Watch The New Video From Rusty Shipp!
Watch The New Video From Rusty Shipp!

JFH Staff Review

Hammer And Nail

Artist Info: Discography
Album length: 10 tracks: 39 minutes, 26 seconds
Street Date: 1988

Scott Wenzel and Rex Carroll return to the Christian metal scene with the second release from Whitecross, titled Hammer And Nail. Several of the songs are much heavier and softer than Whitecross' self-titled debut. Some of the best heavy rock anthems on this release include "When The Walls Tumble Down," "Take To The Limit," and "Because of Jesus." The instrumental guitar track "The Hammer And The Nail" is very reminiscent to "Nagasake" from the self-titled debut. You can tell the band tried to put together more of a raw and extremely better album than their previous release and it shows on over half of the songs on this release.

One of the major turnoffs on the album is the ballad "Walk With Me." The song is primarily about God informing the listener that He wants to be a part of their life, but the style of this ballad is so different from the rest of the album that it feels out of place and probably should have been left out. Other tracks, such as "Living On The Edge," "When The Clock Strikes," and "Livin' In A Lost World," almost nearly sound the same and the choruses do not hold the songs together.

Overall, Whitecross has put together another good metal album that needs to be added to any 80's Christian fan's music collection.

- Review date: 7/2/08, written by Fred Keel of


. Record Label: Pure Metal
. Album length: 10 tracks: 39 minutes, 26 seconds
. Street Date: 1988
. Buy It:

  1. Living On The Edge
  2. When The Walls Tumble Down
  3. The Hammer And The Nail
  4. Take It To The Limit
  5. Walk With Me
  6. Because Of Jesus
  7. When The Clock Strikes
  8. Resist Him
  9. Living In A Lost World
  10. Top Of The World



go to main Album review page
go to Album review archive


(JFH Sponsor Spot)



Listen to the new album from Trevor Kleinmeyer!

Search JFH

Music Out This Week

This Friday, July 26
For All Seasons Questions - Single [Centricity]
Mac Powell & The Family Reunion Back Again [Thirty Tigers]
NF The Search [Capitol]
PEABOD Backpack - Single [Centricity Music]
Wolves at the Gate Eclipse [Solid State]

Next Friday, August 2
The Rocket Summer Sweet Shivers (independent)
Skillet Victorious [Atlantic]
Tenth Avenue North No Shame [Provident]
Matthew West Hello, My Name Is: Greatest Hits [Capitol CMG]

For all release dates, click here!

New Music Reviews

Listen to the new album from Matthew Ryan!

New Indie Reviews

New Movie Reviews

Free MP3 Downloads