Listen to the new album by Katie Lighty!
Listen to the new album by Katie Lighty!

JFH Staff Review




Building 429
Glory Defined EP: Limited Edition



Artist Info: Discography
Album length: 6 tracks
Street Date: April 6, 2004


Building 429's introductory release, the "Limited Edition" Glory Defined EP is essentially an awkward mix of modern rock and adult contemporary sounds. This short offering opens with the title track, "Glory Defined," a pop/rocker with a very blatant message, but also very uninteresting to listen to due to its run-of-the mill approach to songwriting. Their spiritual stance is clear, and the guitar playing isn't particularly mediocre, but the singing isn't much better than a scratchy Cat Stevens. "Show me Love" is a seemingly identical song to "Glory Defined" and begins the same way featuring lyrics that are boring and lifeless. Even when lead vocalist Jason Roy sings during the chorus swell, it sounds formulaic, uninspired, and routine.

"Free" doesn't change things much, with slightly better vocals, but still relatively distant and uninteresting. The song just never really takes flight. "The Space Between Us" offers a country feel but remains on the trite side while "All You Ask Of Me" features a stronger musical backdrop but with essentially weak lyrics. The "alternate version" of the title track that's tucked away at the end doesn't offer much of a difference from the Creed-esque original. I seriously don't see the huge fuss about this band, they're nothing amazing.

- Review date: 3/17/04, written by Josh Encinias


Listen to the new album from Jack Izaak!

 

JFH Staff's Additional 2 Cents


    Building 429 is a new act on Word Records that brings to the table a strange merger of modern rock and adult contemporary sounds into one song. The title track to this "limited edition" EP blends a guitar backdrop similar to Creed's "Higher" with vocals that would make 4Him proud. The blend is unique, but in the end doesn't really work and, despite wonderfully worshipful lyrics, the band's music ultimately comes across as overdone and taboo... - 2/27/04, John DiBiase

 

 

CD

Buy This CD Online


. Artist Info: Discography
. Record Label: Word Records
. Album length: 6 tracks
. Street Date: April 6, 2004
. Buy It: Amazon.com

  1. Glory Defined
  2. Show Me Love
  3. Free
  4. The Space In Between Us (Unplugged)
  5. All You Ask Of Me (Unplugged)
  6. Glory Defined (Alternate Version)
spacer Click For Audio Sample   Click For Song Lyrics
Click For Audio Sample   Click For Song Lyrics
Click For Audio Sample   Click For Song Lyrics
Click For Audio Sample   Click For Song Lyrics
Click For Audio Sample   Click For Song Lyrics
Click For Audio Sample   Click For Song Lyrics

 

 

go to main Album review page
go to Album review archive

 


(JFH Sponsor Spot)

 

 

           
Listen to the new album from Jack Izaak!

Search JFH



This Monday, August 3, 2020
Jonah Fear (feat. Anomaly) - Single (independent)


This Friday, August 7, 2020
Various Artists Songs We've Been Trying to Tell You About (And Others We Haven't), Volume 9 [JFH Music]
Apollo LTD Patience - Single [Centricity]
Disciple Darkness Dies - Single [Tooth & Nail]
Grandpa Loves Rhinos Searching in the Sarchasm [Indie Vision Music]
Jason Gray Glory Days - Single [Centricity]
Coby James Whatever - Single [Centricity]
Lydia Laird Lydia Laird - EP [Provident]
North Point Worship Praise Your Name [Centricity]
John Schlitt Go Vinyl [4K]
We The Kingdom Holy Water [Capitol CMG]


Next Thursday, August 13, 2020
Various Artists Songs We've Been Trying to Tell You About (And Others We Haven't), Volume 9 [JFH Music]


Next Friday, August 14, 2020
Apollo LTD Patience - Single [Centricity]
Disciple Darkness Dies - Single [Tooth & Nail]
Grandpa Loves Rhinos Searching in the Sarchasm [Indie Vision Music]
Jason Gray Glory Days - Single [Centricity]
Coby James Whatever - Single [Centricity]
Lydia Laird Lydia Laird - EP [Provident]
North Point Worship Praise Your Name [Centricity]
John Schlitt Go Vinyl [4K]
We The Kingdom Holy Water [Capitol CMG]


For all release dates, click here!
 



Listen to the new single from Melanie Waldman!




Listen to the new album from The Grace Collective!