for us, and why I personally love Him so...

     

     

     

    go to main Indie review page
    go to Indie Review Index

     

  •                  
    Purchase Original Art Prints, Drawings, Buttons, Stickers, Bookmarks and more from JFH's own John DiBiase!

    Search JFH




    This Friday, June 21, 2024
    ALBUMS
    Vineyard Kids Time to Fly [Integrity]

    SINGLES
    Leigh Nash Unraveling - Single [Visionary]
    MC Tempo Rude Boy Style - Single [Remaker Records]
    One Pursuit MSC Wanted (Live) - Single (independent)

    Next Friday, June 28, 2024
    ALBUMS
    Brotality It Feeds - EP (independent)
    Brandon Heath Can We Go Home Now - EP [Centricity]
    My Epic Loriella [Tooth & Nail]
    Lacey Sturm Kenotic Metanoia: Deluxe Edition [Followspot/The Fuel]

    SINGLES
    Sleeping At Last Bloom (Eros) - Single (independent)
    Brandon Lake x Phil Wickham House of God - Single [Provident]

    For all release dates, click here!
     



    Listen to the new EP from Saved By Skarlet!



    Listen to the new Album From Millennial Reign!

    Check out depositphotos for royalty free images