Listen to the album by Chris Raww!
Listen to the new album by Chris Raww!

JFH Music News Report


Songs Point To God As Refuge Through Life’s Storms, Challenges

Hymns, Companion Videos Feature Mack Brock, Leigh Nash, Sandra McCracken, Chris Eaton, Kelly Minter, Chris McClarney, Kurtis Parks, More

RSS Icon 

NEWS SOURCE: Hoganson Media
April 17, 2020

Venture3Media (V3M) continues its Simple Hymns series with today’s (April 17) release of Simple Hymns: Songs of Refuge featuring such well-known worship leaders as Mack Brock (Elevation Worship), Leigh Nash (Sixpence None the Richer), Sandra McCracken, Chris Eaton, Kelly Minter, Chris McClarney (Jesus Culture), Kurtis Parks (Bridges Nashville) and more. The 10-hymn album is available on CD and at Apple Music, iTunes, Spotify, Pandora, Google Play and additional digital, streaming and physical retail outlets globally.

The songs in this Simple Hymns installment are all centered around how God is our refuge through the storms and challenges of life, and include classic hymns written by Isaac Watts (“He Is Our Refuge"), Charles Wesley (“Jesus, Lover Of My Soul”) and George Matheson (“Love, You Never Let Me Go”) as well as the Bob Kauflin, Steve Cook and Vikki Cook penned "I Have A Shelter” sung by Stephen Petree.

The hymn by Samuel Trevor Francis, “The God Of The Sea And Stars,” receives fresh interpretation by Brock and Jess Cates, and is sung by Brock.

Along with the new music, compelling acoustic videos of six of the songs being sung by the artists were recorded and are featured on a companion Simple Hymns: Songs of Refuge Deluxe Version of the album that is exclusively available from Apple Music and iTunes.

Songs of Refuge is the sixth recording in the Simple Hymns series to release so far. It follows the Songs of Easter (Feb 7), Songs of Communion (Jan 10), Songs of Thanksgiving (Nov. 8), Songs Of Worship (Oct. 4) and Songs Of Redemption (Aug. 30) albums that are available now at Christian retailers and These recordings feature such acclaimed worship leaders as Pat Barrett (Housefires), Derri Daugherty (The Choir), Paul And Hannah McClure (Bethel Music), Dan Koch, Aaron Keyes, London Gatch (Elevation Worship), Joanna Beasley (American Idol), Anthony Skinner, Sean Carter and many more.

Each new recording in the Simple Hymns series combines classic Hymns with a fresh interpretation, some with additional lyrics, as well as new songs that have been written and recorded in a hymn-like style and focusing on the Majesty and Greatness of God.

“These hymns and videos are purposefully simple with acoustic instrumentation, nothing overproduced to allow them to be sung by worship leaders in the most unplugged setting, or added to the worship music song selections in any sized church,” says Venture3Media President and Founder Steve Nicolle. “Simple Hymns are also well suited as a background for personal worship, reflection and devotions.”

Simple Hymns is a response to those that long for a return to a richer and more lyric focused worship expression, combined with a simplicity of musical instrumentation,” Nicolle continues. “Worship music shifts in style from decade to decade, along with shifts in lyrical themes and focus. What makes the hymns so unique and special is their ability to stand the test of time. When times become more turbulent or uncertain, we tend to hold to things that have endured. Hymns give us that anchor and remind us that God’s love and His nature are unchanging."

Future Simple Hymns releases that are already being developed will feature hymns set around praise, Christmas and more.

The full Simple Hymns: Songs of Refuge track listing and featured vocalists follows:

1. The God Of The Sea And Stars featuring Mack Brock
2. He Is Our Refuge featuring Chris Jackson
3. I Have A Shelter featuring Stephen Petree
4. Set My Eyes On You featuring Kurtis Parks
5. Love, You Never Let Me Go featuring Savannah Ellis
6. Jesus, Lover Of My Soul featuring Chris Eaton
7. It Is Well featuring Chris McClarney
8. Savior, Like A Shepherd Lead Us (Blessed Jesus) featuring Leigh Nash
9. All I Have Is Christ featuring Sean Carter and Emmy Rogers
10. In Feast Or Fallow featuring Sandra McCracken

For all the latest Simple Hymns news, visit, Facebook, Twitter, Instagram and YouTube.

About Venture3Media:

Venture3Media is a global music label and song publisher with sales, marketing, promotional, radio, television and movie expertise. V3M provides distribution platforms across all digital channels, including but not limited to Spotify, Apple Music, iTunes, Amazon, Deezer, Tencent, 7Digital, Google Music, Facebook, Pandora, Tidal, Sirius and Rhapsody. Physical distribution includes online retailers such as Amazon, national retail chains, sub-distributors and internationally through well-established licensee’s and distributors.


For more info on these artists, visit the JFH Artists Database.


Leave a Comment

comments powered by Disqus



News Report Archives

Jan. | Feb. | March | April | May | June | July | Aug. | Sept. | Oct. | Nov. | Dec.

Jan. | Feb. | March | April | May | June | July | Aug. | Sept. | Oct. | Nov. | Dec.

[2001 - 2021]
Visit our complete MUSIC NEWS ARCHIVE


Return to Main News Page


(JFH Sponsor Spot)




Listen to the New Christmas Single by We Are Vessel!

Search JFH

This Sunday, January 16, 2022
116 We Are Unashamed - Single [Reach]

This Monday, January 17, 2022
KJ-52 x Jonah Take Me Back - Single (independent)

This Friday, January 21, 2022
Meredith Andrews Make Room - Single [Word Worship]
Paul Baloche A Greater Song (15th Anniversary Deluxe Edition) [Integrity]
Amanda Danziger Vindicate - Single (independent)
Ricky Dillard Breakthrough: The Exodus (Live) [Capitol CMG]
Elevation Worship Same God - Single [Elevation]
Impending Doom Hellbent EP [eOne]
NEEDTOBREATHE I Am Yours (Acoustic) - Single [Elektra]
North Point Worship Deliverer - Single [Centricity]
Selah So Beautiful (Sungguh Indah) [Indonesian single] [Integrity]
The Talleys Give Me Jesus - Single [Crossroads]
UNITED On Repeat - Single [Capitol CMG]

Next Thursday, January 27, 2022
Rusty Shipp Bottom of the Barrel - Single (independent)

Next Friday, January 28, 2022
Justin Gambino Courage - Single (independent)
Shane & Shane Worship in the Word [WellHouse]
Seventh Day Slumber Death by Admiration [RockFest]
Sunday Drive Grace & Goodness - Single [StowTown]

For all release dates, click here!

Check out the debut album from Caitelen!

Listen to the new album from Cherry Hills Worship!