Listen to the new album from Citizen Way!
Listen to the new album from Citizen Way!

JFH Staff Review

Broken Down: The EP

Artist Info: Discography
Album length: 6 tracks: 26 minutes, 45 seconds
Street Date: November 18, 2003

Pillar has been busy as of late. Lots of touring, a major record deal with MCA Records, and now they've even begun to get mainstream radio attention. Due to their increasing popularity and constant touring, it has been almost two years since any brand new music from Pillar has been heard.

And, finally, at the end of 2003, they release Broken Down: The EP. Featuring the new song "Bring Me Down" as well as live acoustic versions of four songs from Fireproof and an in-studio acoustic version of "Further from Myself," this is not to be missed for any fan of Pillar. And at just under eight bucks, it's reasonably affordable as well.

The disc opens with the new in-studio acoustic version of "Further from Myself," which may actually be better than the original. New string arrangements add an extra layer to the already wonderful song. Next comes a set of four live songs the band performed with guitarist Tyler Burkum of Audio Adrenaline. All four ("A Shame," "Further from Myself," "Light at My Feet," and "Fireproof") are pulled off remarkably well. Pillar is well known for their aggressive, electric rock sound, and for using just acoustic guitars, they do a very impressive job of being able to stay true to each song's familiar sound.

The EP closes with the new cut, "Bring Me Down." It's seemed a long while, and this song was worth the wait. Although not as aggressive as their earlier work, it's definitely their most electrifying and powerful song to date, with the chorus repeating "You can't bring me down" as it speaks of not letting one's past destroy his future.

And to top it all off, you can stick the CD in your computer for a "Further from Myself" live music video, commentary, and more. This is, indeed, worth every penny of the eight bucks it costs. Broken Down: The EP will make a great stocking stuffer.

- Review date: 11/22/03, written by Josh Taylor



Buy This CD Online

. Artist Info: Discography
. Record Label: Flicker Records Records
. Album length: 6 tracks, 26 minutes and 45 seconds
. Street Date: November 18, 2003
. Buy It:

  1. Further from Myself (In Studio Acoustic)
  2. A Shame (Live Acoustic)
  3. Light at My Feet (Live Acoustic)
  4. Further from Myself (Live Acoustic)
  5. Fireproof (Live Acoustic)
  6. Bring Me Down
spacer Click For Audio Sample   Click For Song Lyrics
Click For Audio Sample   Click For Song Lyrics
Click For Audio Sample   Click For Song Lyrics
Click For Audio Sample   Click For Song Lyrics
Click For Audio Sample   Click For Song Lyrics
Click For Audio Sample   Click For Song Lyrics



go to main Album review page
go to Album review archive


(JFH Sponsor Spot)



Pre-Order the new CD from Chase Tremaine!

Search JFH

This Friday, October 18
Anthony Brown and Group TherAPy 2econd Wind [Fair Trade]
The Blamed The Church is Hurting People [IVM]
Citizen Way Love is a Lion [Fair Trade]
Elizabeth Grace Like Myself - Single [DREAM]
Kalley Oasis - Single [Bethel]
Donna King All The Lights [Journey/Vertical Sky]
Tasha Layton Safe Here - Single [BEC]
Nashville Life Music Sing A Song (Part 2) [Feat. Aaron Cole] - Single [Integrity]
Bryan & Katie Torwalt Anticipation EP [Jesus Culture]
We Are Leo Eyes On U (feat. Ryan Ellis) - Single [DREAM]

Next Friday, October 25
Lauren Daigle Rescue (Chill Mix) - Single [Centricity]
Norma Jean All Hail [Solid State]
Kalley Faultlines Vol. 1 - EP [Bethel]
Kalley Faultlines Vol. 2 - EP [Bethel]
MercyMe Almost Home - Single [Fair Trade]
Northwood Worship Who You Are [DREAM Worship]
Chuckie P. Faith, Hope and Love (independent)
Andrew Peterson Behold the Lamb of God: The True Tall Tale of the Coming of Christ (Re-recorded album) [Centricity]
The Porter's Gate Neighbor Songs [Integrity]

For all release dates, click here!

Listen to the new album from J. Douglas Wright!

Listen to the new album from Union Creative!