Listen to the new album from Elias Dummer!
Listen to the new album from Elias Dummer!

JFH Staff Review


Artist Info: Discography
Album length: 13 tracks: 43 Minutes, 18 Seconds
Street Date: 2001

Cadet's first album may not be perfect, but it established the band as one to look out for, until that is, when they split up in 2004. This self-titled album is a lot more surf pop than their second album, released a year later, and sounds drastically different, with a lighter, simpler and happier sound than 2002's The Observatory, which is one of my favorite albums. That's not to say, though that this album is without its merits. At the time, the band only had three members and their lead singer was the only guitarist. The guitar sound was still relatively strong, but the band definitely fared better once they got their second guitarist and keyboardist, Matt. Parts of the album definitely rock hard ("Crack this Code," "Dream," and "Speed of Sound" stick out), while others are softer, yet still powerful ("Land of the Living" and "Precious One"). Not to mention their breakthrough hit "God-Man (Jesus is my Superhero)," a fast-paced pop tune that'll have you singing and dancing along. The album overall has a very under-produced sound, although this may weaken the quality of other albums, Cadet is somewhat enhanced by the garage band sound. Sometimes the under-produced sound, however, can leave a bit to be desired, something I didn't find with their second album. However, Cadet is a fun album for those who just want to forget about their worries and have a good time. So if that's what you're in the mood for, check this album out. And if it's not what you're in the mood for, maybe this album will cheer you up.

JFH Reader Review: Review date: 2/12/06, written by David Denis for


. Artist Info: Discography
. Record Label: BEC Recordings
. Album length: 13 tracks: 43 Minutes, 18 Seconds
. Street Date: 2001
. Buy It:

  1. Speed Of Sound
  2. God Man
  3. Precious One
  4. The Girl
  5. Gremmy
  6. I'm A Believer
  7. Fantasy
  8. Beyond
  9. Talent Show
  10. Dream
  11. Spoon
  12. Crack This Code
  13. Land Of The Living



go to main Album review page
go to Album review archive


JFH Sponsor Spot:



Listen to the new album from Every Nation Music!

Search JFH

Music Out This Week

This Thursday, February 14
Slow Coming Day 1,000 Years (Like A Day) [Indie Vision]

This Friday, February 15
1K Phew What's Understood - EP [Reach]
Bethel Music Bethel Music En Español [Bethel]
Highlands Worship Jesus You Alone - Single [The Fuel]
Neon Feather Come To Life (feat. Matty Mullins) - Single [Centricity]
Jars of Clay If I Left The Zoo (Vinyl Debut) [SMLXL]
LEDGER Completely - Single [Atlantic]
Brady Novotny Passions Collide [MTS Records]
Passion “Step Into The Light” Featuring Sean Curran - Single [SixSteps]
29:11 Worship Marble & Mortar Vol. 1 [DREAM Worship]
Kevin Ward He Loves - Single [DREAM]
Ian Yates Deconstruction - Single [7Core]

Next Friday, February 22
For All Seasons Light and Momentary - Single [Centricity]
London Gatch New Stories [BEC Worship]
Plumb Somebody Loves You - 2-Track Single [Centricity]
Michael W. Smith Awaken: The Surrounded Experience [The Fuel]
The Tommies Reunion The Tommies Reunion [Tyscot]
UPPERROOM To The One [The Fuel]

For all release dates, click here!

New Music Reviews

Check out the new album from Portraits Music!

New Indie Reviews

New Movie Reviews

  • Image Glass
    PG-13 (Theatrical)

Free MP3 Downloads