Listen to the new album by Katie Lighty!
Listen to the new album by Katie Lighty!

JFH Music News Report


Russ & Tori Taff Receive Prestigious Golden Note Award;
“Reckless Love” Claims Top Song Honors;
Capitol CMG Publishing Earns Publisher of the Year for 17 th Consecutive Year

('Of the Year' winners) Publisher of the Year Capitol CMG's Casey McGinty and Brad O'Donnell, Songwriter of the Year David Garcia, Song of the Year "Reckless Love" songwriter-artist Cory Asbury

RSS Icon 

NEWS SOURCE: Rubin Media
September 16, 2019

FRANKLIN, TN, September 16, 2019: With a joyous opening performance of “Danzo En El Rio” by internationally known praise and worship group Miel San Marcos, ASCAP (American Society of Composers, Authors and Publishers) kicked off its 41st annual ASCAP Christian Music Awards tonight at the Franklin Theatre in downtown Franklin, TN. 
Top songwriters, artists and executives of the Christian music industry were in attendance to celebrate the most performed ASCAP Christian music songs over the last year. Top honors were presented including:
· ASCAP Christian Music Songwriter of the Year: David Garcia
· ASCAP Golden Note Award: Russ & Tori Taff
· ASCAP Christian Music Song of the Year: “Reckless Love,” written by Cory Asbury & Caleb Culver; performed by Cory Asbury; published by Bethel Music Publishing, Watershed Worship Publishing
· ASCAP Christian Music Publisher of the Year: Capitol CMG Publishing
David Garcia was presented his second ASCAP Christian Songwriter of the Year award by artist Matthew West. His most-performed songs include “Everything” (TobyMac), “Grace Got You” (MercyMe) and “The Breakup Song” (Francesca Battistelli). The multiple Grammy and Dove Award-winning songwriter and producer is nominated in several categories for this year’s Dove Awards on October 15.
Multi Grammy-winning songwriter and artist  Russ Taff  and Grammy-nominated songwriter and author  Tori Taff  were honored with the  ASCAP Golden Note Award  which celebrates songwriters, composers and artists who have achieved extraordinary career milestones. Singer, songwriter and artist  Amy Grant  shared poignant memories from her decades-long friendship with the couple before they were honored with surprise performances of "I Cry" (Joseph Habedank), "We Will Stand" (Chuck Cannon) and "Table in the Wilderness" (Darrell Brown with Cedric Sesley and Out for Souls).
The songwriters and publishers of “Reckless Love” received the ASCAP Christian Music Song of the Year Award. Co-writer and recording artist Cory Asbury treated the audience to a performance of the hit.
Capitol CMG Publishing claimed the ASCAP Christian Music Publisher of the Year Award for the 17th consecutive year for songs including “All My Hope," "Do It Again," "Everything," "Resurrection Power" and more. Capitol CMG Executive Vice President  Casey McGinty  and his team were on hand to accept the award.
In addition to “Reckless Love,” the other two top Christian song performances — “Do It Again,” recorded by Elevation Worship and written by Matt Redman ; and “Grace Got You,” recorded by Mercy Me and written by David Garcia , Ben Glover and John Reuben — were introduced by Francesca Battistelli. Redman performed “Do It Again,” while Garcia and Glover performed “Grace Got You.” A total of 21 most-performed song awards were presented during the show.
Notable artists in attendance (in addition to those already mentioned) included Chris Cleveland (Stars Go Dim), Pat Barrett and Sanctus Real.
The American Society of Composers, Authors and Publishers (ASCAP) is a professional membership organization of songwriters, composers and music publishers of every kind of music. ASCAP's mission is to license and promote the music of its members and foreign affiliates, obtain fair compensation for the public performance of their works and to distribute the royalties that it collects based upon those performances. ASCAP members write the world's best-loved music and ASCAP has pioneered the efficient licensing of that music to hundreds of thousands of enterprises who use it to add value to their business - from bars, restaurants and retail, to radio, TV and cable, to Internet, mobile services and more. The ASCAP license offers an efficient solution for businesses to legally perform ASCAP music while respecting the right of songwriters and composers to be paid fairly. With more than 720,000 members representing more than 11.5 million copyrighted works, ASCAP is the worldwide leader in performance royalties, service and advocacy for songwriters and composers, and the only American performing rights organization (PRO) owned and governed by its writer and publisher members. Learn more and stay in touch at , on  Twitter  and  Instagram  @ASCAP and on  Facebook .

(Golden Note group shot) ASCAP VP of Membership Mike Sistad, Darrell Brown, ASCAP President and Chairman Paul Williams, ASCAP CEO Beth Matthews, Tori and Russ Taff, ASCAP AVP of Membership Kele Currier, Amy Grant, and ASCAP EVP of Membership John Titta

Cory Asbury and Anna Asbury perform Song of the Year, "Reckless Love"



Leave a Comment

comments powered by Disqus



News Report Archives

Jan. | Feb. | March | April | May | June | July | Aug. | Sept. | Oct. | Nov. | Dec.

Jan. | Feb. | March | April | May | June | July | Aug. | Sept. | Oct. | Nov. | Dec.

[2001 - 2018]
Visit our complete MUSIC NEWS ARCHIVE


Return to Main News Page


(JFH Sponsor Spot)




Listen to the new album from Jack Izaak!

Search JFH

This Monday, August 3, 2020
Jonah Fear (feat. Anomaly) - Single (independent)

This Friday, August 7, 2020
Apollo LTD Patience - Single [Centricity]
Disciple Darkness Dies - Single [Tooth & Nail]
Grandpa Loves Rhinos Searching in the Sarchasm [Indie Vision Music]
Jason Gray Glory Days - Single [Centricity]
Coby James Whatever - Single [Centricity]
Lydia Laird Lydia Laird - EP [Provident]
North Point Worship Praise Your Name [Centricity]
John Schlitt Go Vinyl [4K]
Seventh Day Slumber Unseen: The Lion - EP [Rockfest]
We The Kingdom Holy Water [Capitol CMG]

Next Thursday, August 13, 2020
Various Artists Songs We've Been Trying to Tell You About (And Others We Haven't), Volume 9 [JFH Music]

Next Friday, August 14, 2020
Bride Drop (25th Anniversary Edition) [Girder Records]
Tori Kelly Solitude EP [Capitol]
Life.Church Worship Jesus Is Near EP [DREAM Worship]
PEABOD Heavenly Father - Single [Centricity]
Kim Walker-Smith Wild Heart (Live) [Sparrow/Jesus Culture]

For all release dates, click here!

Listen to the new single from Melanie Waldman!

Listen to the new album from The Grace Collective!