Listen to the new album from Ian Yates!
Listen to the new album from Elevation Worship!

JFH Staff Review

Jars Of Clay
Live Monsters EP

Artist Info: Discography
Album length: 7 tracks: 33 minutes, 5 seconds
Street Date: September 4, 2007

On the Fall leg of Jars Of Clay's 2006 Good Monsters Tour, the band teamed up with PreSonus to provide them with a 24-mic live recording setup to create the Live Monsters EP. The seven-track Live Monsters is just a piece of the band's 2006/2007 live performances, featuring not only some of their most aggressive music to date but also six of the twelve tracks featured on their most recent studio album, Good Monsters, in live form.

In 2002, the band made their feature-length live video debut with 11 Live and followed it up in 2003 with the half-live, half-studio audio phenomenon Furthermore. The two-dozen microphone audio setup used for Live Monsters gives the listener an in-the-audience feel with immense clarity and a fantastic live experience that showcases the band's incredible musical capabilities. From the harmonies to the impressive guitar work from Steve Mason and Matt Odmark, everything is captured with near immaculate clarity leaving the only problem with Live Monsters being that it's only seven tracks long (despite clocking in at just over thirty three minutes, which is actually longer than some artists' studio albums these days).

If you attended a Jars show in the Fall of 2006 or get to one sometime this year, you're likely to hear any or all of the songs featured on Live Monsters. Besides capturing the raw rock energy of the passionate "Work," the pop sensibility of their recent hit "Dead Man (Carry Me)," and the emotional, epic display of the powerful ballad "Oh My God" and its appropriate follow-up "Surprise," the disc also features the album's poppy title track and the folksy "There Is A River." An early edition of this project was made only available through the band's live shows and website and it featured two alternate tracks. Instead of "Good Monsters" and "Surprise," the record featured a live rendition of the Good Monsters b-side "Love Me," which was previously only available in studio form as part of an iTunes-only downloadable EP. Also, their popular Julie Miller cover "All My Tears" previously opened the seven-track project. For anyone who's heard the early version of Live Monsters, it's evident that both tracks are surely missing here. Nevertheless, both versions of this wonderful live collection close with the Africa crisis inspired "Light Gives Heat," a song the band has been closing each show with recently.

There's little to complain about with the near-perfectly composed Live Monsters, despite the mixed feelings regarding song choice between its release versions. As with most live recordings, one might expect a half-hearted, rough bootleg, but instead Live Monsters is as professional in sound and execution as it gets.

- Review date: 4/15/07; adapted 9/3/07, written by John DiBiase



Buy This CD Online

. Record Label: Essential Records
. Album length: 7 tracks: 33 minutes, 5 seconds
. Street Date: September 4, 2007
. Buy It:
  1. Work
  2. Dead Man (Carry Me)
  3. There Is A River
  4. Good Monsters
  5. Oh My God
  6. Surprise
  7. Light Gives Heat
spacer Click For Audio Sample   Click For Song Lyrics
Click For Audio Sample   Click For Song Lyrics
Click For Audio Sample   Click For Song Lyrics
Click For Audio Sample   Click For Song Lyrics
Click For Audio Sample   Click For Song Lyrics
Click For Audio Sample   Click For Song Lyrics
Click For Audio Sample   Click For Song Lyrics



go to main Album review page
go to Album review archive


World Premiere Video
(JFH Sponsor Spot)



Listen to the new album from Elevation Worship!

Search JFH

Music Out This Week

This Thursday, April 18
Local Sound The Free World, Vol. 1 - EP [Integrity]

This Friday, April 19
29:11 Worship Roses - Single [DREAM]
Apollo LTD On The Way Up 2.0 - Single [Centricity]
Amanda Lindsey Cook Still - Single [Bethel]
Tori Harper Revival - Single [The Fuel]
Influencers Father's Love - Single (independent)
Leigh Nash Kiss Me (20th Anniversary Edition) / God Gave Me Horses - Single (independent)
Dave Pettigrew Faith & Gasoline (independent)
Bryan Popin All Back - Single [United Alliance]
Trinity Anthem of Love - Single [The Fuel]
JJ Weeks Choices - Single [Radiate]
Phil Wickham & Chris Quilala You Cannot Be Stopped - Single [Sparrow]

Next Friday, April 26
Jared Anderson Keep Your Eyes on Jesus - Single (independent)
For All Seasons Just For Today - Single [Centricity]
Jason Gray I'm Gonna Let It Go - Single [Centricity]
Hillsong UNITED People [Hillsong]
Mallary Hope Out of My Hands [Word/Curb]
Sarah Kroger Bloom [Integrity]
Starflyer 59 Young In My Head [Tooth & Nail]

For all release dates, click here!

New Music Reviews

Listen to the new album from Illijam!

New Indie Reviews

New Movie Reviews

Free MP3 Downloads