Download the new free compilation from JFH!
Download the new free compilation from JFH!

JFH Staff Review

The Great Depression

Artist Info: Discography
Album length: 14 tracks: 53 minutes, 28 seconds
Street Date: August 2, 2005

Swedish-based hard rock quartet Blindside has been making music together for over a decade now. Following a string of independent releases in the Christian market, the band caught a break in 2002 when they released their impressive record Silence to the mainstream audiences. Silence was a slight departure from their previous throat-ripping hardcore releases, offering more accessible melody-driven hard rock tracks. The record was easily one of the strongest rock albums to hit shelves in years and was followed-up in 2004 with their almost as memorable About A Burning Fire. The latter possessed even more of a melodic polishing to the album's edge, and produced such memorable tracks as the title song and the radio-friendly "All Of Us." Following a successful tour with P.O.D. that Summer, the band took a break to work on some new projects, and lead vocalist Christian Lindskog ventured to South Africa with World Vision for some missions work. Upon returning, Lindskog had a new outlook on life and even suffered a spell of depression. Blindside's latest installment, The Great Depression, was birthed from these hard times.

The Great Depression is a departure from what fans have come to expect from the band. The record opens subtly with a spoken-word title track that sort of drifts in to the restrained beginnings of the furious "This Is A Heart Attack." Lindskog's vocals are more emotional and unbridled, as opposed to the more controlled and structured approach the band's work displayed in recent years. At the same time, the record is a much darker effort thematically. While the songs maintain a sense of hope, the mood of the songs are dark and gloomy, with Lindskog's painful experiences evident throughout.

His experiences in South Africa inspire the aggressive "We're All Going To Die," and "Yamkela," which was titled after a 10-year-old boy stricken with AIDS. Both lament a heightened sense of mortality among today's youth. The latter bears an emotionally charged driving guitar riff and Lindskog's signature gut-bursting screams. "Put Back The Stars" drones on, preceding the album's anthemic first single, "Fell In Love With The Game," a story about wrestling with God and trying to understand His will for our lives. The songs on The Great Depression bear a more raw and organic feel. While a moderate amount of production brought vibrance to the tracks on their two previous recordings, it seems the darkness grounds much of this batch. Tragedy permeates the record, and while it oftentimes works to the advantage of a hard rock album, it almost seems to clip the band's wings here.

"We Are To Follow" encourages listeners to stop looking to the media to think for them while the dismal "Bleeding Under Your Eyelids" addresses the insecurities today's young women suffer head on. "Come To Rest" revisits the band's more hardcore days and features the former vocalist of from Self Minded screaming alongside Blindside's Lindskog. The album draws to a close with the tragic "This Time (Hesychia)," inspired by a South African man on his deathbed whom Lindskog prayed with, and the hopeful "When I Remember."

The Great Depression sees Blindside stepping out into new territory and into a bold new direction. The greatness established by Silence is all but absent from The Great Depression, as the band pulls from the darker places for inspiration. Focusing almost exclusively on such dark issues and through such a somber outlet seems to be a little too limiting. Giving the listener a more rounded view with perhaps a few upbeat tracks may have helped alleviate the album's thematic weight. But one must give props to the band for not letting themselves be placed in a box. The Great Depression is not the band's best work, but there's plenty about it to like, offering a relevant message to give the listener much to think on long after the album has finished playing.

- Review date: 7/30/05, written by John DiBiase

Listen to the New EP from Life UNLTD!



Buy This CD Online

. Record Label: DRT Entertainment
  • Album Length: 14 tracks, 53 minutes and 28 seconds
    . Street Date: August 2, 2005
    . Buy It:

    1. The Great Depression
    2. This Is A Heart Attack
    3. Ask Me Now
    4. We're All Going To Die
    5. Yemkela
    6. Put Back The Stars
    7. Fell In Love With The Game
    8. City Lights
    9. We Are To Follow
    10. You Must Be Bleeding Under Your Eyelids
    11. My Alibi
    12. Come To Rest (Hesychia)
    13. This Time
    14. When I Remember
    spacer Click For Audio Sample   Click For Song Lyrics
    Click For Audio Sample   Click For Song Lyrics
    Click For Audio Sample   Click For Song Lyrics
    Click For Audio Sample   Click For Song Lyrics
    Click For Audio Sample   Click For Song Lyrics
    Click For Audio Sample   Click For Song Lyrics
    Click For Audio Sample   Click For Song Lyrics
    Click For Audio Sample   Click For Song Lyrics
    Click For Audio Sample   Click For Song Lyrics
    Click For Audio Sample   Click For Song Lyrics
    Click For Audio Sample   Click For Song Lyrics
    Click For Audio Sample   Click For Song Lyrics
    Click For Audio Sample   Click For Song Lyrics
    Click For Audio Sample   Click For Song Lyrics



    go to main Album review page
    go to Album review archive


    (JFH Sponsor Spot)



    Listen to the New EP from Life UNLTD!

    Search JFH

    This Friday, September 25, 2020
    Pat Barrett Heavenly - Single [Bowyer & Bow / Capitol Christian]
    Landry Cantrell Close to Me - Single [DREAM]
    Canyon Hills Worship You Alone - Single [DREAM]
    Casting Crowns Only Jesus (Deluxe) [Provident]
    Everything In Slow Motion Choke - Single [Facedown]
    Natalie Grant No Stranger [Curb/Word]
    The Gray Havens Rest EP [Artist Garden]
    Hillsong UNITED (in the meantime) EP [Capitol]
    Coby James Infinite - Single [Centricity]
    Bryon Juane Promise I'm Not Crazy EP [RMG]
    KB His Glory Alone [HGA/Essential Sound]
    Tasha Cobbs Leonard Royalty: Live At The Ryman [Motown Gospel]
    Jessy Elsa Palma Jehovah - Single [Integrity]
    Tommee Profitt Go Tell It On The Mountain ft. Crowder - Single [Capitol]
    Mr. Talkbox Playlist (independent)
    PEABOD Wonderful & Scary - Single [Centricity]
    Sarah Reeves Motions - Single [Curb/Word]
    Keyla Richardson So Good EP [Uncle G/eOne]
    Slick Shoes Rotation & Frequency [Tooth & Nail]
    WHATUPRG New Hollywood [Reach]
    Ayiesha Woods Full Circle EP (independent)

    Next Friday, October 2, 2020
    Josh Baldwin Evidence [Bethel Music]
    Fireflight Who We Are - Single [Rockfest]
    Jason Gray Reorder - EP [Centricity]
    Kirk Franklin and the Family Christmas Vinyl Re-release [RCAI]
    Jaime Jamgochian All Things [New Day]
    The Nelons Peace At Last [Daywind]

    For all release dates, click here!

    Listen to the new album from Jeremy James Whitaker!

    Listen to the new album from Radio Friendly!