Listen to the latest JFH Compilation!
Listen to the latest JFH Compilation!

JFH Staff Review

Mainstay EP

Artist Info: Discography
Album length: 4 tracks
Street Date: 2005

For those unfamiliar with new act Mainstay, as I was before hearing this EP, the band recently signed with BEC Recordings and is currently placing the finishing touches on their debut album Well Meaning Fiction, which is due out in February. The EP being reviewed here is mostly a teaser of this album along with a couple bonus acoustic tracks. With only four songs, it gives only a glimpse into what will be seen when Well Meaning Fiction is released, but the glimpse is quite an impressive one.

The first two tracks, "Mirrors" and "This Could Be," are cuts directly pulled from the upcoming album. Both have the sound of a hit waiting to happen, featuring a great blend of electric guitar and some softer piano. Instrumentally, the band's maturity shines brightly and lead singer Justin Anderson's vocals are right on the mark.

As good as the two first tracks are, the real treat comes in the second half of the disc. "Take Away" is a solemn but bold confession to God, acknowledging, "It's all from Your hand / and there's nothing that's mine / and all that You give / You're free to take away." The beautifully simplistic song will also be present on the band's full length release, but may have less of a broken down feel than the version here, which features just an acoustic guitar, piano, and soft percussion.

The album ends with "Life as a Vapor." which includes only Anderson and his guitar. The song is lyrically powerful, wrestling with a life where "We're chasing / all that is fading / What will last when / all of this burns from this dream / you awaken." Mainstay is a group not afraid to pose tough questions about God, life, and themselves.

Though only a short preview of what is to come, Mainstay's EP clearly shows the band's ability to make true, passionate music. Though they will no doubt be compared to other artists of their genre, Mainstay stands out from the rest, and certainly deserves some attention.

- Review date: 12/7/05, written by Spencer Priest

Check out the new single from Mike Rathke!


. Artist Info: Discography
. Record Label: BEC Recordings
. Album length: 4 tracks
. Street Date: 2005

  1. Mirrors
  2. This Could Be
  3. Take Away (Acoustic, Non-Album Version)
  4. Life as a Vapor (Acoustic, Non-Album Version)
spacer Click For Audio Sample   Click For Song Lyrics
Click For Audio Sample   Click For Song Lyrics
Click For Audio Sample   Click For Song Lyrics
Click For Audio Sample   Click For Song Lyrics



go to main Album review page
go to Album review archive


(JFH Sponsor Spot)



Check out the new single from Mike Rathke!

Search JFH

This Thursday, March 26, 2020
Jason Dunn Dopamine - Single (independent)
Jason Dunn The Victory - Single (independent)

This Friday, March 27, 2020
The Belonging Co Holy (Song of the Ages) (independent)
Tina Boonstra What is the Rush - Single [7Core]
Mack Brock Even the Impossible (Live) - Single [Sparrow/Capitol]
Dillon Chase Better - Single [DREAM]
David Dunn Perspectives [BEC]
Elevation Rhythm This Moment - Single (independent)
Equippers Revolution Where Your Spirit Is (Single) [DREAM]
GAWVI Climate Change (Single) [Reach]
Hillsong Young & Free Lord Send Revival - Single [Hillsong/Capitol]
Jesus Culture Gold (Live) feat. Bryan & Katie Torwalt (Single) [Sparrow]
Mission House Behold (Deluxe Single) [Integrity]
Nashville Life Music Shepherd (feat. Leeland) - Single [Integrity]
Rend Collective Choose to Worship [Rend Family/Capitol]
Michael W. Smith Aprirai una via (Way Maker) - Single [Rocketown/The Fuel]
Rhett Walker Good To Me [Provident/Sony]

Next Friday, April 3, 2020
August Burns Red Guardians [Fearless]
Equippers Revolution FRVR - EP [DREAM]
Greg LaFollette I'll Wait for you, My Love (independent)
Passion Roar (Live From Passion 2020) (CD) [Sixsteps]
RED Declaration [RED/The Fuel]
Ian Yates Mystery [7 Core]

For all release dates, click here!

Check out the new book from JFH Staff Member Tin Can Caldwell!

Listen to the new album from Mat Ogden!