Get the latest FREE JFH MP3 compilation!
Get the latest FREE JFH MP3 compilation!

JFH Music Review


Various Artists, Songs We've Been Trying To Tell You About (And Others We Haven't), Volume Ten
CLICK COVER TO ENLARGE

Various Artists
Songs We've Been Trying To Tell You About (And Others We Haven't), Volume Ten



Album length: 62 tracks: 241 minutes, 1 second
Street Date: August 13, 2021
Download It FREE: JesusFreakHideout.com

READER RATING:   


Jesus Freak Hideout's Songs We've Been Trying to Tell You About (And Others We Haven't) Volume Ten has arrived! In an era where almost any Christian music samplers (including the famous WOW Hits series) has ended distribution, it is exciting that at least one website has decided to continue introducing us to new artists and providing it to us for free. Even if an individual finds very few songs to like on one of these samplers, there is no monetary waste whatsoever.

As far as music choices go, there is much variety to be found here. This year's compilation does a better job of breaking up the monotony by inserting more energetic songs among the slower songs, while at the same time, making the songs flow well together (in most cases). Some of the genres highlighted are rock, folk, hip-hop, worship, pop, punk, and more. Really, the only genre that is criminally unrepresented is metalcore. I personally was disappointed by this omission because a number of independent metalcore artists have released solid music this past year; but JFH's second Rock, Paper, Scissors, Metal compilation to be released this weekend is probably the reason for this exclusion and will well compensate for that genre's absence here.

Some highlights from this compilation are Remedy Drive's rocking opener "Dragons," The Fold's varied "World Gone Mad", Holly Halliwell and Ayiesha Wood's poppy cuts that could very easily be placed on K-LOVE's rotation, Emily Faith's southern style on "When I Met Jesus," Nate Parrish's (of Kutless fame) righteous indignation on "Religion of Relevance," the shockingly fun "Anachronistic Anachronism" by John DeGroff and Friends (probably my favorite song on the compilation), the shockingly gruesome, yet worshipful lyrics of Beach Chapel's "Killer," the perfectly unpolished exclusive from Caleb Lail ("Tomatoes, Pickles, and Kimchi"), and Jason Dunn's familiar voice on another compilation exclusive, "Dopamine." The compilation's closer, Dave Stovall's "God of Change," was also a great way to end the compilation on an inspiring and encouraging note, especially in this day and age where the whole world seems to be going crazy.

Despite some missing elements, this compilation still covers many bases and will either help fans discover new artists of their favorite genres or songs and artists from genres that they don't normally care for. For me, I was introduced to a number of folk songs that I probably wouldn't have discovered otherwise. With 62 free songs, it's hard to go wrong. And while you're at it, you can always download compilations from past years to discover even more great music.

JFH Reader Review: Review date: 9/16/21, written by Gavin Rodgers for Jesusfreakhideout.com



(JFH Sponsor Spot)

Check out the new album from Rev Music!

 

. Record Label: JFH Music
. Album length: 62 tracks: 241 minutes, 1 second
. Street Date: August 13, 2021
. Download It FREE: JesusFreakHideout.com

  1. Dragons (from "Imago Amor") - Remedy Drive (3:26)
  2. World Gone Mad (Single) - The Fold (3:07)
  3. War is Over (from "Event Horizon") - Glowing Moses (4:16)
  4. Say It Like You Mean It (from "You Gotta Say Something") - Panther City Riots (3:19)
  5. Where The Streets Have No Name (from "I Still Haven't Found What I'm Looking For") - VOTA (4:11)
  6. Clarity (from "Clarity EP") - Tree Giants (2:43)
  7. Brand New (Single) - Holly Halliwell (3:43)
  8. Family (from "Full Circle") - Ayiesha Woods (3:29)
  9. Joy Rider (from "Desert Flags EP") - Miss Angie (4:51)
  10. Dragon's Lair (from "Time Traveler") - Jetty Rae (4:29)
  11. Curse of the Faithful (from "Curse of the Faithful EP") - Justin McRoberts (2:34)
  12. All Flame (from "Recognition") - Carolyn Arends (3:35)
  13. Pale Moonlight (from "Blue Flower") - The Gray Havens (3:31)
  14. Better Off Than Yesterday (from "This is Home") - Jamie Rowe (3:57)
  15. Slow Me Down (from "Hearts Over Charts, Vol. 1 - EP") - Wilkes & The Coles (3:58)
  16. Valleys (from "Dipping Vat Sessions") - Empty Atlas (6:35)
  17. Close Encounter (Reimagined) [Single] - Poetic Descent (3:22)
  18. Be Not Burned Up (Single) - The August Guns (4:17)
  19. Demons (Reimagined) [feat. Mike Mains] (from "The Boxes Humans Made" EP) - Gable Price and Friends (4:08)
  20. Intercede (Single) - Amanda Danziger (3:30)
  21. Letting Go (Single) - Kezia Harley (3:03)
  22. Wouldn't Miss It for the World (from "Chapter Six") - CHPTRS (5:55)
  23. First Love (from "You Are Fullness") - Young Oceans (5:26)
  24. Mess 'Reimagined' (Single) - Brian Reith (4:26)
  25. Freedom (from "Broken Narrative") - Elohin (3:15)
  26. Back At It (feat. Wordsworth) [Single] - Paradox & Dj Sean P (2:32)
  27. Gorgeous (feat. Braille) [Single] - HeeSun Lee (2:34)
  28. His Wings (from "Early Work, Vol. 2") - Josh Garrels (3:40)
  29. Count On Me (from "Peregrine") - Holden Days (6:04)
  30. The Hope of Christ (from "In Simple Trust") - Adrian Mathenia (5:13)
  31. When I Met Jesus (Single) - Emily Faith (3:40)
  32. Loose Grip (feat. Allen Odell) [Single] - Dylan Case White (3:16)
  33. Kyrie Eleison (from "Night Prayers") - The Fuzzy Robes (3:34)
  34. Wait Up, Pt. II (from "Somewhere Between EP") - At the Wayside (3:10)
  35. Hum (from "Life After Poison") - Cobra Cobra (4:13)
  36. Religion of Relevance (Single) - Nate Parrish (2:49)
  37. Anachronistic Anachronism (feat. Shawn Browning) [from "Salt 2: Trophy Hunting for Unicorns"] - John DeGroff and Friends (3:52)
  38. Fight Alone (from "Take 2") - No Lost Cause (3:33)
  39. Refuge Forever (from "The White and Green and Brown Album") - The Pear Republic (2:37)
  40. Beyond the Waves (Single) - Deep Valleys (2:59)
  41. Killer (Single) - Beach Chapel (4:14)
  42. Got This Holy Ghost (Single) - Stephen McWhirter (4:06)
  43. Ageless Light (feat. John Lucas) [from "As the Mourning's Borne" EP] - Once & Future (5:36)
  44. New Wave (Single) - Theo MacMillan & Chase Tremaine (3:34)
  45. Coming Back (from "Where We Meet") - CLOUDLAND (4:33)
  46. Refuge (from "Glorious") - Jordan and Jessa (3:57)
  47. Where Is My Hope? [acoustic] (feat. John Van Deusen) [Single] - Tenielle Neda (3:52)
  48. Good God (from "Good Fear" EP) - Benjamin Daniel (4:33)
  49. Long Ago (from "Derby City" EP) - Homeplate (2:48)
  50. Possessed (Single) - Collision of Innocence (3:21)
  51. Nobody Cares (About Third Party Politics) [from "This is Just Sound"] - Last Chance Marie (4:04)
  52. Slowly But Surely (from "The Threefinger Opera") - Jeff Elbel + Ping (3:03)
  53. Birthright (from "The Land of Canaan") - J Lind (3:44)
  54. Waiting (Single) - The Lost Causes (4:03)
  55. Tomatoes, Pickles, and Kimchi (Single) - Caleb Lail (3:43)
  56. Dopamine (Single) - Jason Dunn (3:32)
  57. Scales (from "Breezewood") - Zane Vickery (3:59)
  58. How Great (from "Vol. 1" EP) - Zeal House (3:28)
  59. More (Single) - Holly Starr (4:08)
  60. Because You Are (from "We Will Remember") - Christopher Williams (5:05)
  61. Woods (from "Feeling") - Michael Hughes Watson (4:05)
  62. God of Change (from "Dave Stovall" EP) - Dave Stovall (5:12)

 



Leave a Comment

comments powered by Disqus

 

 

go to main Album review page
go to Album review archive

 


(JFH Sponsor Spot)

 

 

              
Check out the new album from Rev Music!

Search JFH




This Tuesday, May 24, 2022
SINGLES
The Katinas Here - Single [Syntax]


This Thursday, May 26, 2022
SINGLES
ICF Sunday Night Perfect Love - Single [Integrity]


This Friday, May 27, 2022
ALBUMS
ICF Worship Here's To The One We Love [Integrity]
Mission House Live From Raleigh [Integrity]
TAYA TAYA [Capitol CMG]

SINGLES
Ian Yates God You’ve Never Failed Me - Single [7 Core]


Next Tuesday, May 31, 2022
ALBUMS
Stryper Reborn [Gold Disc Edition] CD [Girder]
Stryper Murder By Pride [Gold Disc Edition] CD [Girder]
Stryper The Covering [Gold Disc Edition] CD [Girder]


Next Friday, June 3, 2022
ALBUMS
The Belonging Co. Now (independent)
Cheri Keaggy What I Know To Be True (independent)

SINGLES
MAJOR. Whole World In His Hands - Single [MNRK]

For all release dates, click here!
 



Listen to the New EP by Iryne Rock!




Sign up for a JFH Indie Review