Listen to the new compilation from JFH!
Listen to the new compilation from JFH!

JFH Staff Review

Impending Doom, Baptized In Filth

Impending Doom
Baptized In Filth

Artist Info: Discography
Album length: 10 tracks: 34 minutes, 34 seconds
Street Date: March 13, 2012

Impending doom has changed over the years. Their first album, Nailed.Dead.Risen was a brutal deathcore album all the way with really harsh and somewhat inaudible lyrics. Serpent Servant toned down the brutality and moved to a straight deathcore sound. There Will Be Violence offered a significant improvement and showed what the band was really capable of. Now we have Baptized In Filth, and in my opinion, it's one of the best metal albums of the year.

Baptized In Filth kicks off with "Murderer," a heavy track that debuted as a single prior to the album release. It's followed by another heavy, fast paced blast-beat filled track, "For The Wicked" which talks about mankind's love for sin and the end times. "Deceiver" is the second song to be made into a music video and offers the same level of intensity featured in the preceding tracks, while talking about a preacher that speaks false words to his congregation; the aggression of the song really projects the message.

"My Light Unseen" can be said to be the most unique track on the album as it features clean vocals delivered by Ryan Clark of Demon Hunter for the better part of its duration. It is also the lone ballad of the album and the first Impending doom track to ever feature clean vocals. "Death. Ascension. Resurrection," the final track on the album, brings Baptized In Filth to a braking, speaker-bursting, ground-shaking end.

The one thing I noticed after I was done listening to Baptized In Filth is that there was no song that I didn't enjoy listening to, the 1-minute-57-seconds-long "Absolute Horror" included. Though I have songs I listen to more than others, the whole album was nothing short of excellent. If you have had a hunger for good deathcore, Impending Doom's Baptized In Filth is sure to satisfy that hunger.

JFH Reader Review: Review date: 8/1/12, written by Sam Aken'Ova for


. Record Label: eOne
. Album length: 10 tracks: 34 minutes, 34 seconds
. Street Date: March 13, 2012
. Buy It: iTunes
. Buy It: AmazonMP3
. Buy It:

  1. Murderer (4:22)
  2. For The Wicked (3:33)
  3. Chaos: Reborn (3:55)
  4. Deceiver (3:36)
  5. Falling Away (3:41)
  6. Absolute Horror (1:56)
  7. Angry Letters To God (3:11)
  8. Baptized In Filth (2:28)
  9. My Light Unseen (Instrumental) (3:42)
  10. Death. Ascension. Resurrection (4:10)


Leave a Comment



go to main Album review page
go to Album review archive


(JFH Sponsor Spot)



Pre-Order the new CD from Chase Tremaine!

Search JFH

This Friday, October 11
11th Hour The Greatest Gift [Crossroads]
The Devil Wears Prada The Act [Solid State]
Carolina Boys Quartet Take A Stand [Crossroads]
Clay Crosse Freewill Offering (independent)
Down East Boys Comfort And Joy [Crossroads]
David Dunn Yes & No - Single [BEC]
Amy Grant Christmas Vinyl Box Set [AG]
Hillsong Worship Awake [Hillsong/Capitol]
Coby James No Trouble - EP [Centricity]
Keith & Kristyn Getty & Ellie Holcomb Elizabeth (Live) - Single [Getty Music]
The Lore Family Hidden Blessings [Crossroads]
Master's Voice The Season To Sing [Crossroads]
MDSN Who We Are - Single [Integrity]
Leigh Nash Don't Let Me Die in Dallas - Single (independent)
RED Hemorrhage - Single [RED/The Fuel]
Royal Company Jesus It's You - Single [DREAM]
Y + YA Beyond - EP [DREAM]

Next Friday, October 18
Citizen Way Love is a Lion [Fair Trade]
Anthony Brown and Group TherAPy 2econd Wind [Fair Trade]
Donna King All The Lights [Journey/Vertical Sky]

For all release dates, click here!

Listen to the new album from Michael J. Tinker!

Listen to the new album from Union Creative!