Watch The New Video From Rusty Shipp!
Watch The New Video From Rusty Shipp!

JFH Staff Review

Jaymes Reunion, Everything You've Been Looking For

Jaymes Reunion
Everything You've Been Looking For

Artist Info: Discography
Album length: 12 tracks
Street Date: April 20, 2010

I first encountered Cameron Jaymes when he was an opening act on Five Iron Frenzy's final tour. While his set was simple, just him and a guitar, Jaymes impressed me with his raw talent and charm. Years later, Jaymes is finally making his proper musical debut as front man for BEC Recording's Jaymes Reunion.

After listening to the first track on Everything You've Been Looking For, I was ready to write the album off as an unfortunate misstep. The song sounds like something that would have been on a WOW compilation ten years ago, (on the first disc, not the much cooler second). However, with "Trouble," the album's second track, Jaymes Reunion convinced me to give them a second chance. I do not usually enjoy radio friendly pop music, but there is something about Jaymes Reunion's music that is irresistible. The lyrics are simple, mostly about the ups and downs of romantic relationships, the production clean, and the melodies infectious. There is nothing innovative or new about Jaymes Reunion, but that is not the point. This is the kind of music that helps you smile during rush hour, get through a breakup, or relax at a work party.

Besides the aforementioned debacle, "More Than a Day," there is little to complain about with Everything You've Been Looking For. The album's third track, "Let it Shine," is a little too eager to be a CCM hit and feels forced and somewhat cheesy. Had the band removed those two songs, the album would have been much stronger. Even so, Jaymes Reunion is a talented young band making the good kind of pop music. It is nearly impossible to be in a bad mood after listening to Everything You've Been Looking For, and it is nice to escape, if only for a little while, to a place filled with sunshine and piano keys.

- Review date: 4/13/10, written by Laura Nunnery Love of


JFH Staff's Second Opinion

Jaymes Reunion isn't the sort of band that commands much attention at first glance, but rather the kind that grows on the listener gradually. With further time and dedication invested in them, one can really appreciate the simple, pop rock melodies found in Everything You've Been Looking For. The sound Jaymes Reunion brings is nothing particularly inventive or groundbreaking, but it's nonetheless exceptionally enticing. Cameron Jaymes's vocal talents are clear, and he stretches them well without settling for mediocrity. With a balanced mix of upbeat love songs ("Let It Shine," "Beautiful," "Loveliest Thing") with more held-back ballads ("Forevermore," "The Answer"), Everything You've Been Looking For is, for the most part, a very complete record. The album does border on the cheesiness factor in a couple spots, as well as starts off with a deceptively-underperforming opening track ("More Than A Day"), but the good certainly outweighs the bad in the end. The musical implementations with the common theme of young romance works very well to Jaymes Reunion's advantage, but at the same time, deeper lyrical content wouldn't hurt the next time around, either. All this aside, Jaymes Reunion's music will undoubtedly connect with an eager and large fanbase, and with a promising future ahead of them, they've put forward one of 2010's most notable debut projects yet. - Roger Gelwicks


. Record Label: BEC Recordings
. Album length: 12 tracks
. Street Date: April 20, 2010
. Buy It:

  1. More Than A Day (3:38)
  2. Trouble (3:25)
  3. Let It Shine (3:58)
  4. If You Wanna Cry (4:37)
  5. Fine (3:39)
  6. Forevermore (4:13)
  7. Beautiful (3:47)
  8. The Answer (3:23)
  9. There You Are (4:13)
  10. Lost It All (3:36)
  11. Loveliest Thing (3:31)
  12. My Song (3:16)



go to main Album review page
go to Album review archive


(JFH Sponsor Spot)



Music News Headlines

Listen to the new album from Trevor Kleinmeyer!

Search JFH

Music Out This Week

This Friday, July 19
Josh Baldwin Let the Redeemed - Single [Bethel]
Disciple Cuff the Criminal - Single [Tooth & Nail]
Jordan Feliz "Faith" Radio Version - Single [Centricity Music]
Foldinglights Subterranean Hum [7Core Music]
Gaither Vocal Band Good Things Take Time [Capitol/Gaither]
Caitie Hurst "How Could I Be Silent" Rogue Sailes Remix [Centricity Music]
Local Sound Sunday School EP [Integrity Music]
Manafest This Is Not The End - Single (independent)
Reflect Love Back (ft. Lacey Sturm) Soundtrack, Vol. 1 Digital Release (independent)
John Van Deusen (I Am) Origami Pt. 3 - A Catacomb Hymn [Tooth & Nail]

Next Friday, July 26
For All Seasons Questions - Single [Centricity]
Mac Powell & The Family Reunion Back Again [Thirty Tigers]
NF The Search [Capitol]
PEABOD Backpack - Single [Centricity Music]
Wolves at the Gate Eclipse [Solid State]

For all release dates, click here!

New Music Reviews

Listen to the new album from Matthew Ryan!

New Indie Reviews

New Movie Reviews

Free MP3 Downloads