Watch The New Video From Rusty Shipp!
Watch The New Video From Rusty Shipp!

JFH Staff Review

Unspoken, Reason


Artist Info: Discography
Genre(s): Pop / Rock
Album length: 12 tracks: 40 minutes, 51 seconds
Street Date: June 21, 2019


A JFH Staff Review Is Coming Soon!


JFH Staff's Second Opinion

Unspoken, that spunky group from Maine-via-Nashville, returns for their third album, Reason, with energy and melody to spare. The good time jams like the title track (with its nifty acoustic guitar line), the urgent and hopeful "Help Is On The Way," and the swinging "Human Condition," are just about as wide open and groovy as you can get. The band has been blessed with the gift of uplift, and they wield their gift well over the course of the album. The band's music is thoroughly modern, yet still has an organic appeal that's not over-dependant on studio trickery to sound fresh.

But just because the music is genuinely funky and full of groove doesn't mean that true depth is missing. The soulful, Gospel music-infused "Just Give Me Jesus" stands as a powerful, old-school testament to faith, while the convicting "If We Only Knew" is a sobering call to live in the light of what's been done for us in the death and resurrection of Christ. And the heartfelt and quiet "Mistakes" finds lead singer Chad Mattson delivering one of his best vocal performances while nimbly and sincerely delivering a clever turn of phrase against one of the best hooks of the year.

Reason is a contender for most tuneful and energetic album of the year, and Unspoken has shown that they are a band with true staying power. - Review date: 6/19/19, Alex Caldwell of


JFH Staff's Additional 2 Cents

    For most bands in the pop genre, it is a struggle to maintain popularity while creating fresh material at the same time. However, for Unspoken, it seems as if they accomplish this with ease, as each album has seen musical progression forward without falling into the cliches of the genre--and Reason is no exception. From the upbeat title track, to the reflective closer “Wasted Time,” Unspoken delivers many golden moments throughout the record. Highlights include the tender “Never Would’ve Made It,” the funky “Human Condition," and the soulful “Just Give Me Jesus.” There is a lot offered here in the band’s latest endeavour, and it is easily one of the strongest pop releases of the year so far. If you’re a fan of the group, or just someone looking for a diverse record to spin this summer, Reason is definitely worth your time. - 6/19/19 James Larsen

    Unspoken's new album, Reason, does not pack in as much fun as its predecessor, Follow Through, but in true Unspoken fashion, it is a soulful and accessible pop/rock album with some groove to it. Highlights include the anthemic "If We Only Knew," the catchy "Reason," the encouraging "Human Condition," and the touching "Never Would've Made It." - 6/21/19 Christopher Smith



. Record Label: Centricity Music
. Album length: 12 tracks: 40 minutes, 51 seconds
. Street Date: June 21, 2019
. Buy It: iTunes
. Buy It: (CD)
. Buy It: AmazonMP3

  1. Reason (3:18)
  2. Help Is On The Way (2:53)
  3. You've Always Been (3:38)
  4. Never Would've Made It (3:00)
  5. Let It Be Love (3:53)
  6. Human Condition (3:10)
  7. Already Won (3:25)
  8. Just Give Me Jesus (3:27)
  9. Can't Even Love Myself (3:16)
  10. If We Only Knew (3:49)
  11. Mistakes (3:20)
  12. Wasted Time (3:41)


 JFH Album Sample Player


Leave a Comment

comments powered by Disqus



go to main Album review page
go to Album review archive


(JFH Sponsor Spot)



Listen to the new album from Trevor Kleinmeyer!

Search JFH

Music Out This Week

This Friday, July 19
Josh Baldwin Let the Redeemed - Single [Bethel]
Jason Crabb Day One - Single [Red Street]
Disciple Cuff the Criminal - Single [Tooth & Nail]
Jordan Feliz "Faith" Radio Version - Single [Centricity Music]
Foldinglights Subterranean Hum [7Core Music]
Gaither Vocal Band Good Things Take Time [Capitol/Gaither]
Caitie Hurst "How Could I Be Silent" Rogue Sailes Remix [Centricity Music]
Local Sound Sunday School EP [Integrity Music]
Manafest This Is Not The End - Single (independent)
Reflect Love Back (ft. Lacey Sturm) Soundtrack, Vol. 1 Digital Release (independent)
David Vaters Red Sea - Single (independent)
John Van Deusen (I Am) Origami Pt. 3 - A Catacomb Hymn [Tooth & Nail]

Next Friday, July 26
For All Seasons Questions - Single [Centricity]
Mac Powell & The Family Reunion Back Again [Thirty Tigers]
NF The Search [Capitol]
PEABOD Backpack - Single [Centricity Music]
Wolves at the Gate Eclipse [Solid State]

For all release dates, click here!

New Music Reviews

Listen to the new album from Matthew Ryan!

New Indie Reviews

New Movie Reviews

Free MP3 Downloads