Listen to the album Birth of a King by Tommee Profitt!
Listen to the album Birth of a King by Tommee Profitt!

JFH Staff Review

Drew Holcomb & The Neighbors, Souvenir

Drew Holcomb & The Neighbors

Genre(s): Folk Rock / Americana
Album length: 11 tracks: 39 minutes, 56 seconds
Street Date: March 24, 2017


Drew Holcomb And The Neighbors have always been a bit a throwback rock and roll band. From Holcomb's gentlemanly approach to songwriting and fashion (those debonair hats and natty suits fit the bill), to his duets with fellow "Neighbor" and wife Ellie Holcomb, there is a bit of a Johnny Cash classicism in the music the group makes. Hailing from Memphis, and firmly rooted in the Southern songwriting tradition, Holcomb mines the form for deeply personal observations about family life and travels about the world, and on his new album, offers aptly titled metaphorical "souvenirs" of thoughts about life in America at the end of the decade.

"The Morning Song" kicks things off with a mellow and thankful view of marital and family life. The song is a refreshing look at how good it can be to just be home, with people you love and nothing in particular to do. Songs of domestic bliss are a staple in the southern music tradition, but "The Morning Song" drips with a sincerity that lifts up the song beyond the trappings of songs of this type. "California" busts out next, with a wailing harmonica and a swiftly-moving melody about falling in love with a new place. With a California, folk-rock sound (made famous by such rock and roll luminaries as Tom Petty And The Heart Breakers, Jackson Browne and Neil Young), "California" plays like a summer road trip up that state's famous Highway 1.

"Fight For Love" presents more guitar crunch, and is the album's rowdiest number, with Holcomb shredding his vocal chords, and again, wailing on that harmonica. The poignant "Rowdy Heart, Broken Wing" slows things down to serve as an elegy of sorts for a friend who is "another refugee looking for peace." "New Year" takes a catalog-like look at a year's events, starting in January and moving throughout the major milestones of the year. Eventually, the narrative finds Holcomb walking through his neighborhood in the wintertime and musing that "I have nothing left to say, life and death, they never rest, and I've still got bills to pay." Yet, he still prays that his (literal) neighbors will experience "earth as it is in heaven," though that doesn't always "make sense" to him. "New Year" is a subtle song, played in a slow groove, but articulates the mystery of life observed, and does not shy away from the melancholy that many feel at the close of one year and the beginning of the next.

In the bouncy and joyful "Mama's Sunshine, Daddy's Rain," Holcomb pokes fun at his somber nature, and through the lens of his child (who is both melancholy like her father, and sunny like her mother), rejoices that her nature and personality are a reflection of both parents. A song like this that celebrates children without being cloying or overly-saccharine and sweet, is a joy to hear. Mr. and Mrs. Holcomb share a true duet on the Beatles-esq "Black And Blue," and with the following "Postcard Memories" and "Yellow Rose Of Santa Fe," the song forms a bit of a "cowboy song trilogy" that ends the album with a decidedly western feel. It's the fantastic and soulful "Wild World" that serves as an epilogue for the album, and features some of Holcomb's best lyrics to date. Written at the end of the contentious presidential election of last year, "Wild World" offers some down home advice about what truly matters in life:

"Some folks ain't got a dollar to their name, others got their own jet planes.
We all got the same blood running through our veins.
Whether or not you pray, black or white, straight or gay,
You still deserve the love of your neighbor.

It's a wild world we're all trying to find our place in it.
It's a wild world and no one seems to understand it.
But there ain't no way I'm gonna quit it.
Love is all we got to give away."

By forging their own path (Holcomb and his band distribute all of their music on their own record company, Magnolia Music) and writing piercingly honest music, Drew Holcomb And The Neighbors have grown both their artistry and fan base in equal measure. Souvenir could have used a few more up-tempo numbers (they are trending more mellow on their last few releases), but as an honest, humble and tuneful look at life, the album gathers its "souvenirs" of songs well. The dusty tunes of Souvenir are a welcome addition to the American songwriting tradition, and a fine new chapter for Holcomb and company.

- Review date: 3/28/17, written by Alex Caldwell of

Listen to the new project from Elohin!


JFH Staff's Additional 2 Cents

    The word "vibe" is overused, but with respect to certain bands, it fits. And that compels me to write what might be the most pedestrian sentence I've ever included in a review: Drew Holcomb and the Neighbors have the coolest vibe. Souvenir has relaxed road-trip songs alongside bleak laments a la Johnny Cash, but it maintains a signature atmosphere in both lyrics and music that is as good as it gets in Americana. Though the production team from Medicine is back, the musical palette is broader, to outstanding effect. Listen to the first five tracks, all in a row, and marvel at both the range and how well that range works. One more thing: bonus points for the gorgeous linocut-style album cover, all full of symbols from the songs and commentary on the passage of time and life. - 3/26/17, Mark D. Geil



. Record Label: Magnolia Music
. Album length: 11 tracks: 39 minutes, 56 seconds
. Street Date: March 24, 2017
. Buy It: iTunes
. Buy It: AmazonMP3
. Buy It: (Vinyl)
. Buy It: (CD)

  1. The Morning Song (4:38)
  2. California (2:50)
  3. Fight for Love (3:08)
  4. Rowdy Heart, Broken Wing (2:36)
  5. New Year (4:18)
  6. Sometimes (3:42)
  7. Mama's Sunshine, Daddy's Rain (3:20)
  8. Black and Blue (4:11)
  9. Postcard Memories (3:29)
  10. Yellow Rose of Santa Fe (3:58)
  11. Wild World (3:46)


Leave a Comment

comments powered by Disqus



go to main Album review page
go to Album review archive


(JFH Sponsor Spot)



Listen to the new project from Elohin!

Search JFH

This Friday, November 27, 2020
Anberlin We Are the Lost Ones (Lockdown Livestream July 10, 2020) (independent)
Jeff Deyo From Eternity EP (independent)
Kelontae Gavin Have Yourself a Merry Little Christmas - Single [Tyscot]
Hillsong Young & Free One Way Ticket To Vibe Island (EP) [UMG]
Hillsong Young & Free Only Ever Jesus (EP) [UMG]
Mass Anthem Mass Anthem Christmas (EP) (independent)
Out of the Dust One Mic, One Night Christmas (EP) (independent)
Planetshakers It's Christmas Live [Venture3Media]
Jetty Rae Christmas for the Birds EP (independent)
Rend Collective Jolly (EP) [UMG]
Saddleback Worship Before the King (EP) [The Fuel Music]
Sovereign Grace Music Heaven Has Come (Acoustic) (EP) [Integrity]
Titus Showers Have Yourself a Merry Little Christmas - Single [A&P Records]

This Tuesday, December 1, 2020
Jon Foreman Love - EP [Lowercase People]

Next Friday, December 4, 2020
**No Known Releases**

Thursday, December 10, 2020
Neal Morse Jesus Christ The Exorcist (Live At Morsefest 2018) [Frontiers]

Friday, December 11, 2020
Lauren Daigle Look Up Child (Limited Edition Vinyl) [Centricity]
Patrick Mayberry Breakthrough Miracle Power - Single [Centricity]
Vashawn Mitchell Home For Christmas (Digital EP) [Tyscot/Fair Trade]

For all release dates, click here!

Pre-order the new album from Dre Trinity!

Listen to the new album from Robby John!