Listen to the new album from Citizen Way!
Listen to the new album from Citizen Way!

JFH Staff Review

MercyMe, Spoken For

Spoken For

Artist Info: Discography
Album length: 11 tracks: 37 minutes and 57 seconds
Street Date: October 1, 2002


In 2001, this band from Dallas, Texas named MercyMe released one of the most successful albums in the history of the Christian music industry. The album was titled Almost There and became a huge accomplishment for a band's major label debut. Now the question to ask is "How does the sophomore effor fair?"

Spoken For is certainly more polished than its predecessor, which is especially evident in the smoother vocals from Bart Millard which replaces his squeakier, scratchier, and grittier voice from the debut album. This fits the type of music better as Spoken For contains more pop than their last album. Even though the pop genre seems to carry a negative connotation, Mercyme pulls it off well and still gives it a slight rock edge (but certainly less than the more pop/rock oriented Almost There).

Lyrically, many of the songs talk about what separates us as Christians from the world or our past pre-salvation life. Some of the songs that express this theme are "There's a Reason," "Crazy," "Spoken For," "All Because of This," and "The Change Inside of Me." The cheerful music mixed with the spiritually encouraging lyrics are a great pair.

Even though this album certainly isn't a classic like its predecessor, this is still a good album and very good for a predominately pop album. I would recommend you give this one a spin and enjoy thirty-eight minutes of spiritually-infused ear candy.

JFH Reader Review: Review date: 7/24/19, written by Gavin Rodgers for


. Record Label: INO Records
. Album length: 11 tracks: 37 minutes and 57 seconds
. Street Date: October 1, 2002
. Buy It: iTunes
. Buy It:

  1. The Change Inside Of Me (3:24)
  2. All The Above (3:23)
  3. Spoken For (4:09)
  4. There's A Reason (4:11)
  5. Come One, Come All (3:50)
  6. Crazy (4:37)
  7. Word of God Speak (3:07)
  8. Your Glory Goes On (2:39)
  9. Love of God (3:33)
  10. Go (3:27)
  11. All Because of This (1:37)


Leave a Comment

comments powered by Disqus



go to main Album review page
go to Album review archive


(JFH Sponsor Spot)



Pre-Order the new CD from Chase Tremaine!

Search JFH

This Friday, October 18
Anthony Brown and Group TherAPy 2econd Wind [Fair Trade]
The Blamed The Church is Hurting People [IVM]
Citizen Way Love is a Lion [Fair Trade]
Elizabeth Grace Like Myself - Single [DREAM]
Kalley Oasis - Single [Bethel]
Donna King All The Lights [Journey/Vertical Sky]
Tasha Layton Safe Here - Single [BEC]
Nashville Life Music Sing A Song (Part 2) [Feat. Aaron Cole] - Single [Integrity]
Bryan & Katie Torwalt Anticipation EP [Jesus Culture]
We Are Leo Eyes On U (feat. Ryan Ellis) - Single [DREAM]

Next Friday, October 25
Lauren Daigle Rescue (Chill Mix) - Single [Centricity]
Norma Jean All Hail [Solid State]
Kalley Faultlines Vol. 1 - EP [Bethel]
Kalley Faultlines Vol. 2 - EP [Bethel]
MercyMe Almost Home - Single [Fair Trade]
Northwood Worship Who You Are [DREAM Worship]
Chuckie P. Faith, Hope and Love (independent)
Andrew Peterson Behold the Lamb of God: The True Tall Tale of the Coming of Christ (Re-recorded album) [Centricity]
The Porter's Gate Neighbor Songs [Integrity]

For all release dates, click here!

Listen to the new album from J. Douglas Wright!

Listen to the new album from Union Creative!