Listen to the new album from May Angeles!
Listen to the new album from May Angeles!

JFH Music News Report


Cade Thompson Co-Writes Song with Matthew West, to Tackle Uncertainty with Nearly 95% of Today’s American K-12 School Kids Practicing Active Shooter Drills

RSS Icon 

NEWS SOURCE: 130 Agency
June 7, 2021

NASHVILLE – June 7, 2021 – Breakout CCM artist Cade Thompson’s new release, New Normal, is a stirring call for faith to overcome fear as today’s high school students face a range of challenges like no generation before it. 
“When I met Cade I knew he had his finger on the pulse of this generation’s dreams and fears,” said Jay DeMarcus, founder of Red Street Records and Rascal Flatts band member. “I’ve become a sounding board, encouraging Cade to give voice to his passion,” DeMarcus continued.
“I’ve been so impressed by Cade’s vision and desire to reach his generation with the message of hope in Christ,” said co-writer Matthew West. “I’ve loved writing songs with him and it’s exciting to see his story and his music begin to resonate with people and make an impact in culture. This song, New Normal, is the kind of message the world needs to hear right now, and Cade is just the guy to deliver it.”
“From the real possibility of school shootings to social media bullying to pandemics, anxiety and depression, today’s kids live with unprecedented levels of insecurity, confusion and unrest,” Thompson said. “If this is ‘normal life,’ we need a New Normal.”
Not far removed from Cade’s own school days, the 20-year-old singer/songwriter takes listeners back to the emotions he experienced as a student when his school went on lockdown. But more than acknowledging the uncertainties related to mass shootings, New Normal encourages and empowers young people who live in the internet age along with all that goes with that.
  • Active shooter drills are implemented in over 95% of American K–12 schools today. (Everytown)
  • 66 school shootings since 2018 (Education Week)
  • United States had 57 times as many school shootings as Canada, Japan, Germany, Italy, France and the United Kingdom combined. (CNN)
New Normal’s way forward rings out in a line from the song’s chorus:
In this world there will be trouble
But take heart, take heart
He’s overcome the world
Thompson has had an affinity with music since his toddler days and was fortunate that as a sixth-grader a music mentor came into his life who emphasized the importance of seeking God through the Bible outside of a worship setting. This understanding placed him on a deeper course of encountering the love of the Father and seeking his presence more intently. This has resulted in a strong connection to his generation sonically and lyrically. Shortly after finishing high school, Thompson moved to Nashville and signed with Red Street Records. He is in the studio writing and recording his debut album. 
Produced by Red Street Records, which was founded in 2018 by DeMarcus, New Normal follows Thompson’s breakthrough songs Provider and Every Little Step. New Normal is available at
About Red Street Records
Red Street Records desires to touch and inspire people through music. We partner with musicians who share this aim and who strive to achieve it through their innovative and visionary craft. Red Street Records supports their artistry and ministries by providing a label that gives access to the highest standards in the recording industry. Our team is unique. We are industry experts, successful artists and world-class musicians. We understand what an artist expects and needs from a label and always operate according to what is best for them.



Leave a Comment

comments powered by Disqus



News Report Archives

Jan. | Feb. | March | April | May | June | July | Aug. | Sept. | Oct. | Nov. | Dec.

Jan. | Feb. | March | April | May | June | July | Aug. | Sept. | Oct. | Nov. | Dec.

[2001 - 2020]
Visit our complete MUSIC NEWS ARCHIVE


Return to Main News Page


(JFH Sponsor Spot)




Listen to the new album from People & Songs

Search JFH

This Friday, July 23, 2021
Anberlin As You Found Me (Livestream) (independent)
Bethany Barnard Who Else - Single (independent)
Jonathan Cain Oh Lord Lead Us - Single [Identity/Fuel]
Canyon Hills Worship Something About The Name - Single [DREAM]
Colony House Automatic (feat. Fleurie) - Single [Roon]
Cross Point Music Never Going Back [Centricity]
Christine D’Clario All That Remains - Single [Capitol CMG]
Dreamers Land Of The Living - Single [DREAM]
Jason Dunn Billy Enforcee - Single (independent)
Equippers Worship Unified In Praise // All Glory (Live) - Single [DREAM]
Travis Greene Oil & Water (feat. Anthony Hamilton) - Single [Provident]
JUDAH. & J. Monty Irresponsible - Single [Capitol CMG]
Lonesome River Band Singing Up There: A Tribute to the Easter Brothers [Mountain Home Music]
Steven Malcolm All Is True - EP [4 Against 5 / Curb | Word]
Chris McClarney Speak To The Mountains EP [Capitol CMG]
Newsboys I Still Believe You're Good - Single [Capitol CMG]
Bryan Popin So Good 2 Me - Single (feat. Steven J. Collins) - Single [Little Boy Wonder]
Bryan Popin So Good 2 Me (LBWM Remix) - Single [feat. Steven J. Collins] - Single [Little Boy Wonder]
Shane & Shane Psalms, Hymns, And Spiritual Songs, Vol. 1 [Wellhouse]
Social Club Misfits Feared By Hell (Reanimation) - EP [Capitol CMG]
Phil Thompson Lion of Judah [Integrity]
Carrie Underwood My Savior: LIVE From The Ryman DVD [UMG]
Village Lights Here is Our Hallelujah (feat. Sarah Kroger, Ike Ndolo & Ricky Vazquez) - Single [Integrity]

Next Thursday, July 29, 2021
Panther City Riots Say It Like You Mean It - Single (independent)

Next Friday, July 30, 2021
Coby James Mixtape Side B EP [Centricity]
Jonah 33 Bullet From A Gun - Single [Boleyn]
Vince Lichlyter Things I Need To Say - Single [Boleyn]
Make Sure Japanese Bonus Track - Single [Tooth & Nail]
NEEDTOBREATHE Into the Mystery [Centricity/Elektra]
Dottie Rambo It’s The Soul of Me (1968 Digital Reissue) [Provident/Sony]
Reba Rambo Reba Rambo (Digital Reissue) [eOne]
SongLab Simplicity (Live) - EP [DREAM]

For all release dates, click here!

Listen to the new album from Wade McNutt!

Listen to the new album from Jaime Masetta!