Listen to the new album from May Angeles!
Listen to the new album from May Angeles!

JFH Staff Review


Artist Info: Discography
Album length: 12 tracks: 72 minutes, 56 seconds
Street Date: 2001

Within a year following their very successful self-titled modern worship album, SONICFLOOd released SOINCPRAISe, an exciting live worship album that included many of the band's previous songs as well as some more well-known praise tunes. Former Big Tent Revival's bassist Rick Heil joined the lineup to complete the five man group.

Following the German introduction, SONICFLOOd opens up with Paul Baloche's "Open the Eyes of My Heart," which immediately captures the live show experience with the guitar intro and pounding drum beat. The album continues with "I Want to Know You [In the Secret]," "Carried Away," and "Holy One," three songs previously found on their debut record. Although minor differences in Deyo's voice are evident around the album, he still does a great job of producing a powerful worship disc that contains most of the songs that all sound like they should from the first LP.

Although he does not hold one of the absolute strongest voices, Jeff Deyo's passion makes him a great worship leader and perfomer. He is clearly active and involved with the audience, especially evidenced in the track "You Are Worthy of My Praise." The album really heads in the direction of true worship with this song and eventually breaks into some spontaneity. The ten minutes of musical worship will really captivate anyone who truly enjoys SONICFLOODd's style. Even following the special intermission, comes an awesome rendition of Martin Smith of Delirious's "Did You Feel the Mountains Tremble" which basically introduces the second section of songs of the album.

To wrap up the show, they play "I Could Sing of Your Love Forever," another song written by Smith that has certainly become popular among the Christian industry over the years. Lisa Kimmey from Out of Eden appears once again to sing with the band, capturing the true feeling of SONICFLOOd's version of the song on their debut. "I Have Come to Worship" makes the cut as it becomes the closing rock worship song on the record and proves to show what kind of band SONICFLOOd has become and why they were considered "The Fathers of Modern Worship." Despite a few of the other great songs from the debut record, the band did pick the more appropriate ones to stick on an excellent live album like this one. Anyone who enjoyed the first LP, or was even a fan of the true original SONICFLOOd, would like this work, as it would also be Deyo's last with the band.

- Review date: 8/18/07, written by Patrick Anderson

Listen to the new album from People & Songs


. Artist Info: Discography
. Record Label: Gotee Records
. Album length: 12 tracks: 72 minutes, 56 seconds
. Street Date: 2001
. Buy It:

  1. Intro
  2. Open The Eyes Of My Heart
  3. I Want To Know You
  4. Carried Away
  5. Holy One
  6. You Are Worthy Of My Praise
  7. Spontaneous Worship
  8. Did You Feel the Mountains Tremble
  9. Lord, I Lift Your Name On High
  10. Before The Throne Of God Above
  11. I Could Sing Of Your Love
  12. I Have Come To Worship



go to main Album review page
go to Album review archive


(JFH Sponsor Spot)



Listen to the new album from People & Songs

Search JFH

This Friday, August 6, 2021
Lauren Daigle Tremble - Single [Centricity]
for KING & COUNTRY Relate - Single [Curb/Word]
Honor & Glory Battle Belongs - Single [BEC]
Tamela Mann Overcomer [Tillymann Music]
Mirours Dazzle - EP [Tooth & Nail]
Sanctus Real Rebel - Single [Fair Trade]
Anne Wilson My Jesus (Live from Nashville) EP [Capitol CMG]

Next Thursday, August 12, 2021
Panther City Riots Funkytown Sound - Single (independent)

Next Friday, August 13, 2021
Dreamers untitled 3-song EP [DREAM]
The Isaacs The American Face [House of Isaacs]
Kevin Quinn Wildfire [Capitol CMG]
Chris Renzema Without You - Single [Centricity]
Spirit Breaker Cura Nata [Solid State]
Various Artists Songs We've Been Trying To Tell You About (And Others We Haven't) Vol. 10 [JFH Music]
We Are Messengers God You Are (feat. Josh Baldwin) - Single [Curb/Word]

For all release dates, click here!

Listen to the new album from Wade McNutt!

Listen to the new album from Jaime Masetta!