Listen to the new album from Ian Yates!
Listen to the new album from Elevation Worship!

JFH Music News Report


Psalms, Hymns & Spiritual Songs Features Timeless
Classics And New Compositions

RSS Icon

NEWS SOURCE: Turning Point PR
September 30, 2015

NASHVILLE, Tenn.-GRAMMY® Award-nominated and multi-Dove Award-winning vocalist Michael O'Brien pays homage to timeless hymns with his eighth studio recording, Psalms, Hymns & Spiritual Songs. Produced and arranged by O'Brien, Psalms, Hymns & Spiritual Songs features nine hymns set to new music; three instrumentals composed by O'Brien; two originals inspired by the Psalms, also penned by the artist; and the modern hymn, "Lord I Need You."

"This album was inspired by 'There Is A Fountain,'" O'Brien says. "My wife Heidi was struggling with depression one morning and opened up the hymnal to this lyric, and the peace of God filled her soul. Shortly after, I rewrote the music, added a chorus and sang it at my home church in Columbia, Tennessee. They soon began to incorporate the song into their worship services and I felt like I needed to write more songs that the Body of Christ could sing."

Highlights of Psalms, Hymns & Spiritual Songs include Fanny Crosby's "Safe In The Arms Of Jesus," Charles Wesley's "All In All," and Martin Luther's "From Depths Of Woe I Raise To Thee." The collection also features the originals "Psalm 13"; "Sing Praise," inspired by Psalm 47; and instrumentals "Solitude," "Onward" and "Mike's Song." The album closes with O'Brien's stirring duet with Steve Green, "For All The Saints."

GRAMMY® Award nominee and multi-Dove Award winner Michael O'Brien has been one of Christian music's most distinctive vocalists for more than two decades. Since his acclaimed 1995 debut, the powerhouse vocalist, accomplished pianist and versatile songwriter has recorded seven solo projects. He served as a frontman for GRAMMY®-nominated NewSong from 1999-2006, and was heard on the group's landmark recordings Rescue-Live Worship and The Christmas Shoes, as well as the mainstream hit, "When God Made You," a duet with Natalie Grant, which O'Brien also co-wrote.

A sought-after worship leader, O'Brien appears at various events and conferences each year, including Jennifer Rothschild's "Fresh Grounded Faith" events, "Extraordinary Women" and "Wildfire" men's conferences. O'Brien's popular Christmas tour, featuring contributions from his family, is quickly becoming a holiday tradition, while his "Tour De Romance" marriage enrichment date nights and weekend events are in demand across the country.

Psalms, Hymns & Spiritual Songs will be available at and other digital outlets October 2. For further information, visit or



Leave a Comment

comments powered by Disqus



News Report Archives

Jan. | Feb. | March | April | May | June | July | Aug. | Sept. | Oct. | Nov. | Dec.

Jan. | Feb. | March | April | May | June | July | Aug. | Sept. | Oct. | Nov. | Dec.

[2001 - 2017]
Visit our complete MUSIC NEWS ARCHIVE


Return to Main News Page


World Premiere Video
(JFH Sponsor Spot)




Listen to the new album from Elevation Worship!

Search JFH

Music Out This Week

This Thursday, April 18
Local Sound The Free World, Vol. 1 - EP [Integrity]

This Friday, April 19
29:11 Worship Roses - Single [DREAM]
Apollo LTD On The Way Up 2.0 - Single [Centricity]
Amanda Lindsey Cook Still - Single [Bethel]
Tori Harper Revival - Single [The Fuel]
Influencers Father's Love - Single (independent)
Leigh Nash Kiss Me (20th Anniversary Edition) / God Gave Me Horses - Single (independent)
Dave Pettigrew Faith & Gasoline (independent)
Bryan Popin All Back - Single [United Alliance]
Trinity Anthem of Love - Single [The Fuel]
JJ Weeks Choices - Single [Radiate]
Phil Wickham & Chris Quilala You Cannot Be Stopped - Single [Sparrow]

Next Friday, April 26
Jared Anderson Keep Your Eyes on Jesus - Single (independent)
For All Seasons Just For Today - Single [Centricity]
Jason Gray I'm Gonna Let It Go - Single [Centricity]
Hillsong UNITED People [Hillsong]
Mallary Hope Out of My Hands [Word/Curb]
Sarah Kroger Bloom [Integrity]
Starflyer 59 Young In My Head [Tooth & Nail]

For all release dates, click here!

New Music Reviews

Listen to the new album from Illijam!

New Indie Reviews

New Movie Reviews

Free MP3 Downloads